Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
Phrede
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:19 pm
x 2

Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by Phrede »

On every start up a nag screen pops up about how Windows is configured for stereo. Actually Windows just passes audio digitally out.

How do I stop the nag screen and maintain 5.1 audio out?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 19278
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 193

Re: Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by nickk »

The message indicates Windows is reporting 2 speakers to the app (and isn't doing passthrough).

Can you please turn on "send diagnostic information" in the settings menu then reply back with the Device ID of your HDHomeRun.

Nick

Phrede
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:19 pm
x 2

Re: Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by Phrede »

Understood. But needed, and needed to be confirmed, on EVERY STARTUP?

If the configuration is set to digital passthru channel playback isn't possible (black screen only).

What is the current method of obtaining the Device ID?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 19278
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 193

Re: Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by nickk »

The idea of the message is so you know to fix the speaker configuration in Windows or to configure the app for Stereo Speakers if that is correct. For example any time you install an update to the Nvidia drivers the speaker configuration for HDMI in Windows resets back to stereo and you have to configure Windows for 5.1 speakers again.

The Device ID on printed on the bottom of your HDHomeRun or can be found in the app settings menu under Devices.

Nick

Phrede
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:19 pm
x 2

Re: Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by Phrede »

As of this morning live viewing is not working. Only "recorded" is shown.
On the "devices" screen two scribe devices are shown. One has "(no guide access)" and the other has "New".
This is a new development since enabling "send diagnostic info" as requested.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 19278
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 193

Re: Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by nickk »

What are the device IDs of your HDHomeRun units?

Phrede
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:19 pm
x 2

Re: Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by Phrede »

Nothing labeled Device ID appears on the app setting screens.

The unit is not easily accessible to see a physical label right now.

I miss the old setup software.

I found the Device ID by going to the device via the IP in a browser..... 1540214E

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 19278
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 193

Re: Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by nickk »

If you go into the app settings menu, Devices, does it shows the same Device ID twice?

Phrede
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:19 pm
x 2

Re: Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by Phrede »

Yes it does

Phrede
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:19 pm
x 2

Re: Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by Phrede »

I see now that the number preceding the device description is a "Device ID". I know this now only by matching the number to a device ID discovered a different way.

Without knowing that is the device ID beforehand there is no way of knowing what the unlabeled number is or means.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 19278
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 193

Re: Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by nickk »

Thanks - I am looking into how that could happen.

Can you please turn on "send diagnostic information" in the settings menu of the HDHomeRun app on Windows.

Also if you have an Android phone or iPhone can you please try the HDHomeRun app on your phone to see if it reports your HDHomeRun twice under Settings, Devices.

Nick

Phrede
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:19 pm
x 2

Re: Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by Phrede »

Send diagnostic is on.
I've re-installed the windows app, no difference.

The Android app, Plex, and Kodi (Zuki) are all OK.
The Android app reports the Scribe device only once.

Just for completeness..... A HDHomeRun RECORD (No device ID) also appears in the Devices listing. I assume that is due to the QNAP app. I store recordings on my NAS.

No changes other than enabling send diagnostic info were made prior to this change.

Phrede
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:19 pm
x 2

Re: Stereo Splash Nag Screen

Post by Phrede »

Bump

Post Reply