Signal Strength too strong?

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
NLSurfer
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2021 4:42 pm

Signal Strength too strong?

Post by NLSurfer »

Hi All,

I have FIOS TV connected using a cable card to a HDHomeRun Prime. I connected the Prime to a sever running Plex and use Plex for TV watching/recording. I've had some issues with the tuner stuttering and buffering (circle on the screen with a short pause) when watching live TV. When I went to look at the signal strength I was surprised to find it appeared very strong around 14dBmv. Is this too strong and could it be causing the issue? If so is there a way to attenuate the signal?

Thank you

Image

Online
signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9674
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 28

Re: Signal Strength too strong?

Post by signcarver »

Though it is high, I would first look at things without plex and see if you have a similar problem.

Plex won't work with the drm protected channels but occasionally may get a few seconds before it kicks in. With fios that is usually hbo/max and the national "fox" cable channels.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 2049
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 52

Re: Signal Strength too strong?

Post by NedS »

We would like to get some diagnostic data:
  1. Please go to the http://my.hdhomerun.com/ site
  2. Click your HDHomeRun's device ID
  3. If it tells you that a firmware update is available, please install it
  4. Click System Status
  5. Check the Send diagnostic information box
  6. Go back one page
  7. Click Channel Lineup
  8. Click on Detect Channels

Reply back to this post and provide us the device ID of your HDHomeRun and we will check the logs. You can find the device ID at the top of the my.hdhomerun.com web page as well as on a label on the bottom of the HDHomeRun itself.

NLSurfer
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2021 4:42 pm

Re: Signal Strength too strong?

Post by NLSurfer »

Thank you for the replies.

I don't normally watch the DRM protected channels, FOX and FXX. I also have all the non-HD channels 'X' off in channel lineup within the tuner.

I have rescanned the channel line up and checked send diagnostics as requested. My device ID is 13148153 and my firmware is up to date.

Thank you.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 2049
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 52

Re: Signal Strength too strong?

Post by NedS »

The actual signal strength appears to be poking around 120%, which is likely too hot for the PRIME. An in-line attenuator should help, or even a coaxial splitter can be used in a pinch (probably not great for long term, but good enough to test with).

NLSurfer
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2021 4:42 pm

Re: Signal Strength too strong?

Post by NLSurfer »

Thank you for looking into that for me. Do you recommend a certain dB for an attenuator? I see on Amazon they have them in 3,6,10,12,17 dB attenuation.

Thanks.

Ken.F
Posts: 2384
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA
x 10

Re: Signal Strength too strong?

Post by Ken.F »

NLSurfer wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 6:57 pm Do you recommend a certain dB for an attenuator? I see on Amazon they have them in 3,6,10,12,17 dB attenuation.
I'd get a 3dB and a 6dB attenuator. Try the 3 first and if that isn't enough swap it for the 6. If the signal is still strong you can combine them for 9dB attenuation.

NLSurfer
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2021 4:42 pm

Re: Signal Strength too strong?

Post by NLSurfer »

Thank you for the advice. I order a 10 pack of 3db coax attenuators off eBay. I'll try a couple different combos as suggested.

Post Reply