Unable to detect Ch14

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
billbitler
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 4:46 pm

Unable to detect Ch14

Post by billbitler » Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:41 pm

I'm having trouble detecting channel 14 (freq 470-476 MHz) with a SNR of 22dB with the Quatro 4. I can send a picture of the RF spectrum from SpectrumSpy of the antenna cable input to the HDHomeRun device. Is there a way to force the HDHomeRun to manually add channel 14? I have run the scan at least a dozen times and unable to detect channel 14. I have no problem detecting channels at 545 MHz with a SNR of 8 dB. The strongest channels has a SNR of 28dB at 491 MHz.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 835
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Unable to detect Ch14

Post by NedS » Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:36 pm

  1. Please go to the http://my.hdhomerun.com/ site
  2. Click your HDHomeRun's device ID
  3. If it tells you that a firmware update is available, please install it
  4. Click System Status
  5. Check the Send diagnostic information box
  6. Go back one page
  7. Click Channel Lineup
  8. Click on Detect Channels
Reply back with the device ID of your HDHomeRun and we will check the logs. You can find the device ID at the top of the my.hdhomerun.com web page as well as on a label on the bottom of the HDHomeRun itself.

billbitler
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 4:46 pm

Re: Unable to detect Ch14

Post by billbitler » Tue Mar 24, 2020 5:23 pm

My device ID is 1078E0B5. Attached is a picture of the RF Spectrum.

Image

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 835
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Unable to detect Ch14

Post by NedS » Tue Mar 24, 2020 6:19 pm

Good signal strength coming in, but zero signal quality. Try moving the antenna until the signal quality levels for that channel start to show up. If you have a product link for your antenna, or a picture of it, post that as well.

billbitler
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 4:46 pm

Re: Unable to detect Ch14

Post by billbitler » Wed Mar 25, 2020 6:03 pm

I suspect the poor signal quality is related to multi-path. Currently using a 30-2415 STELLAR LABS Deep Fringe Yagi antenna at 20 feet elevation. May try to raise it to 30 feet to see if it helps.

I've been focusing on antenna gain/azimuth patterns to pickup channels at 266, 303 and 310 degrees. If the poor signal quality is the result of multi-path, may need to consider two separate directional antennas to try to reduce the effects of multi-path.

It would be extremely useful if the HDHomeRun could provider the user a log file of all channels from the scan with detectable signal strength regardless of signal quality.

Thank you for your help in solving my reception problems.

gtb
Expert
Posts: 4026
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: Unable to detect Ch14

Post by gtb » Wed Mar 25, 2020 6:46 pm

billbitler wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 6:03 pm
It would be extremely useful if the HDHomeRun could provider the user a log file of all channels from the scan with detectable signal strength regardless of signal quality.
Use the cli scan and redirect the output to wherever you wish. And can you can use the cli to get the data for a specific frequency and use that repeatedly to see what the levels are as you adjust the antenna.

billbitler
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 4:46 pm

Re: Unable to detect Ch14

Post by billbitler » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:32 pm

Thank you for your help! This is exactly what I was looking for. Based on the scan results it clear the multi-path is from my metal roof for channel 14. I'm going to raise the antenna so it's at least a wavelength (470 MHz) above the peak of the roof and see if it resolves my issue.

Post Reply