Sequence error

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
x-cimo
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:40 am

Sequence error

Post by x-cimo »

Hello!

What could be the cause of this?

"C:\Program Files\Silicondust\HDHomeRun\hdhomerun_config.exe" 10371AB6 save /tuner0 null
...............................................................................................................ss....................................................................................................sssssssssssssssss.ssssss.sssssssssssssssssssssssssss......sss..............ss.............................................................s.ss...s...s......sssssss..sssss.sss.......s.ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss.ss...............................................ss......ssssssss.sssss..s.........ss.......ss..sss.......s...ss.............................................................s....s..............s....ssss.s.s..s.........sss..ssss..ssss.ss.s.........s.....sn....nn...s.sssssssssssssssssssss.ss...ss...............sssssss.sss.sss.sssssssssssssssss.sss.ss..s...sss.sssss.......ssss.ss..s....ssssssss..........................................s.ssss.ssssssssssssssssss..........s..............................................sssssss..sss...................................s....sss...ssssssssssssssssssssssss.ss...s..s......................ss..s......ss..............ssssss.............ss.s.......................................ss.ss...ss....s............s.ssssssss......s..sss.s.s......ss...ss...........s.....s..........................s...............s.ss......s............................s.........sss.ssssss.ssss..ssss....ss..sss...ss.s...s..s.s...s..........s.s...ss.......s.....ssss...sssssss.sssss................................................s..........s.................................ss...................................ss...s......s..................................................................................................................s............................s.....................................ssss......................s...............s........................s..ss.........ss...........s.....................................................................s.......sss..................................................................................sss...ssss.sss.s....s...s...s......s.......sssss..ssss.......sss............sssssss..s.....ss.......ss......s..sss..........ss.............
-- Video statistics --
3983829 packets received, 0 overflow errors, 29 network errors, 0 transport errors, 5064 sequence errors

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 16937
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 46

Re: Sequence error

Post by jasonl »

Each packet of data has a 4 bit counter (corresponding to the numbers 0-15) in it, with the counter going up by 1 with each successive packet, then starting back over at 0 after it hits 15. This gives the receiving end a way to identify if data is missing from the broadcast, as instead of going 3 4 5 6 it might go 3 4 5 7. That missing one is identified by the HDHomeRun as a sequence error. This most commonly occurs with certain cable providers that output incorrect data on one random line of data, which doesn't actually cause any problems since it is not something that is needed to receive or play back the channel. It can also occur on OTA broadcasts when the station's encoder is misconfigured and is outputting 2 different variations of the same set of data (for example, one might identify that a particular channel has 1 video and 1 audio track while the other might say it has 1 video and 2 audio tracks). Additionally, it can indicate reception errors with a translator/repeater station. For example, in the state of Utah, there are only a couple TV stations outside the greater Salt Lake City metro area, but all of the major SLC stations operate networks of translators, where they put an antenna, receiver, and transmitter on top of a mountain with line of sight to the main broadcast location and rebroadcast the signal down into the valley, then have another setup on the next mountain over that sends it down into the next valley, and so on until nearly every populated place in the state (and a few in neighboring states) has a good set of OTA channels available. If one of these sites has trouble receiving the upstream broadcast due to reception problems, those would show up on the HDHomeRun as a t for transport error. Those corrupted packets do not get retransmitted at all, turning them into s for anyone receiving that retransmission or any retransmissions of that retransmission.

x-cimo
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:40 am

Re: Sequence error

Post by x-cimo »

That is a very comprehensive answer!

I'm getting major blocking/artefact on two channels which are owned by the same company.

All other 10 channels from other companies are fine without a error and coming from the same antenna.

This started after a storm about two weeks ago.

People with antenna directly connected to a tv don't see issues but those with hdhomerun get issues. I think the issue is at the source but I'm trying to explain it to them

Thanks

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 16937
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 46

Re: Sequence error

Post by jasonl »

Can you save a capture of about 30 seconds using that same command, except replacing null with an actual filename, then upload that to a file storage site like Dropbox, Google Drive, or OneDrive, set the permissions so that anyone with the link can open it, then email the link to support at silicondust dot com along with a link to this thread so we know what it is? We can look at the file with some other tools and see what exactly is missing.

Post Reply