QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Downloads & Instructions
Post Reply
toricred6
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:59 am
x 1

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by toricred6 »

The web page I mean is the one that is installed with the qpkg (ip address/HDHomreDVR).

My plan is to turn off the Synology and just use the QNAP. I tried that this evening and it would only connect directly to the HDHR devices (this is through Kodi).

demonrik
Posts: 1466
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 28

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

toricred6 wrote: Wed Aug 04, 2021 5:44 pm The web page I mean is the one that is installed with the qpkg (ip address/HDHomreDVR).

My plan is to turn off the Synology and just use the QNAP. I tried that this evening and it would only connect directly to the HDHR devices (this is through Kodi).
Ah - I think I know what you mean now..
You only see the DVR recorder on the Synology listed at <qnap_up>/HDHomeRunDVR
That makes sense.

OK - the issue here is the DVR is not starting on the QNAP.
We need to resolve that..
Once it does - then you will see both listed.
Then you can either disable the Synology, or set the RecordStreamsMax = 0 on the synology until you are ready to disable it.

I've done a clean install on my NAS here after an update to latest QTS as you have.
And I see an issue on installing which is breaking the creation of the share, and thus the permissions - hence your problem.
I'll need to investigate and get back to you on a fix.

toricred6
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:59 am
x 1

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by toricred6 »

Thanks for looking at this. Should I remove your .qpkg on the QNAP for now?

demonrik
Posts: 1466
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 28

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

toricred6 wrote: Wed Aug 04, 2021 6:02 pm Thanks for looking at this. Should I remove your .qpkg on the QNAP for now?
it's not doing any harm since it can't start.
You can leave it there until I post new version or remove.

Should be noted for others too.. latest 4.5.4.1741 QTS is broken for NEW installs. but upgrade to 4.5.4.1741 is OK.

demonrik
Posts: 1466
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 28

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

well some good news..
It's working on latest QTS

bad news - I didn't change anything.

I did complete clean install and it just worked.
Did it 5 times and it worked every time.

There is a very minor bug - seems to have been introduced recently, so released a new 1.0.5 update for that anyways (I got it working before I fixed this bug)
Not announcing it as the fix is very small.
I just wonder if that bug causes the installer to fail every so often.
Anyway you can find it on usual sites.

There is still one problem on my NAS - for some reason Am not getting the little icons on the AppCenter to stop and start or remove the app.
Am trying to debug that now and see is there something new added that I need to manage.
SSH to the NAS and stop/start via qpkg_service is still working, example:

Code: Select all

qpkg_service stop HDHomeRunDVR
If you need to remove the package and the icons aren't there in AppCenter - this is how you do it from SSH command line

Code: Select all

$(getcfg HDHomeRunDVR Install_Path -f /etc/config/qpkg.conf)/.uninstall.sh
rmcfg HDHomeRunDVR-f /etc/config/qpkg.conf
The first command looks up the Install_Path parameter for HDHomeRunDVR as recorded by the appcenter into the QPKG configuration.. Then calls the private .uninstall.sh script to remove the package
The second command removes the data from the config file
You will still need to remove the Share folder from the Control Panel -> Shared Folders

When installing the QPKG.
The better way to debug what is going on is to do it via SSH.
I.e. place the package somewhere on the NAS.
SSH to the NAS and then execute the package, i.e.

Code: Select all

sh ./HDHomeRunDVR_1.0.5.qpkg 
You get a much richer output of what is happening, and will hopefully see any errors.
Have tried to do similar to Synology logging - but isn't available :(
Last edited by demonrik on Fri Aug 06, 2021 9:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

toricred6
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:59 am
x 1

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by toricred6 »

So I tried installing it and got the following error at the end:

/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/hdhomerun_record: line 10: /tmp/hdhomerun_record_arm: cannot execute binary file

demonrik
Posts: 1466
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 28

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

toricred6 wrote: Thu Aug 05, 2021 5:22 pm So I tried installing it and got the following error at the end:

/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/HDHomeRunDVR/hdhomerun_record: line 10: /tmp/hdhomerun_record_arm: cannot execute binary file
Interesting...
Could be permissions, could be binary comparability with your CPU.
Can you check permissions

Code: Select all

ls -l /tmp/hdhome*

toricred6
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:59 am
x 1

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by toricred6 »

-rw-rw-rw- 1 admin administrators 562 2021-08-05 18:39 /tmp/hdhomerundvr_install.log
-rwxr-xr-x 1 hdhomerundvr hdhomerundvr 522716 2021-06-24 11:08 /tmp/hdhomerun_record_arm*


I am logged in as admin.

toricred6
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:59 am
x 1

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by toricred6 »

Did you mean to put a ) at the end of the first line in uninstalling?

toricred6
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:59 am
x 1

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by toricred6 »

Never mind, I found the ) that I missed.

demonrik
Posts: 1466
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 28

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

toricred6 wrote: Thu Aug 05, 2021 5:40 pm -rw-rw-rw- 1 admin administrators 562 2021-08-05 18:39 /tmp/hdhomerundvr_install.log
-rwxr-xr-x 1 hdhomerundvr hdhomerundvr 522716 2021-06-24 11:08 /tmp/hdhomerun_record_arm*


I am logged in as admin.
Permissions are all good
Try getting a version or status with the /tmp/hdhomerun_record_arm binary
I suspect it will fail as before.
And if so we'll need Silicondust help here since is arm but failing to exec.
Could be that the A57 core in the CPU is causing issues

toricred6
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:59 am
x 1

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by toricred6 »

As you suspected it wouldn't give me the status or version. I did notice in the install log that it says it is using the release instead of the beta.

toricred6
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:59 am
x 1

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by toricred6 »

One other thing is that it's showing the symbol that it hasn't been digitally signed in the Application Center so I wonder if that is part of the problem.

demonrik
Posts: 1466
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:03 am
Device ID: 108042A1, 10814D8E
x 28

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by demonrik »

toricred6 wrote: Thu Aug 05, 2021 6:22 pm One other thing is that it's showing the symbol that it hasn't been digitally signed in the Application Center so I wonder if that is part of the problem.
Nope. It will still work.
toricred6 wrote: Thu Aug 05, 2021 6:14 pm As you suspected it wouldn't give me the status or version. I did notice in the install log that it says it is using the release instead of the beta.
Did it say it can't execute again?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9947
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 26

Re: QNAP QPKG for DVR Record Engine

Post by signcarver »

That error often comes if /tmp is mounted as noexec but for some reason I thought this package moved such out of /tmp. I'd check fstab. I know a couple of years ago I saw a lot of updates to nas's doing this.

Post Reply