prime 6 vs prime 3?

A place for people to discuss future hardware and software product news
ScottChapman
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:59 am

prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby ScottChapman » Fri Nov 23, 2018 12:45 pm

Any advantage of old Prime versus new Prime 6 (aside from twice as many tuners)?

OldManWalter
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:42 pm

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby OldManWalter » Fri Nov 23, 2018 12:49 pm

Prime 3 has the indication lights that shows when the tunner is in use. I am guessing the prime 6 will not have this.

rrussis82
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby rrussis82 » Fri Nov 23, 2018 1:08 pm

One exists, and the other doesn't?

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3799
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby gtb » Fri Nov 23, 2018 4:07 pm

Prime 3 has the indication lights that shows when the tunner is in use.
The newer variant of the HDHR3-CC did not have tuner LEDs, even though it was sold under the same model number (which was either a goodness or a badness, depending on your use cases).

Beerman
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby Beerman » Fri Nov 23, 2018 4:09 pm

One exists, and the other doesn't?
:lol: I was thinking the same thing!

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 7941
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby signcarver » Fri Nov 23, 2018 5:05 pm

The 3 tuner can transmit 3 full cable qam channels (full mux) while the 6 tuner may only serve 2 as 3 tuner is gigabit while the 6 tuner will be limited to 100Mbps. (Won't usually be an issue serving 6 individual channels rather than full)

Fratopolis
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:22 pm

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby Fratopolis » Sun Nov 25, 2018 4:27 pm

Personally I have never seen a single channel push over 13-14mbps. So as the current standard goes, at least in my area with spectrum it can fully support 6 streams simultaneously. Also when most cable companies switch to h264 avc or hopefully at some point h265 hevc I am willing to bet they lower the bitrate even further to cram more channels in MPEG2 needs to be abolished.

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3799
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby gtb » Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:30 pm

or hopefully at some point h265 hevc
Only the more recent (hybrid) STBs support H.265, so for most providers it likely will only happen as part of their entire migration out of linear QAM (which will likely also include their "4K" offerings).

ScottChapman
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:59 am

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby ScottChapman » Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:34 pm

Only the more recent (hybrid) STBs support H.265, so for most providers it likely will only happen as part of their entire migration out of linear QAM (which will likely also include their "4K" offerings).
Yea, I have Verizon FiOS and I swear their STB tech is > 10 years old and I see no signs of any updates...

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3799
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby gtb » Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:57 pm

Yea, I have Verizon FiOS and I swear their STB tech is > 10 years old and I see no signs of any updates...
FiOS is not bandwidth constrained (so the arguments for H.264/H.265 are mostly irrelevant), but FiOS also revoked (actually took back) their entire next generation beta STB boxes (IPTV based) they were testing in a few locations, so VZ has to start over all over yet again. With a new CEO, VZ has some decisions to make (the new CEO does not seem to be especially enamored of any content services, so OATH may be destined for a spin-out too).

km
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 10:46 am

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby km » Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:03 am

I guess we can assume no Prime 6 this year.

leenypost
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 11:14 am

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby leenypost » Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:49 pm

I don't get why they would only have a 100Mbps link in the prime 6... The cost difference for a 1000Mbps link is next to nothing at this point. I currently have 4 Prime 3 tuners on FiOS and would love to reduce that to 2 Prime 6's but I am not too keen on how well 6 FiOS channels simultaneously would run on a 100Mbps port...

Sorahl
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 7:26 pm

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby Sorahl » Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:02 pm

I guess we can assume no Prime 6 this year.
i'm beyond the point of assuming anything :(
keeping on keeping my hardware limping on..

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3799
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby gtb » Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:08 pm

i'm beyond the point of assuming anything
Only fanbois buy (or wait for) futures. Show me the beef (or, in this case, the Prime6). I certainly look forward to the availability whenever it occurs (if not for me, for others), but personally I suspect that I will not be able to logistically justify the purchase price (the payback is looking to be multiple years).

squirrellydw
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 2:03 pm

Re: prime 6 vs prime 3?

Postby squirrellydw » Wed Dec 19, 2018 8:12 am

I don't get why they would only have a 100Mbps link in the prime 6... The cost difference for a 1000Mbps link is next to nothing at this point. I currently have 4 Prime 3 tuners on FiOS and would love to reduce that to 2 Prime 6's but I am not too keen on how well 6 FiOS channels simultaneously would run on a 100Mbps port...
I'm sure it will be fine, can't imagine they release something with 6 runners and can't all work at the same time. But maybe thats why it's not released yet? btw, I will sign an NDA or whatever if you need any testers.


Return to “Future Product Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests