HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
WayneJD
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:19 am

HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby WayneJD » Sun Mar 17, 2019 7:41 am

Hi,

I got my new HDHomerun Quattro Connect today (15/03), updated to firmware v20180817 and setup with ease on UK Free to Air TV.

However, use on various devices XboxOne, Samsung Tablet, Samsung S8 Phone and PC using the HomerunHD apps I cannot get any TV streaming to be stutter free. In fact the stuttering is so bad on all devices its unwatchable or usable.

The HomerunHD device is wired on 1gb home network. Using 2 tuners shows 100% signal strength such as below example from status page:

Virtual Channel 2 BBC TWO :?:
Frequency 522.000 MHz
Program Number 4287
Modulation Lock t8qam64
Signal Strength 100%
Signal Quality 79%
Symbol Quality 100%
Streaming Rate 4.938 Mbps
Resource Lock 192.xxx.1.xxx

Is something wrong with the device? Should I send it back?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 7874
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby signcarver » Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:30 am

If you ever see signal strength at 100%, try to attenuate the signal a bit as you don't know how much higher than 100% it actually is and typically it will not like too hot of a signal. Also in the UK a high pass filter is often needed at least for some channels... see jasonl's reply at viewtopic.php?t=70697#p338413 )

WayneJD
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:19 am

Re: HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby WayneJD » Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:40 am

@signcarver Thanks for the response.

Thing is, I'm using the the same cable I had until yesterday into the HTPC for last 12 years using a Black Gold 2x tuner with no issue. Only difference here is the swap to try out the new HomerunHD Quattro which is direct IP based streaming on the same 1gb network. Result is unusable streaming of the footage.

Man who lived here before us was a electrical engineer and replaced the ariel to be best can be and then run it into a closet and split to lounge and 4x bedrooms which all rooms TVs display all channels no issue.

When you say attenuate the signal a bit, what do you mean or how is that done - sorry not ariel guy and only know how to extend or split a signal?

Thanks in advance

WayneJD
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:19 am

Re: HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby WayneJD » Sun Mar 17, 2019 10:24 am

*UPD 17/03 17:22 GMT*

Notice can play the stream from Channels page, so I loaded up VLC and File->Network Stream

BBC One - http://192.xxx.1.xxx:5004/auto/v1 WORKS no stuttering
BBC Two - http://192.xxx.1.xxx:5004/auto/v2 STUTTERS

progressing through channels to try identify the issue - which work and dont when HTPC plays them fine

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13216
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby jasonl » Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:51 am

Please enable the sending of diagnostic data on the device, run a channel scan, and watch a problem channel for 10 minutes (see viewtopic.php?f=15&t=69066) then reply back with the device ID for your HDHomeRun and we will check the logs.

WayneJD
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:19 am

Re: HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby WayneJD » Tue Mar 19, 2019 1:04 am

@jasonl thanks for the response and advisory.

I have enabled Send Diagnostic data and done channel scan. Lost 31 channels down to 131 from the 160 scanned weekend.
This image shows before number of channels and was result during, but finished scan at same 131 channels found.
Image

Played channels below via VLC Network Streaming to test.
- Channel CH27-4287 BBC Two this time had NO stuttering but over weekend was unwatchable with pixelation
- Channel CH21-17603 ITV HD very bad pixelation, unwatchable until about 1+ minute into stream, then cleared
- Channel CH36-22208 Pick very bad pixelation, unwatchable & stuttering did not improve

My HDHomerun
Model = HDHR5-4DT
Device ID = 1251A611

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13216
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby jasonl » Tue Mar 19, 2019 11:02 am

You're definitely picking up some interference from something. I think the high pass filter would help. First item at https://www.kcb.co.uk/shop2/contents/en-uk/d70.html .

WayneJD
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:19 am

Re: HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby WayneJD » Tue Mar 19, 2019 2:05 pm

@jasonl Excellent as I did little research of the forums and found another post relating to this issue and pre-order one at the weekend of those high pass filter from the same link.

Pure luck got home today and it had arrived in time for your response. Wil give it a go and come back with an update tomorrow.

WayneJD
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:19 am

Re: HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby WayneJD » Tue Mar 19, 2019 2:20 pm

SOLVED - Now have 140 channels and most appear to play with zero issues - Thank you! :D :D

Now also connected into Emby Server running on my NAS with Live TV and Recording - AWESOME!

PS. Can you buy HDHomerun Extend in UK, cant find supplier anywhere?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13216
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby jasonl » Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:21 pm

There is only one model of HDHomeRun EXTEND, for use in North America. Pretty much the entire rest of the world, including the UK, has already moved on to H.264 (or even HEVC) for HD broadcasts, so there wouldn't be much benefit to having something that can convert MPEG2 to H.264.

WayneJD
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:19 am

Re: HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby WayneJD » Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:17 am

@jasonl The UK challenge is we only have about 5x HD channels which are OTA. So sadly majority of the 140 channels the HDHomeRun found are MPEG2 which means when Emby streams them to the network it defaults to first transcode on the fly to H264.

Tried last night and low spec NAS running Emby Server seems to handle this without stutter issue at present. The HDHomeRun Extend could have removed this performance hit, but if only America version I try find another solution if I need too.
Last edited by WayneJD on Fri Mar 22, 2019 2:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13216
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby jasonl » Thu Mar 21, 2019 12:57 pm

SD channels take significantly less processing power to transcode. You could be transcoding 4 SD channels from the Quatro and it would take less processing power than if you were transcoding a single HD channel.

WayneJD
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:19 am

Re: HDHomerun Quattro UK - unusable/stuttering?

Postby WayneJD » Fri Mar 22, 2019 2:32 am

@jasonl Thanks, its aligned with what I have witness so far too :)

The low spec NAS seems to be managing without issue transcoding realtime and streaming the Live TV. Very happy now with my HDHomeRun Quattro.

Bit of feedback for siliconDust is it would be useful to have this UK OTA Digital common issue on the FAQ of your site, with link to the High Pass Filter as possible solution and to this thread if you feel be beneficial :)

Thanks again for all the help :D


Return to “HDHomeRun Hardware Setup & Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests