Old firmware for HDHR3-4DC

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
SIMC
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2023 1:19 pm

Old firmware for HDHR3-4DC

Post by SIMC »

I made the mistake to update the firmware on my HDHR3-4DC to 20221205
It was working perfectly on 20220822 (I'm not 100% sure is was 20220822..) So where can I find the 20220822 firmware for the HDHR3-4DC again?

HDHR3-4DC is working and there is picture and sound. I only use it with TVHeadEnd and it has worked for years without any problems.
I updated the firmware on the HDHR3-4DC to 20221205 and now I get "no streams available" in TVHeadEnd after some time.
TVHeadEnd is not streaming anything, but HDHR3-4DC is using all 4 tuners. So it looks like the HDHR3-4DC does not releasing the tuners after use.
The only thing that has changed is the update of firmware on the HDHR3-4DC

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 19323
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 195

Re: Old firmware for HDHR3-4DC

Post by nickk »

The firmware cannot be downgraded. We are not tracking any issues with 20221205.

It sounds like TVHeadEnd is not releasing the tuners... we can check a few things - can you please run HDHomeRun Setup (Windows) and turn on "send diagnostic information" on the Advanced tab, then post back with the Device ID of your HDHomeRun.

Nick

SIMC
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2023 1:19 pm

Re: Old firmware for HDHR3-4DC

Post by SIMC »

Device ID: 1410EF33

I have turned on "send diagnostic information" in the HDHomeRun Setup application.

I have reboot the HDHR3-4DC and it is working currently.
I'll try to provoke the failure, but it may take a long time (days) to show up.

Thanks for replying @Nick

SIMC
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2023 1:19 pm

Re: Old firmware for HDHR3-4DC

Post by SIMC »

@Nick

I think I found the problem, and it has nothing to do with the HDHomeRun device.

My TVHeadEnd is running on a NAS. The NAS has crashed/rebooted and everything starts up perfectly up again so I didn't notice. But if TVHeadEnd is streaming a channel and is suddenly rebooted without warning the HDHomeRun is still streaming and taking up a tuner. If that happens 4 times, then all tuners on the HDHomeRun are used and locked.

I suspected the firmware on the HDHomeRun to be the issue, as it was the only thing I had changed. But I think hardware issue on the NAS is the problem, as no software has been updated on the NAS.
Thanks for your support and I have found the problem.

Post Reply