No DVR Configured - iPad App

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
ply17410
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:21 pm

No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby ply17410 » Wed May 16, 2018 4:46 pm

Since restarting my HDHR fixed this issue with my nVidia Shield I want to create a separate topic for iPad since my iPad still cannot access my DVR features.

I have tried un-install of the app and re-install, does no good.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 12461
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby jasonl » Thu May 17, 2018 3:35 pm

The log data from the DVR on the Shield reports that there are 2 network interfaces active, one on 192.168.10.* and one on 192.168.49.*. Looks like the HDHomeRun is being accessed through 10. Any idea where 49 is coming from?

ply17410
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby ply17410 » Fri May 18, 2018 8:34 am

Jason,

Everthing on the local LAN is 192.168.10.x

Where could I find the log you noticed this on? Needs investigation.

Thanks!

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 12461
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby jasonl » Mon May 21, 2018 1:44 pm

When the DVR first starts, it will log the local IPs that are available. Also, every ~2 hours when it checks on the HDHomeRun, you'll see the broadcast addresses it is discovering on. Normally you should see exactly 2 lines, both for the same IP on the correct range, like 192.168.1.255.

ply17410
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby ply17410 » Wed May 23, 2018 10:24 pm

Jason,

When using the iPad here is info.

Model: HDHR5-2US
Device ID: 10612863
Firmware: 20180327

my HDHomeRun only shows the tuner at the top of the page. NO DVR. It was working fine several months ago.

Will standby for next steps.

ply17410
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby ply17410 » Wed May 23, 2018 10:28 pm

UPDATE: Rebooted Shield and now DVR is showing up on Mac and iPad ... That was about the 3rd time I've tried reboot since opening up this thread. If finally seems to have worked.

ply17410
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby ply17410 » Thu May 24, 2018 10:11 am

UPDATE: Back to "No DVR Configured" on the iPad. But going to myhdhomerun.com on the iPad I do see the tuner and the DVR showing. Shield sleep mode does not seem to make a difference as the Shield was asleep when I posted when it was working on my previous post.

Also at this same time DVR is working fine on my Mac! Shield is and has been sleeping for over an hour.

What is going on?

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 12461
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby jasonl » Thu May 24, 2018 1:48 pm

The iPad can still reach the HDHomeRun, correct?

If you go to http://ipv4-api.hdhomerun.com/discover from the iPad, what does it show for the IP address for BaseURL/DiscoverURL/StorageURL for the DVR?

ply17410
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby ply17410 » Thu May 24, 2018 10:10 pm

Jason,

Yes iPad and Mac apps have no problem reaching HDHomeRun for Live TV while Shield is in sleep mode.

Checked the info you requested (shield in sleep mode) got the following.

[ { "DeviceID": "10612863",
"LocalIP": "192.168.10.117",
"BaseURL": "http://192.168.10.117:80",
"DiscoverURL": "http://192.168.10.117:80/discover.json",
"LineupURL": "http://192.168.10.117:80/lineup.json" },

{ "StorageID": "8df26a32-83ee-456f-9fa1-07f2967390fa",
"LocalIP": "192.168.10.164:53123",
"BaseURL": "http://192.168.10.164:53123",
"DiscoverURL": "http://192.168.10.164:53123/discover.json",
"StorageURL": "http://192.168.10.164:53123/recorded_files.json" } ]

|| Sent from my iPad ||

HDHomeRun on Mac is also now showing NO DVR, yet it was working this morning.

I'm restarting the Shield as I type this ...... Okay it's back up and now DVR is working on my Mac, and restarted iPad app and it's working there too!!

BREAKING UPDATE: So everything sat overnight and now this morning Mac and iPad are showing No DVR, yet they were working 9 hours ago.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 12461
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby jasonl » Sun May 27, 2018 4:25 pm

If you open the app on the Shield and have it going for live TV, and while it's going, open the app on the iPad, does that change anything?

ply17410
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby ply17410 » Mon May 28, 2018 8:41 am

Jason,

Here is the sequence I followed as I typed this message. Note: Shield had been in sleep mode for approx 9 hrs.
  • Started iPad App, Live TV working, went to DVR, No DVR Configured, returned to Live TV
  • Exited iPad App back to home screen
  • Started Shield, left at Home screen (did not start HDHomeRun app)
  • Started iPad App, Live TV working, went to DVR, No DVR Configured, returned to Live TV
  • Exited iPad App back to home screen
  • Force Closed iPad App
  • Restarted iPad App, Live TV working, went to DVR, DVR is NOW WORKING, returned to Live TV
  • Exited iPad app back to home screen
  • Put Shield in Sleep Mode
  • Force Closed iPad App
  • Restarted iPad App, Live TV working, went to DVR, No DVR Configured, Returned to Live TV
Same behavior with Mac app. Problem seems to be related to Shield Sleeping.

Bob H

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 12461
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby jasonl » Tue May 29, 2018 3:18 pm

Suggest disabling sleep mode on the Shield. If you haven't already enabled Developer mode, go into Settings > About and move down the Build option and click the select button repeatedly until it says developer mode is enabled, and then go into Settings > Developer Options and enable Stay awake.

ply17410
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby ply17410 » Thu May 31, 2018 11:05 am

Jason,

Developer options change made no difference same thing happens going thru the scenario I outlined.

Bob H

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 12461
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby jasonl » Thu May 31, 2018 12:21 pm

Right, don't put it to sleep.

ply17410
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: No DVR Configured - iPad App

Postby ply17410 » Sun Jun 03, 2018 11:31 am

Jason,

No further activity on your part is requested, how about just filing it as a 'bug' so the apps can be fixed?

Since the HDHomeRun DVR will work and record shows when the Shield is in Sleep Mode, shouldn't the apps (iOS and OSX) be able to access DVR content just as well when the Shield is in sleep mode? How can you have a full featured DVR solution if they can't?

Leaving it ON is not an acceptable solution.

Bob H


Return to “HDHomeRun Software Setup & Troubleshooting (Live & DVR)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kdavis11_1, LAdams and 9 guests