ATSC 3.0 Portland - 2020

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Locked
helloworld321
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 7:36 pm
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by helloworld321 »

KU7PDX wrote: Tue Nov 10, 2020 6:21 pm
adaptive wrote: Mon Nov 09, 2020 12:30 am I wish the local stations would do a better job of communicating when they plan on starting to broadcast any programming in 4K. I am so curious to see the quality of the broadcast.
As soon as the networks start broadcasting in 4K (ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, PBS), you'll see it start coming to local markets. It will be well publicized too.
If two football games (NFL + NCAA) games are broadcast on any combination of the four networks via OTT ATSC 3.0, per week, before the 2024 Olympics, I'll eat a lemon.

The national networks have no imminent interest in spending money to enable 4K broadcasts. Neither do the local stations. Don't expect anything until 2025, at the earliest.

csdesigns
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 21

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by csdesigns »

codezilla wrote: Mon Oct 19, 2020 9:21 pm When I load the streams in TSReader, I'm seeing the same PID's, and I get the same playback on the ROKU app.
Can I ask what version of TSReader you are using? I let my support lapse so I am stuck at 2.8.54a atm. I have tried to tune into the ATSC 3.0 frequency in my area but if fails. If this is something that is now supported in 2.8.55, I guess I finally have a reason to renew my license...

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15482
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 38

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by jasonl »

Keep in mind that ATSC 3 doesn't use transport streams, and the ones you do get from the HDHomeRun are being generated on the fly so that ATSC 3 broadcasts can be received by apps that haven't been updated to support ATSC 3 (i.e. literally everything). You can use the HTTP source in TSReader to tune individual channels and see what the HDHomeRun is generating, but that's the closest you're going to get to actual analysis until someone convinces Rod it's worth his time to write the code to support ATSC 3.

csdesigns
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 21

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by csdesigns »

jasonl wrote: Thu Dec 10, 2020 5:48 pm Keep in mind that ATSC 3 doesn't use transport streams, and the ones you do get from the HDHomeRun are being generated on the fly so that ATSC 3 broadcasts can be received by apps that haven't been updated to support ATSC 3 (i.e. literally everything). You can use the HTTP source in TSReader to tune individual channels and see what the HDHomeRun is generating, but that's the closest you're going to get to actual analysis until someone convinces Rod it's worth his time to write the code to support ATSC 3.
Thanks for the explanation. Yeah, I wasn't thinking clearly enough on how to interface with these new channels through TSReader. I had gotten pretty accustomed/lazy to just using the builtin 8VSB module that he created. Regardless, I'll be updating the license today – excellent tool at such an incredible value.

ebo
Posts: 612
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:58 pm
Device ID: 1016F746, 101C8CF9, 1041F134, 10532394
x 3

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by ebo »

Those who want to see what the current version of TSReader (2.8.55, 8/28/2019) can do with ATSC 3.0 without having to buy or upgrade it can download the free version, TSReader Lite. Of course a number of the paid-version features are disabled, such as the ability to change RF channels without exiting the program and restarting it. But that's to encourage those who use the program often to buy it.

Trip
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Alexandria, VA, USA
x 1
Contact:

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by Trip »

ebo wrote: Fri Dec 11, 2020 9:35 am Those who want to see what the current version of TSReader (2.8.55, 8/28/2019) can do with ATSC 3.0 without having to buy or upgrade it can download the free version, TSReader Lite. Of course a number of the paid-version features are disabled, such as the ability to change RF channels without exiting the program and restarting it. But that's to encourage those who use the program often to buy it.
TSReader does not support ATSC 3.0 so far as I know.

- Trip

csdesigns
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 21

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by csdesigns »

Correct, but I still don’t mind supporting the app and developer.

Trip
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Alexandria, VA, USA
x 1
Contact:

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by Trip »

Oh yes, absolutely. Rod is a good guy who makes an amazing product. I use it pretty much every day. ;)

- Trip

darcilicious
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:08 pm
Location: Portland, OR
x 17

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by darcilicious »

Is anyone else having issues with 2.1 / 6.1 / 32.1 (all on RF 33) being detected/labeled as ATSC 3.0 /HEVC by the CONNECT 4K? I just noticed it this afternoon while watching the NFL game on CBS (6.1). I don't recall the last time I did a rescan but I just did one and no change. The line-up shows those channels as HD only and tuning any of those channels only uses tuners 2 or 3.

Thoughts?

(I'll try power cycling and rescan next)

robertbaetke
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2020 4:29 pm
x 6

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by robertbaetke »

Just ran hdhomerun_config_gui and manually tuned tuner 0 to rf ch33 and there is nothing there. They must be off the air.

darcilicious
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:08 pm
Location: Portland, OR
x 17

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by darcilicious »

Thanks!

Lost Dog
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 11:46 pm
x 5

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by Lost Dog »

robertbaetke wrote: Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:22 pm Just ran hdhomerun_config_gui and manually tuned tuner 0 to rf ch33 and there is nothing there. They must be off the air.
Still off the air as of 7:25 Monday morning...

darcilicious
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:08 pm
Location: Portland, OR
x 17

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by darcilicious »

Changes in Portland?

I checked: https://m.rabbitears.info/index.php?req ... 41E4&tno=3 and RF33 channels are broadcasting again and they’re being detected by the CONNECT4K. However, the HDHomeRun app on my iPhone 11 Pro and on my MacBook Air are no longer getting any video/audio from 2.1 (ABC)... Not sure why that’s the only one of three (6.1 and 32.1) that’s not working...

darcilicious
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:08 pm
Location: Portland, OR
x 17

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by darcilicious »

Also, the 20201214 Test Flight release has no audio on any ATSC 3.0 channels on my iPhone 11 Pro; the regular release (20201211) plays audio on all ATSC 3.0 channels (except 2.1 as noted above)

adaptive
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 11:18 am

Re: ATSC 3.0 Portland: QUATRO 4K

Post by adaptive »

helloworld321 wrote: Sat Dec 05, 2020 5:31 am
KU7PDX wrote: Tue Nov 10, 2020 6:21 pm
adaptive wrote: Mon Nov 09, 2020 12:30 am I wish the local stations would do a better job of communicating when they plan on starting to broadcast any programming in 4K. I am so curious to see the quality of the broadcast.
As soon as the networks start broadcasting in 4K (ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, PBS), you'll see it start coming to local markets. It will be well publicized too.
If two football games (NFL + NCAA) games are broadcast on any combination of the four networks via OTT ATSC 3.0, per week, before the 2024 Olympics, I'll eat a lemon.

The national networks have no imminent interest in spending money to enable 4K broadcasts. Neither do the local stations. Don't expect anything until 2025, at the earliest.
You might very well be right. I was hoping to make good use of it during the 2021 Tokyo Olympics. I think that at this point, given the rate of development of the app for Android\iOS\+ 3rd party devices and amount of 4K content being broadcasted by the local stations, it might be best to make changes to the HDHomerRun software so it can display the channels that broadcast in ATSC 3.0 and ATSC 1.0 separately so we can make use of the ASTC 1.0 broadcast.

Locked