problems with tuning

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
rliepins
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2019 3:23 pm

problems with tuning

Post by rliepins » Tue Dec 03, 2019 3:53 pm

Hello

I am having problems watching ESPN via Frontier FIOS. When I was with Comcast, I never had an issue. I use Emby as my media application and have my HDHR3 set up. After the switch to Frontier, I have problems recording and watching simultaneously. Last night, while watching Monday Night Football, I could not watch at all.

Looking at the HDHR3 logs, I see references to subscribed and not-subscribed for the same channel. For example:

19700101-00:00:00 System: reset reason = power on
19700101-00:00:01 CableCARD: M-CARD inserted
19700101-00:00:03 System: network link 1000f
19700101-00:00:04 System: network link down
19700101-00:00:04 CableCARD: Arris/Motorola card (0000:0625)
19700101-00:00:04 CableCARD: authentication status: authentication in progress
19700101-00:00:04 CableCARD: authentication status: authentication success, validation success
19700101-00:00:07 System: network link 1000f
19700101-00:00:14 System: ip address obtained: 192.168.19.179 / 255.255.255.0
20191203-04:39:58 CableCARD: time changed from Thu Jan 01 00:00:19 1970 to Tue Dec 03 04:39:58 2019
20191203-04:43:02 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 570 ESPN HD (auto:735MHz-602)
20191203-04:43:07 HTTP: rejecting request from 192.168.19.185 - no video data
20191203-04:43:07 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (requested time reached)
20191203-04:44:12 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 230 Turner Classic (auto:447MHz-213)
20191203-04:44:13 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.19.185:56572
20191203-04:44:13 CableCARD: tuner0 230 Turner Classic (auto:447MHz-213) access = subscribed
20191203-04:44:35 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20191203-04:44:44 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 570 ESPN HD (auto:735MHz-602)
20191203-04:44:48 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.19.185:56581
20191203-04:44:49 CableCARD: tuner0 570 ESPN HD (auto:735MHz-602) access = not-subscribed
20191203-04:46:05 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)
20191203-04:49:01 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 570 ESPN HD (auto:735MHz-602)
20191203-04:49:03 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.19.185:56719

Is this normal behavior? Is there a way to troubleshoot? I just purchased the DVR application today to try and see if it Emby, but after looking at these logs, I have my doubts.

Thanks in advance.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14722
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: problems with tuning

Post by jasonl » Tue Dec 03, 2019 4:24 pm

If your HDHomeRun is within 2-3 feet of anything that uses wifi, try moving it away and see if that helps. If not, go into the System Status page, check the Send diagnostic information box, run a channel scan, and reply back with the device ID for your HDHomeRun and we will check the logs to see what is happening.

rliepins
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: problems with tuning

Post by rliepins » Tue Dec 03, 2019 9:48 pm

Hi

The units were within a few feet of my WiFi router and have moved them a bit farther, but the problem persists. I seem to have problems with ESPN and other sports channels. I performed the scan with the diag setting checked as requested.

I have 2 HDHomeRun Prime 3 units and the device IDs are:
1314B92C
131EC752

Any help you can provide would be most appreciated.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14722
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: problems with tuning

Post by jasonl » Wed Dec 04, 2019 12:16 pm

There are some dropoffs in signal quality on the higher frequency channels, including a few that are so bad they can't lock on at all. It's not specific to sports channels, it's just a coincidence that your provider happens to put ESPN and ESPN2 on one of the frequencies that is particularly bad. The other culprit besides wifi at those frequencies would be LTE signals from a cell phone or nearby tower. You may have some damaged wiring somewhere that is allowing outside signals to leak in and interfere. Check all your wiring and make sure everything is in good condition with no cuts or kinks. Make sure all connectors are finger-tight, and make sure the connectors are securely attached to the rest of the cable (if you tug a bit on the connector it should not move at all relative to the coax cable). Make sure all outlets and splitter ports in the home are either connected to something or properly terminated.

rliepins
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: problems with tuning

Post by rliepins » Wed Dec 04, 2019 9:07 pm

Hi and thanks.

Is there a way to let me know what the ideal signal range is? I can work with Frontier to try and adjust the signal. Is it saturation or is it a lack of signal that is the problem? If I had an idea of what these units can take as far as strength, that would help.

BTW, I did make sure all cables were tight. Is it just some channels that are the problem and is there a way to get the spectrum of all channels?

Thanks

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14722
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: problems with tuning

Post by jasonl » Thu Dec 05, 2019 12:55 pm

It's not a strength issue, it's a quality issue. Strength needs to be between -12dBmV and +12dBmV, and on that particular channel you're at about -6dBmV, so it's completely fine. You have perfect signal quality up to 459MHz, then it kind of goes up and down a bit but still acceptable up to 717MHz where it takes a dive which continues through 777MHz, then goes back to being OK up to the top end of 861.

rliepins
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: problems with tuning

Post by rliepins » Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:11 pm

I have 2 HDHR3 units. Do both exhibit the same quality issues for the same or different channels?

I did check and recheck the cable connections and termination points. All is good and everything did work fine when we had Comcast. It definitely is a thing with the new FIOS service.

Next step would be to contact Frontier, but I'm not sure if they will help. If I could ask them to look at something on their end, what would be the proper things to ask?

Thanks again.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14722
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: problems with tuning

Post by jasonl » Sun Dec 08, 2019 3:09 pm

I don't have scan logs for 1314B92C, can you run the scan on that one?

Post Reply