missing channels on fios cable card

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
critic
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 4:09 pm

missing channels on fios cable card

Post by critic » Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:30 am

just switched from cable to fios. when i scan with my prime i am missing few channels that our included in my tv plan. one of the missing channels is fox sports 1. so question is how can i scan to get this channel or can i add it manually if its not found with the scans?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8253
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by signcarver » Thu Aug 08, 2019 7:39 am

Sounds like the card isn't validated (since you said missing from scan) or you are not meeting DRM requirements (if just unable to play since fios, in most markets, marks the "fox" channels other than local with DRM).
Fios has a habit of sending a signal that changes the DataID and that new value would need to be entered into their system.

highlnder69
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:09 pm

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by highlnder69 » Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:53 am

I am seeing Fox Sports 1 HD on Channel 583, and Channel 83 for the SD version, but channel 83 is marked as DRM. I suggest using the HD channel 583.

critic
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by critic » Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:29 am

sorry for the late reply

i see channel before (581 MSG Plus 2 HD) and channel after (584 Fox Sports 2 HD) but i dont see Fox Sports 1 HD

most of my channels are marked AVC HD is that same as DRM?

critic
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by critic » Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:40 am

signcarver should i be worried that card validation shows up as none?

Card Authentication success
Card OOB Lock success
Card Validation none

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3985
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by gtb » Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:19 am

critic wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:40 am
signcarver should i be worried that card validation shows up as none?
Yes, especially for any Fox owned/managed stations (and any premium channels you might have), because, as signcarver stated, without validation you will not be able to obtain and content that requires a protected path.

The first step will be to contact VZ and get the CableCARD validated. And, as signcarver mentioned, there are cases where the process VZ uses to enable the CableCARD changes the data ID used in the process for validation.

critic
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by critic » Sun Aug 11, 2019 3:11 pm

marked this solved

took about hour on the phone with vz but now i am getting drm channels

jco23
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:32 am

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by jco23 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:18 am

critic wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 3:11 pm
marked this solved

took about hour on the phone with vz but now i am getting drm channels
what specifically did you say to VZ to get the card validated? I was on the phone with them for an hour, and they kept saying that the signal/command they are sending is not giving a response.

I told them that they need to "validate" the card, but that proved fruitless.

I, too, am only missing a few channels (FS1 and BTN), which I would like to have before football season starts.

thanks!

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14067
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by jasonl » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:50 am

They need to do manual validation on CableCARD devices. Sometimes they forget and try to do automatic, which relies on the device being able to phone home with the card pairing information, but CableCARD devices can't do that, only their own boxes can.

critic
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by critic » Thu Aug 15, 2019 6:27 pm

I told them that I have to validate my card because I am missing few channels. They did something on their side and told me to reboot my device. That did not work. They ask me what device I am using. They asked about sever or ten times if I am using **** box. Told few times that it’s something different then ****. Then they asked me for all cable cars numbers from the cable card menu (cable card id, serial). After that they once again did something on their end and told me to reboot.after the reboot validation came back successful then I scanned for missing channels and they showed up in my scan.

jco23
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:32 am

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by jco23 » Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:09 pm

I contacted FiOS, and they got it validated. but now, ALL DRM content shows up. but they are still labeled as "DRM". I can view them via the windows app, but no showing up on Plex (I'm currently refreshing the channel guide data on Plex - so I'm hoping they'll show up when done).

I'll provide more feedback later.

foxbat121
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by foxbat121 » Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:45 pm

DRM channels of course should be labeled as such so that you known it needs special playback requirements, e.g. anything other than SD's app or WMC won't play it.

jco23
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:32 am

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by jco23 » Tue Aug 20, 2019 4:35 am

foxbat121 wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:45 pm
DRM channels of course should be labeled as such so that you known it needs special playback requirements, e.g. anything other than SD's app or WMC won't play it.
yeah, that's what I initially figured - I just got the impression that the other posters on this thread were able to get some DRM channels to show up elsewhere. but what's also odd is that I can view all other channels that are NOT part of my package (such as HBO, Cinemax, etc.). of course, those are DRM and only play on my windows app.

is there a way to cast the windows app to chromecast?

foxbat121
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by foxbat121 » Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:33 am

HBO and Cinemax channels are all on free preview last weekend on FIOS.

No, you can't cast them to Chromecast.

jco23
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:32 am

Re: missing channels on fios cable card

Post by jco23 » Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:57 am

foxbat121 wrote:
Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:33 am
HBO and Cinemax channels are all on free preview last weekend on FIOS.

No, you can't cast them to Chromecast.
ah, then that would explain it.

thanks for the quick response!

Post Reply