Unable to play channel: Content protection error

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
toddphi

Unable to play channel: Content protection error

Post by toddphi »

Hello,

I've been running HD Homerun Prime on Windows 10 for a couple of years with few problems. Suddenly, in mid-June reliability is completely gone. Now when I select a channel that formerly worked I get a black screen, followed after a delay by "Unable to play channel: Content protection error." I have tried restarting Windows 10, rebooting the HD Homerun Prime unit, and updating to the latest version of the software (HDHomeRunSetup v20200602). None of this helps.

Sometimes I also get an error dialog box that says: "MF_MEDIA_ENGINE_ERR_DECODE: HRESULT - OxC00D36F2" but this error does not appear consistently.

Here are my specs
Windows 10 OSBuild 19041.329 (recently auto-updated)
HW: Intel i7 with 32GB ram and tons of HD space
Cable provider: Spectrum

The iOS app is working fine so I don't think there is anything wrong with the HD Homerun Prime hardware.

Can anyone suggest a solution? How can I get support from SiliconDust?

Thanks,

Phil

signcarver
Expert
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Unable to play channel: Content protection error

Post by signcarver »

First double check app version (settings icon in app... gives both app and ui version) as sometimes that doesn't update and it must periodically update for DRM "keys" to be current.