Upgrade from v1 HR Prime to new version worth it?

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
Olmsteez
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 3:59 pm

Upgrade from v1 HR Prime to new version worth it?

Post by Olmsteez »

I have the original 3 tuner version of the HomeRun Prime and I'm wondering if upgrading to the new version will help improve live TV quality. Is there any more horsepower under the hood other than the 3 additional tuners? My issue with live TV is I get short horizontal lines when the camera pans horizontally. This happens with both wifi and hardwired connected devices.

Here's a screen cap of what I'm talking about: https://ibb.co/w0TsLxT

After a little research it seems my question is a little premature. The Prime6 isn't even in production yet. I guess I missed the "coming soon" bit on the product page.
Last edited by Olmsteez on Thu May 28, 2020 12:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8998
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Upgrade from v1 HR Prime to new version worth it?

Post by signcarver »

There isn't any other version other than the old 3 tuner so currently there is nothing to upgrade to. It is unknown when the Prime 6 will be released

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15928
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Upgrade from v1 HR Prime to new version worth it?

Post by nickk »

Hi,

The lines you are seeing are not from the Prime... either the video is interlaced and your playback device isn't delinterlacing, or the broadcaster messed up the encoding of an interlaced source,

What playback device are you using?

Nick

Olmsteez
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: Upgrade from v1 HR Prime to new version worth it?

Post by Olmsteez »

Thanks for taking an interest, Nick!

Playback is via Plex on two different FireTVs and two different PCs.

Olmsteez
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: Upgrade from v1 HR Prime to new version worth it?

Post by Olmsteez »

Bump!

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15928
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Upgrade from v1 HR Prime to new version worth it?

Post by nickk »

The early FireTV products don't support deinterlacing. It is unfortunately a limitation of these FireTV products.

Try configuring Plex to transcode the video - that should trigger Plex to deinterlace the video.

Nick

Post Reply