Device Discover Broadcast

Want to write your own code to work with a HDHomeRun or work with the HDHomeRun DVR? We are happy to help with concepts, APIs, best practices.
Post Reply
NOYB
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:12 am

Device Discover Broadcast

Post by NOYB »

Is it possible to pass MAC/IP address/device ID to the utilities hdhomerun_config_gui.exe and hdhomerun_setup.exe and avoid a broadcast to find the device?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 18765
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 152

Re: Device Discover Broadcast

Post by nickk »

You can from the hdhomerun_config command line utility...

hdhomerun_config [device id] get help
hdhomerun_config [ip addr] get help

It will still do a discover but it will be a discover targeted at the specified IP address so will cross a router.

NOYB
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:12 am

Re: Device Discover Broadcast

Post by NOYB »

Using device id still does a broadcast.

Would like to avoid broadcast with the config gui utility too.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 16303
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 41

Re: Device Discover Broadcast

Post by jasonl »

The only way to not broadcast is to use the command line and specify the IP. It is not possible in the GUI or other apps.

Post Reply