Channel not in widescreen

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
kjclark23
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:26 am

Channel not in widescreen

Postby kjclark23 » Thu May 17, 2018 3:35 pm

I have a problem with a certain hd channel (590 FiOS, NBCSN). The channel comes through in "full screen" format and not widescreen. However, when using a third party app (Google channels) it does come through in widescreen. Is there something I need to do? I've tried rescanning channels and it doesn't work. Also, it sometimes come through in widescreen.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 11987
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Channel not in widescreen

Postby jasonl » Thu May 17, 2018 4:14 pm

We would like to get some diagnostic data.

If you are using a Windows PC:
  1. If you have not already done so, please install the latest beta HDHomeRun Software for Windows from viewtopic.php?f=119&t=20613
  2. Run HDHomeRun Setup, enable “Send diagnostic information...” on the Advanced tab and click Apply. If you do not have an Advanced tab, close HDHomeRun Setup and reopen it.
  3. Unplug the power from the HDHomeRun and plug it back in
  4. After the powerup sequence finishes, click “Scan” on the CableCARD tab
  5. Click OK
If you are using a Mac:
  1. If you have not already done so, please install the latest beta HDHomeRun Mac software from viewtopic.php?f=119&t=20613
  2. Open Terminal and run:

    Code: Select all

    hdhomerun_config ffffffff set /sys/debug debug_enabled=10
  3. Unplug the power from the HDHomeRun and plug it back in
  4. After the powerup sequence finishes, run a channel scan on the HDHomeRun's web page
Reply back with the device ID for your HDHomeRun and we will check the logs.

kjclark23
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:26 am

Re: Channel not in widescreen

Postby kjclark23 » Thu May 17, 2018 6:13 pm

1326C13C

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 11987
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Channel not in widescreen

Postby jasonl » Thu May 17, 2018 7:25 pm

Everything looks good there. What app are you seeing it come up wrong in and on what device?

kjclark23
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:26 am

Re: Channel not in widescreen

Postby kjclark23 » Sat May 19, 2018 7:54 am

I'm using the hdhomerun app on Android TV and Xbox one. It was displaying in widescreen Thursday night (5/17/18).

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 11987
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Channel not in widescreen

Postby jasonl » Mon May 21, 2018 3:59 pm

If you see it come up in 4:3 again, bring up the settings menu in the app and turn on Send diagnostic information and tune the channel again. Can check those logs and see if something looks off in there.

kjclark23
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:26 am

Re: Channel not in widescreen

Postby kjclark23 » Mon May 21, 2018 5:05 pm

I just set the setting and retuned the channel. It's in 4:3 right now.

kjclark23
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:26 am

Re: Channel not in widescreen

Postby kjclark23 » Mon May 21, 2018 7:55 pm

I want to also note that the channel corrected itself and went to widescreen. Didn't think to look at the time when it happened.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 11987
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Channel not in widescreen

Postby jasonl » Tue May 22, 2018 11:56 am

Was it at a commercial when it was 4:3? The app does show it being detected as 4:3 before changing to 16:9.

kjclark23
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:26 am

Re: Channel not in widescreen

Postby kjclark23 » Tue May 22, 2018 5:42 pm

I can't remember exactly, buy I believe it was during the hockey game (capitals vs. lighting).


Return to “HDHomeRun Hardware Setup & Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests