ATSC 3.0: Dallas

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Post Reply
rayik
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 11:13 am
Location: DFW
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by rayik »

*** EDIT ***

Uing a new Android device running Android 10 HDHomerun app displays the four HVEC channels fine. It's an old Android device running 7.1.2 ((Nought) that the HDHomerun app displays "audio only."

Also, using Windows 10 HDHomerun app all four channels work fine.

*** END EDIT ***

Original Post:
Using Android HDHomerun app all four HVEC channels are "Audio Only.". (4.1, 23.1, 49.1 and 49.2). It has been that way for days now. Not exactly sure when it started.

Sanjaysinha001
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by Sanjaysinha001 »

Hi,

Trying out the new HDhomerun box today with my 2019 Shield. Getting the Fox 4.1 channel hvec but not hearing anything....is it just me or do I need to configure something?

klyne
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 8:47 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by klyne »

...but not hearing anything....is it just me or do I need to configure something?
Not just you.
The AC-4 audio is proving to be quite the hurdle for most playback devices.
Only way I can get audio is using a Win 10 machine with the HDHomerun app.
https://forum.silicondust.com/forum/vi ... 3&t=74253
Last edited by klyne on Tue Nov 10, 2020 5:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16226
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 73

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by nickk »

Sanjaysinha001 wrote: Fri Nov 06, 2020 11:57 pm Trying out the new HDhomerun box today with my 2019 Shield. Getting the Fox 4.1 channel hvec but not hearing anything....is it just me or do I need to configure something?
Newer Shield - you should be getting audio.
1st-gen Shield - for audio you need a Dolby Atmos TV, receiver, or sound bar, and you need the app update we will be releasing early next week.

Nick

Sanjaysinha001
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by Sanjaysinha001 »

nickk wrote: Sat Nov 07, 2020 7:14 am
Sanjaysinha001 wrote: Fri Nov 06, 2020 11:57 pm Trying out the new HDhomerun box today with my 2019 Shield. Getting the Fox 4.1 channel hvec but not hearing anything....is it just me or do I need to configure something?
Newer Shield - you should be getting audio.
1st-gen Shield - for audio you need a Dolby Atmos TV, receiver, or sound bar, and you need the app update we will be releasing early next week.

Nick
I'm getting video on a couple hvec dallas channels but not hearing anything with the new 2019 Shield....any trouble shooting suggestions?

Grumbles
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2020 8:40 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by Grumbles »

My LG is back up and running. Both Video and sound. It takes a few minutes for it to connect and start to play, but it does eventually.

As long as it works, I am going to be happy. No other device works. Sometimes I get video open my Apple TV or Amazon Fire Cube, but no sound and then the video drops out.

raggededge71
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 7:45 pm
x 2

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by raggededge71 »

Sanjaysinha001 wrote: Sat Nov 07, 2020 12:04 pm
nickk wrote: Sat Nov 07, 2020 7:14 am
Sanjaysinha001 wrote: Fri Nov 06, 2020 11:57 pm Trying out the new HDhomerun box today with my 2019 Shield. Getting the Fox 4.1 channel hvec but not hearing anything....is it just me or do I need to configure something?
Newer Shield - you should be getting audio.
1st-gen Shield - for audio you need a Dolby Atmos TV, receiver, or sound bar, and you need the app update we will be releasing early next week.

Nick
I'm getting video on a couple hvec dallas channels but not hearing anything with the new 2019 Shield....any trouble shooting suggestions?
Newer Shield, no sound in Nashville on any HEVC channels either.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1682
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 74

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by NedS »

Another Android app update will be coming out soon to fix some additional audio issues.

mooninite
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:13 pm
x 1

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by mooninite »

@jasonl, do you mind sharing your station engineering contact here or via PM? I'd like to send a message discussing a change of audio codec.

Sanjaysinha001
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by Sanjaysinha001 »

NedS wrote: Sat Nov 07, 2020 8:05 pm Another Android app update will be coming out soon to fix some additional audio issues.
Thanks for that update.

jaraco@jaraco.com
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:38 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by jaraco@jaraco.com »

Is there any way to force the tuner to fall back to HD until these signal/codec issues can be resolved? What about hooking up the ATSC 1 tuner? Would the ATSC 3 tuner need to be disabled in order to get a working signal on these channels?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9318
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 21

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by signcarver »

If you have a non-4k unit their apps (currently) defaults to using that so you wouldn't need such. However that also makes it tough testing atsc-3 capabilities as you can "never" tune such channel in the app. It is said that there are to be upcoming changes in firmware to make such more easily accessible but it would most likely still take a software update to utilize such unless they are (also) planning on a way to turn off ATSC 3.0 channels and/or change default. Many 3rd party apps have ways to manually add channels not included from scan.

The way a channel is requested is <ip-of-tuner>:5004/auto/v# where # is the virtual channel number. The problem is only one channel is in the lineup for that virtual channel number (usually the ATSC 3.0 but it goes by resolution first) so even if you request the virtual channel number from tuner 2 or 3, it will say "invalid channel... tune failed" (a couple of lines in the tuner's log) as it only added the next gen channel and has no concept of where the ATSC 1.0 virtual channel is. Another possible "fix" is to provide an alternate channel number in the ATSC 3.0 listing as a source for tuner 2 and 3 as well as a fallback for apps, possibly in the form of a HDHomeRun protocol channel request that their apps already recognize but the apps would have to change to use such alternative being presented.

hammr25
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 8:26 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by hammr25 »

Tegna, the owners of WFAA bought KMPX which is digital channel 29. This means WFAA will switch from VHF to UHF and from channel 8 to channel 30. The article doesn't say when the actual change is expected.

https://www.rbr.com/tegna-dfw-estrella/

Tegna has tested ATSC 3.0 in other markets so hopefully they'll get it to Dallas eventually.


I wasn't getting HEVC for anything but 49.2 but now have it for Fox 4 and a couple of more spanish stations with the 20201030 firmware.

wilme2
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:23 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by wilme2 »

Watching Fox 4.1 / ATSC 3.0 this afternoon (TCU vs WV) on Win 10 app and the signal is nice and strong (~90%) and the Signal and Symbol quality are perfect (100%). Only a few occasional hiccups in the stream. BUT about every 15 minutes the app just completely stops and freezes on a frame. It never recovers and I have to change channels and then change back to get it working again. I am running the Config GUI on another Win 10, and the signal does not noticeably degrade when the app locks up. Seems to be an issue with the app, not the signal or tuner.

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15369
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm
x 12

Re: ATSC 3.0: Dallas

Post by jasonl »

wilme2 wrote: Sat Nov 14, 2020 12:23 pm I wish I had a way to see the format being transmitted- I think the framerate might be a little low.
Replying to your post from the other thread here since it's a Dallas-specific thing. You are correct, all 3 of the 1080p channels on KSTR are being transmitted at a reduced framerate (49.2's is correct). I'm trying to get the station to do something about it, but so far they don't seem to think there's a problem. It's very evident if you put an NFL game on 4.1 or soccer game on 23.1 or 49.1 from the legacy ATSC broadcast side by side with the ATSC 3 broadcast.

Post Reply