windows 7, HDHOMERUN view, no audio

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
swp090654
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:11 pm

windows 7, HDHOMERUN view, no audio

Post by swp090654 » Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:20 am

running windows 7 64 bit, SP 1
installed 32 bit VLC

have an hdhomerun prime on the network, connected through a Cisco tuning adapter to Spectrum cable

using Windows Media Center (as dvr), 3 tuners are found and can play all channels with audio and video

using hdhomerun config [tech], 3 tuners are found and can play all channels with audio and video using VLC

using hdhomerun view, a tuner is selected and can play all channels (a little hard to find) - but there is no audio

ideas ??

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8253
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: windows 7, HDHOMERUN view, no audio

Post by signcarver » Thu Aug 15, 2019 11:35 am

You will need an ac3 codec/filter (we are not allowed to suggest names or link to such in this forum). The one included with windows 7 only works for ms programs (i want to say just wmc but a few have said it may work with wmp but i have never seen such). When launched in vlc directly it uses its own.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14067
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: windows 7, HDHOMERUN view, no audio

Post by jasonl » Thu Aug 15, 2019 2:21 pm

32 bit VLC should be used if it's installed. Double check and make sure you really have the 32 bit version, as the VLC site seems to randomly decide whether to give 64 bit OS users the 32 or 64 bit version. Also make sure you installed VLC using the exe installer, not the zip version, as the HDHomeRun app relies on a registry entry being there to find the VLC location, and that is something the VLC installer adds.

Post Reply