Issues with HDHOMERUN responding

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
Ctaylor23
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 5:04 pm

Issues with HDHOMERUN responding

Post by Ctaylor23 »

When running the app; it seems everything is blocky. Nothing changed. It also quits responding


HDHomeRun SCRIBE DUO
Model: HDVR-2US-1TB
Device ID: 151016BB
Firmware: 20210624

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 17420
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 97

Re: Issues with HDHOMERUN responding

Post by nickk »

The first thing that jumps out in the log is your signal strength is 142% which is well above maximum spec for cable TV equipment.

What is the cable/splitter/amplifier layout?

Nick

Ctaylor23
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 5:04 pm

Re: Issues with HDHOMERUN responding

Post by Ctaylor23 »

I do have an amp at the d Marc before the cables are dispersed through the house. I can add a splitter before the duo. What level of -db would do the trick, -7db?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 17420
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 97

Re: Issues with HDHOMERUN responding

Post by nickk »

You are currently at around +25dBmV. Typically installers aim for -5dBmV to 0dBmV at each outlet.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9999
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 28

Re: Issues with HDHOMERUN responding

Post by signcarver »

Most likely you want to remove the amp entirely

Ctaylor23
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 5:04 pm

Re: Issues with HDHOMERUN responding

Post by Ctaylor23 »

Your support has always been amazing. You hit the nail on the head. Too much power. Thanks again!

Post Reply