Inconsistent No-Signal

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
kbfcub
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 12:36 pm

Inconsistent No-Signal

Post by kbfcub »

I recently purchased a HDHomeRun Quatro, which doesn't seem to hold the signal for very long.

I connected my aerial cable to my Panasonic Viera TV and I have full signal, as you can see from the attached photos.

Whereas when I connect my aerial cable to my HDHomeRun Quatro box, I have no signal as you can see from the photo's.
When I did get a picture from the tuner, it was breaking up. The YouTube link below, is a recording between the iOS app and the video on JRiver Media-Centre software.

https://youtu.be/OHQqKw5eimE
Panasonic BBC 1 https://www.dropbox.com/s/wwugo1tpq02dzq6/Panasonic%20BBC%201%20HD.JPG?dl=0
Panasonic BBC News https://www.dropbox.com/s/56kq7tmtguyp5e7/Panasonic%20BBC%20News.JPG?dl=0
Jriver BBC 1HD https://www.dropbox.com/s/wih4t0wrlbphq7r/JRiver%20BBC%201%20HD.JPG?dl=0
Jriver BBC News Https://www.dropbox.com/s/rt4kgo0f03ivgt0/Jriver%20BBC%20News.JPG?dl=0
Log File https://www.dropbox.com/s/ky7olb94g9twfy1/HD%20Home%20Run%20Log%202020-06-05%2020-34.pdf?dl=0
Last edited by kbfcub on Tue Jun 09, 2020 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8989
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Inconsistent No-Signal

Post by signcarver »

Many in the UK find they need a filter/braid breaker. Also if signal strength is 100% you don't know how much over 100% it is and too high a signal is often worse than a low signal.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1244
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Inconsistent No-Signal

Post by NedS »

We would like to get some diagnostic data.
  1. Please go to the http://my.hdhomerun.com/ site
  2. Click your HDHomeRun's device ID
  3. If it tells you that a firmware update is available, please install it
  4. Click System Status
  5. Check the Send diagnostic information box
  6. Go back one page
  7. Click Channel Lineup
  8. Click on Detect Channels

Reply back to this post and provide us the device ID of your HDHomeRun and we will check the logs. You can find the device ID at the top of the my.hdhomerun.com web page as well as on a label on the bottom of the HDHomeRun itself.

kbfcub
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 12:36 pm

Re: Inconsistent No-Signal

Post by kbfcub »

I have followed your instructions and am still having the same issue.

So I have decided to buy a filter as suggested in the 1st reply, any suggestion on what is the best filter to buy?

The information asked for in the 2nd reply is below.

Model: HDHR5-4DT
Device ID: 12526A63
Firmware: 20200521

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8989
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Inconsistent No-Signal

Post by signcarver »

I would suggest waiting for NedS (or someone) to look at the captured logs as they usually can tell if it is the issue but an old quote from jasonl (who at the time was THE person at SD for such support) stated this to the last person with that issue:
The logs suggest you may be picking up some interference from lower frequency signals. This is something that is not uncommon in the UK. We have found that adding a high pass filter/braid breaker such as the top item at https://www.kcb.co.uk/contents/en-uk/d70.html can greatly improve reception in cases like this.​
Note: Those logs were not referring to your logs but the previous person's. I believe it was the top item there when I just looked at it. I would also say that given the frequency it might need an LTE filter but I'll admit I'm looking at that from a US point of view but is usually my first goto for anything near 600MHz (and above).

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1244
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Inconsistent No-Signal

Post by NedS »

Yeah, it looks like that weird UK interference issue. This filter should work: (first item on the list) https://www.kcb.co.uk/contents/en-uk/d70.html

kbfcub
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 12:36 pm

Re: Inconsistent No-Signal

Post by kbfcub »

I've ordered one, as soon as it arrives and tested it I will let you know if things improve

kbfcub
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 12:36 pm

Re: Inconsistent No-Signal

Post by kbfcub »

It arrived last week and since I've not had a problem with the signal.

Thank you very much that seems to have resolved it YAY :D

bigpanda
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 6:25 am

Re: Inconsistent No-Signal

Post by bigpanda »

I was in the same boat. The suggested device arrived today and I have had no issues so far. Thanks for the tip

Post Reply