HDHR3-CC some channels die after 10 seconds (SOLVED)

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
DL96728
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:05 pm

HDHR3-CC some channels die after 10 seconds (SOLVED)

Postby DL96728 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 5:14 pm

My HDHR3-CC, STA 1520 tuning adapter and CableCard are working on some channels, but showing odd behavior on others with Spectrum cable in Hilo, HI. I've running firmware 20170930 and using the web interface to collect status information as well as the latest apps in the Windows 10 and Android Play stores. I've also tried streaming directly to VLC and mplayer from the command line using the URL in the Channel Lineup screen to eliminate any app issues.

Some channels play fine -- SD, HD, VHF or high UHF cable frequencies doesn't matter, but some others that should play (according to the Spectrum reps I've talked to) will only play for about 10 second then die with a timeout message on the app with the following in the Status Log:

Code: Select all

20180712-23:22:10 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 782 CSPAN2 (none:207MHz-2) 20180712-23:22:10 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.111:48326 20180712-23:22:10 CableCARD: tuner0 782 CSPAN2 (none:207MHz-2) access = subscribed 20180712-23:22:20 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed) 20180712-23:22:21 CableCARD: message: /get_cc_url?CableCARD///apps/PhoneHome.html
A channel that doesn't die shows:

Code: Select all

20180712-23:32:34 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 783 CSPN3HD (none:183MHz-11) 20180712-23:32:34 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.111:48344 20180712-23:32:34 CableCARD: tuner0 783 CSPN3HD (none:183MHz-11) access = subscribed
The tuning resolver appears to be working correctly based on the status screen and a constant green light on the STA1520. On a working channel the Tuning Resolver Status shows:

Code: Select all

Authentication success Downstream success Upstream none Operational Status ready User Inactivity 2 minutes
On CSPAN2 (which didn't work) it shows:

Code: Select all

Authentication success Downstream success Upstream none Operational Status ready User Inactivity 0 minutes
Tuner resolver RF status looks good:

Code: Select all

CURRENT FDC Freq: 72.750 MHz DAVIC: ? Status: Locked Level: -2 dBmV Seconds: 84525 Corr Bytes: 111 Uncor Blks: 383 Errs Avg/Inst: 0 / 0 Total Bytes: 2047689112 S/N: 33 dB CURRENT QAM Freq: 663.000 MHz Tuning Mode: QAM-256 Status: Locked Level: -7 dBmV
Network and tuning status after channel died and on a good channel (no difference):

Code: Select all

STATUSES Tuning Mode: QAM-256 Tuner State: Idle/Available TV Mgr: Ready Tv Res Err: 0x00000000 Tuning Tbl: 0710.0223 Channel: n/a Source Id: n/a BFS Dir: 0712.133120 MPEG STATS Video: 0 Audio: 0 PCR: 0 PCR Lock: 4294955776 A/V Disc: 0 PTS: 0
The only thing that looks suspicious is the "No CP Auth" on the second page of the CableCard CP status:

Code: Select all

Cisco CableCARD(tm) Copy Protection Info Page 2 MKS Period: 600 seconds VerifyKey Status: OK Refresh Status: No CP Auth Refresh count: 0 N_Host timeouts: 0 Sync Cnf timeouts: 0 CP-CA Control bits: 0x05
Both working channels and those that die show show "Authorization: subscribed" and "CCI Protection: none" in the tuner status display. Signal quality and symbol quality are both at 100%. After the bad channel dies, all items on the tuner status display change to "none".

Anyone have any ideas on what I should check before I have a tech come out and look at it? I doubt it is a SiliconDust issue since some channels work and a web search hasn't turns up problems with the same symptoms. Based on phone support (Spectrum's 877-309-5869 seems to connect to smart people with the least effort) I've already swapped out the CableCard and added the tuning adapter. The last person I talked to said he didn't see anything wrong on their end. I'd hate to find I've missed something simple!

...Doug
Last edited by DL96728 on Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 12243
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHR3-CC some channels die after 10 seconds

Postby jasonl » Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:24 pm

I don't think your CableCARD is validated. Also, your tuning adapter is in one-way mode, meaning you're only going to be able to access channels that are already active in your area (either non-switched or switched and someone nearby is watching), not request anything that isn't currently active.

DL96728
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: HDHR3-CC some channels die after 10 seconds

Postby DL96728 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:38 pm

Thanks Jason --

Before I get everything set up in a spot for a tech to visit (right now everything is stacked in a pile on a corner of my office next to the router and networking gear -- I don't want them messing around in there!)

I'll give them another call and push them on the validation issue. The card status validation says "none" and when I've pointed that out to the Spectrum support people they say it is "paired" and that's all that matters. If they can't validate it remotely I'll have someone come out.

Because I could get some channels I was buying their argument. Sounds like I shouldn't have! I'll also follow up on the tuning resolver issue and let the group know how it all turns out. The system just switched to all encrypted -- everything we watched was clearQAM until a week ago.

...Doug

DL96728
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: HDHR3-CC some channels die after 10 seconds (SOLVED - sort of...)

Postby DL96728 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:46 pm

Here's an update and unfortunately bad news from Spectrum...

After working with a technician and insisting they get the card validation working, everything started working as it should. The timeouts stopped. Unfortunately, with the card validated, the CCI Protection messages were now displayed. It turns out the channels that died are all set to "protected-copyonce", including CSPAN2, HSN, QVC and the Spectrum local channels except for their on-demand barker channel and, of course, the local access channels. Broadcast stations were "unrestricted" while the public/government access channels were "none".

I'm marking this as SOLVED because the channels no longer die after 10 seconds, they don't display video at all now and the status shows the reason.

I've heard SiliconDust may have a solution coming for the "protected-copyonce" problem and will be watching for updates on that and the 6 tuner CC HDHR. Sorry I missed the SiliconDust guys at CES.

Fortunately I was able to get a cable box with RGB out so the next step will be to try to get it working with an HD-PVR encoder, an IR blaster, and MythTV, something I'm not looking forward to. I'll keep the reliable HDHR3-CC for the unprotected local channels!

...Doug

Mediaman
Expert
Posts: 8162
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:11 pm
Location: Olympia, WA

Re: HDHR3-CC some channels die after 10 seconds (SOLVED)

Postby Mediaman » Sat Jul 14, 2018 1:55 am

You should be able to play live TV copyonce channels [with or without the HDHR DVR] via W10 devices and Xbox one as well as iOS based Mac PC's using the HDHR client apps. These also allow for backing up 5 minutes or pause and play up to an hour of content via on board ram of client device. This does not work on android at this time.

DL96728
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: HDHR3-CC some channels die after 10 seconds (SOLVED)

Postby DL96728 » Sat Jul 14, 2018 10:32 am

Thanks Mediaman --

I was only trying it on Linux and with Android after the CC got validated. I'll give it a try on the Windows 10 app. It will be nice if that works!

My wife like MythTV for it's DVR and other features so I'm going to have to find a replacement for that -- either the analog cable box with HD-PVR for MythTV or a different DVR program running on Windows 10 perhaps if and when that becomes available.

...Doug

DL96728
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: HDHR3-CC some channels die after 10 seconds (SOLVED)

Postby DL96728 » Sat Jul 14, 2018 6:58 pm

No luck with Windows 10 Pro and the HDHomerun app from the Microsoft store. Reset, removed, reinstalled and copy-once channels still won't play. Verified uPnP was set in Network and Sharing properties and tried both TPM 1.0 and TPM 1.x on UEFI boot with no success. Also disabled firewall. Nothing shows odd up in the Windows Event logs so I can't see what's going on.

Fired up a browser after the failures and saw in the HDHomerun system log:

Code: Select all

20180715-01:44:42 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 58 FOODHD (none:387MHz-4) 20180715-01:44:43 Tuner: tuner0 streaming http to 192.168.1.180:49785 20180715-01:44:43 CableCARD: tuner0 58 FOODHD (none:387MHz-4) access = subscribed 20180715-01:44:49 Tuner: tuner0 http stream ended (remote closed)

DL96728
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: HDHR3-CC some channels die after 10 seconds (SOLVED)

Postby DL96728 » Sun Jul 15, 2018 2:06 am

It is working now and I"m viewing DRM channels on one of my Windows 10 boxes. What it took was a new channel scan on the other Windows 10 box when the first one didn't work. I've now got over 260 channels. Of course, many are the same program duplicated on multiple channels. Unfortunately I haven't gotten the DRM working on the second Windows 10 box because of the dreaded "You'll need internet for this" error on Microsoft Store when trying to download the MPEG 2 extensions. It is nice that the Channel Lineup shows which channels have DRM.

As was noted earlier in this thread, my tuning resolver was in the one-way mode. I had to remove the house distribution amp I'd installed 15 years ago and install a wideband splitter that allowed the return channel to work. That's what increased my channels from about 87 to over 260. Something to check if you're upgrading (??) from an analog/ClearQAM installation like I was. With the HDHomerun and WiFi and wired Ethernet to most of the rooms I only needed to split the cable feed three ways instead of twelve to hit all devices so I had plenty of signal.

Thanks everyone for your help! I'll be watching for the 6 tuner HDHomerun Prime and the DRM DVR app!

...Doug

Mediaman
Expert
Posts: 8162
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:11 pm
Location: Olympia, WA

Re: HDHR3-CC some channels die after 10 seconds (SOLVED)

Postby Mediaman » Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:05 pm

Glad you got that worked out. This is a guide to it's use you just will not have access to the DVR features viewtopic.php?f=126&t=65206 . You might want to subscribe to change log in that section of the forum as that will update you to software upgrades.


Return to “HDHomeRun Hardware Setup & Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests