ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Post Reply
pungo
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 7:10 pm
Location: Washington DC
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by pungo »

emenindian wrote: Mon May 30, 2022 12:12 pm Fox 5 seems to have audio delay issues no matter which app I am using (HDHomerun Viewer, Channels, etc). Can someone confirm this is a problem with the Fox broadcast?
I get audio delay with OTA and FIOS using HDHomerun Prime on Fox 5, I think it's FOX.

emenindian
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 30, 2022 11:48 am
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by emenindian »

pungo wrote: Mon May 30, 2022 2:03 pm
emenindian wrote: Mon May 30, 2022 12:12 pm Fox 5 seems to have audio delay issues no matter which app I am using (HDHomerun Viewer, Channels, etc). Can someone confirm this is a problem with the Fox broadcast?
I get audio delay with OTA and FIOS using HDHomerun Prime on Fox 5, I think it's FOX.
Thank you for the update, I wish they would fix the issue! Hope they do it by SuperBowl time in 2023!

emenindian
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 30, 2022 11:48 am
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by emenindian »

pungo wrote: Mon May 30, 2022 2:03 pm
emenindian wrote: Mon May 30, 2022 12:12 pm Fox 5 seems to have audio delay issues no matter which app I am using (HDHomerun Viewer, Channels, etc). Can someone confirm this is a problem with the Fox broadcast?
I get audio delay with OTA and FIOS using HDHomerun Prime on Fox 5, I think it's FOX.
I reached out to the FOX 5 engineering team today and to my surprise they immediately fixed the audio delay issue. The audio delay for the Fox 5 ATSC 3.0 broadcast has been corrected.

Pat

cncb
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:56 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by cncb »

KevinM wrote: Fri Dec 17, 2021 9:23 am Is anybody getting surround sound on any of these channels? I saw a mention of it on AVSforum but I myself am only getting 2.0 audio whenever I check. Right now, the video quality between 1.0 and 3.0 is pretty much a wash, but not having 5.1 audio is a deal breaker for me.
All channels seem to still be in 2.0. Does anyone know if we will get 5.1 anytime soon?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 10484
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 34

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by signcarver »

I can't speak directly for your area... previous posts in this thread have indicated both (diagnostics on one channel had the app reporting 2.0 while others stream dara indicated 6 channels. Typically the issue is ac'4 support. Most MUST use the HDHomeRun app to even hope of getting sound but unless your equipment properly supports ac4, that will use cloud transcoding that currently would be stereo.

monroef
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:39 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by monroef »

cncb wrote: Tue Aug 16, 2022 2:06 pm
KevinM wrote: Fri Dec 17, 2021 9:23 am Is anybody getting surround sound on any of these channels? I saw a mention of it on AVSforum but I myself am only getting 2.0 audio whenever I check. Right now, the video quality between 1.0 and 3.0 is pretty much a wash, but not having 5.1 audio is a deal breaker for me.
All channels seem to still be in 2.0. Does anyone know if we will get 5.1 anytime soon?
I'm still getting 5.1 in DC and 2.0 in Baltimore.

nsap
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2022 4:19 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by nsap »

greg9x wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 5:30 pm
greg9x wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 4:21 pm WHUT created an account on AVS Forum and says they are working on the issue. Checked a bit ago and still not getting the 3.0 channels, so hopefully soon.
And they are back !
Probably a long shot, but is anybody else currently having issues receiving WHUT? I'm literally in the middle of WHUT and WNUV and I am only seeing the WNUV channels in my HDHR (102.1, 111.1, etc.). Tried to run the debug from a previous comment using <ip>:5004/auto/ch33?format=dbg&duration=60 but Firefox isn't doing anything. Literally my first day with my HDHR, any advice welcome.

edit: the 'not doing anything' was a DNS issue - once I resolved that, I was able to get http://hdhomerun.local:5004/auto/ch33?f ... uration=60 to download a file. If any SD folks want it, I can send it over.
Last edited by nsap on Wed Sep 14, 2022 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 16303
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 41

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by jasonl »

Are you getting WETA 26.x on ATSC 1.0? If so, if you tune that channel in the HDHomeRun app and then check the signal strength and quality on the HDHomeRun's web page, what do they show?

nsap
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2022 4:19 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by nsap »

jasonl wrote: Wed Sep 14, 2022 5:27 pm Are you getting WETA 26.x on ATSC 1.0? If so, if you tune that channel in the HDHomeRun app and then check the signal strength and quality on the HDHomeRun's web page, what do they show?
No WETA either. It shows as channel 31, UHF, 17 miles away at 220 degrees. But I *can* pick up WRC channel 34, UHF, 18 miles away at 220 degrees. Signal for WRC at my antenna's current location is:

Tuner 2 Status
Virtual Channel 4.1 WRC-HD
Frequency 593.000 MHz
Program Number 3
Modulation Lock 8vsb
Signal Strength 69%
Signal Quality 75%
Symbol Quality 100%
Streaming Rate 5.990 Mbps
Resource Lock x.x.x.x

Any thoughts on that? Is this a case for an amplifier and/or LTE/5G filter (I have a passive Mohu Arc 40)? It's confusing to me that I can pick up some DC signals and not others. It's weird because I can see some human-readable text in the ch33 debug output like:
'¤~MÀíY•ËY%q;bÏ„ÿà~èîܾíù³ `çÒm ,E ,b@ :¬ïÿ ÿå­@q²   H Pansfer-Length="3156" Content-Length="24021" Content-Type="application/vnd.oma.bcast.sgdu" Cç
ontent-Encoding="gzip"/>
<fdt:File Content-Location="content0-g0-service5" TOI="296" Transfer-Length="743" Content-Length="2264" Content-Type="application/vnd.oma.bcast.sgdç
u" Content-Encoding="gzip"/>
<fdt:File Content-Location="content0-g0-service3" TOI="300" Transfer-Length="573" Content-Length="2346" Content-Type="application/vnd.oma.bcastç
.sgdu" Content-Encoding="gzip"/>
<fdt:File Content-Location="content1-g0-service1" TOI="299" Transfer-Length="3785" Content-Length="31941" Content-Type="application/vnd.omaç
.bcast.sgdu" Content-Encoding="gzip"/>
<fdt:File Content-Location="serviceFragments-g0" TOI="1" Transfer-Length="445" Content-Length="2644" Content-Type="application/vnd.omç
a.bcast.sgdu" Content-Encoding="gzip"/>
<fdt:File Content-Location="content0-g0-service4" TOI="292" Transfer-Length="652" Content-Length="1917" Content-Type="application/vnç
d.oma.bcast.sgdu" Content-Encoding="gzip"/>
</FDT-Instance>
</EFDT>
<Payload codePoint="128" formatId="1" frag="0" order="false"/>
</SrcFlow>
</çK
GLS>
</RS>
</S-TSID>

------=_Part_285_919517388.1663135204280--

green97
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2022 5:06 am
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by green97 »

WHUT (3.0) on broadcast channel RF33 is working normally as I type this. WETA on RF31 is on the same tower and more powerful, so if you don't see it you should work on your antenna setup.

Before you spend more money (you shouldn't need an amp that close) I suggest opening the program, hdhomerun_config_gui (assuming you're using a windows computer,) setting it to channel 33 and adjusting the antenna until you see a signal. The DC transmitters are clustered in 3 locations so you may have to make minor tweaks for different channels with an inside antenna.

The forums at avsforum.com (HDTV -> Local HDTV Info and Reception -> Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV) might be a better place to visit for reception help.

nsap
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2022 4:19 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by nsap »

green97 wrote: Thu Sep 15, 2022 5:18 am WHUT (3.0) on broadcast channel RF33 is working normally as I type this. WETA on RF31 is on the same tower and more powerful, so if you don't see it you should work on your antenna setup.

Before you spend more money (you shouldn't need an amp that close) I suggest opening the program, hdhomerun_config_gui (assuming you're using a windows computer,) setting it to channel 33 and adjusting the antenna until you see a signal. The DC transmitters are clustered in 3 locations so you may have to make minor tweaks for different channels with an inside antenna.

The forums at avsforum.com (HDTV -> Local HDTV Info and Reception -> Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV) might be a better place to visit for reception help.
Perfect thanks green. I'll tinker with the setup and see what I can do. I'll look into the config tool you mentioned. I just quickly got things plugged in and running last night.

green97
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2022 5:06 am
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by green97 »

nsap wrote: Thu Sep 15, 2022 7:12 am Perfect thanks green. I'll tinker with the setup and see what I can do. I'll look into the config tool you mentioned. I just quickly got things plugged in and running last night.
I should have mentioned the program is in this package, if you haven't installed it:

HDHomeRun Software for Windows

https://www.silicondust.com/support/downloads/

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 16303
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 41

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by jasonl »

I would expect a better signal 18 miles from the tower even with a basic antenna like that. Definitely worth spending some time trying different locations and orientations.

nsap
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2022 4:19 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by nsap »

jasonl wrote: Thu Sep 15, 2022 5:16 pm I would expect a better signal 18 miles from the tower even with a basic antenna like that. Definitely worth spending some time trying different locations and orientations.
I got an amp just to see what else I could pick up in the area. Found the config app green mentioned previously, moved the antenna around. Was able to go from 59/48/47 on WETA strength/quality/symbol to 88/82/100 on WHUT. I didn't record the original values for WHUT. Before the amp, signal quality was suffering but I was still able to pick up WHUT just moving the antenna around, but I jumped from 41 channels to 67! I thought I had aimed it out the window in the right direction of the tower but I guess my aim was off or something. The config app was a huge help, I wish it was advertised more - I didn't see it when I was doing some research into HDHR before buying but now... wow this is amazing. Thanks for the feedback all, really appreciate the helpful tips!

emenindian
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 30, 2022 11:48 am
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD

Post by emenindian »

Anyone currently experiencing difficulty receiving CBS on ATSC 3.0? My HDHomeRun times out while tuning to it, similar issue with my Channels App on my Apple TV 4. Not a signal strength issue as Fox, NBC, and other lighthouse channels coming in just fine at above 60% signal strength.

Post Reply