Connect 4K, display ATSC 1.0 simulcast if ATSC 3.0 DRMd?

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Post Reply
keitheva
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2023 2:08 pm

Connect 4K, display ATSC 1.0 simulcast if ATSC 3.0 DRMd?

Post by keitheva »

I thought I read somewhere (re the Flex 4K) that if an ATSC 3.0 channel is DRMd, then the ATSC 1.0 simulcast would display instead, but all I see is the "can't display this" message. Did I misread something, or is this a Flex 4K feature not supported in the Connect 4K, or something?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 11092
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 38

Re: Connect 4K, display ATSC 1.0 simulcast if ATSC 3.0 DRMd?

Post by signcarver »

Nothing like that in the HDHomeRun (viewing) app... perhaps you were thinking of Channels which will frequently change to alternatives if it can't display or tune a particular channel or were thinking of the HDHomeRun DVR that will record the task from another channel (though may have to be properly marked as DRM) unless instructed to use specific channels.

keitheva
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2023 2:08 pm

Re: Connect 4K, display ATSC 1.0 simulcast if ATSC 3.0 DRMd?

Post by keitheva »

Wish I could remember where I saw that. Anyway, thanks for the info, it is what it is!

keitheva
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2023 2:08 pm

Re: Connect 4K, display ATSC 1.0 simulcast if ATSC 3.0 DRMd?

Post by keitheva »

Ah, this is where I read it, first post in this thread,

viewtopic.php?t=78888&sid=ac4e9fd056f28 ... 5c0a6c105d

"ATSC 3.0 DRM: Some ATSC 3.0 channels may be DRM encrypted and will not work. If an ATSC 3.0 channel is DRM encrypted the HDHomeRun FLEX 4K will use the ATSC 1.0 version of the channel."

Apparently this applies if it's to be a DVR recording, but not a live channel.

Mystery resolved!

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 20195
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 384

Re: Connect 4K, display ATSC 1.0 simulcast if ATSC 3.0 DRMd?

Post by nickk »

For Live TV it will tune the specific channel you request.

When recording the HDHomeRun DVR will fall back to recording ATSC 1.0 if it can't record from ATSC 3.0 (unless you explicitly force the channel in the recording rule).

Post Reply