Can't update firmware

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
wysocki
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:33 pm

Can't update firmware

Post by wysocki »

On my Homerun Extend, I'm running firmware 20200225 and I see that "Release 20200907 is ready to install...". When I click on Install and Reboot, the screen quickly flashes then says Up To Date. But the version number doesn't change. I've tried it a a few times using different browsers and different computers. No luck.
I've even tried to reinstall the software. It goes to the Microsoft web store and says it will update the device, but I see no change happening in the software/firmware.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9319
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 21

Re: Can't update firmware

Post by signcarver »

I just tried on an extend... it took a while longer than other devices... it did seem to do what you suggested but at the bottom of the screen it stated updating firmware for about 90-120 seconds then said rebooting for about another 90 seconds.

The software package to update isn't the app from the windows store but the full software package from SD (if it goes to the store you generally know you chose the wrong one).

wysocki
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:33 pm

Re: Can't update firmware

Post by wysocki »

I now downloaded the right setup version for windows and at startup it says "upgrading firmware..." and also reports that the setup version is 20200907. However, when I go to my.hdhomerun.com it still shows 20200225 and says the firmware upgrade is "up to date". The system log says "reset reason = firmware upgrade" but it just never appears that 20200907 is confirmed anywhere.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1689
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 74

Re: Can't update firmware

Post by NedS »

2020-09-10 21:22:19 20200910-14:23:19 DeviceScan status: Upgrading Firmware...
2020-09-10 21:22:19 20200910-14:23:21 hdhomerun_control_upgrade: ERROR: upgrade error
2020-09-10 21:22:19 20200910-14:23:21 Firmware: error upgrading device firmware

Odd, let me check with the boss and see what he says.

wysocki
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:33 pm

Re: Can't update firmware

Post by wysocki »

Any news from the boss yet? I Just spoke with Andrew from SiliconDust on the phone. We deinstalled and reinstalled hdhomerun_windows_20200907.exe from one of my Win10 computers. Browsing to the unit by ip number still shows the old version number:
Image

And the same after clicking the update link:
Image

Here's the system log:

Code: Select all

19700101-00:00:18 System: reset reason = power on
19700101-00:00:18 System: network link 100f
19700101-00:00:19 System: ip address obtained: 192.168.1.87 / 255.255.255.0
20200915-16:57:12 System: time changed from Thu Jan  1 00:00:35 1970 to Tue Sep 15 16:57:12 2020
20200915-17:22:03 Tuner: tuner0 tuning 5.1 KTLA-DT (8vsb:599MHz-3)
I have power cycled the unit and tried with several computers and browsers with the same results. Although the unit appears to be working, it's unsettling to see that an old firmware shows as up to date.
Last edited by wysocki on Wed Sep 16, 2020 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nojava
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:20 am

Re: Can't update firmware

Post by nojava »

I had the same issue today, but when i checked later it had installed!

wysocki
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:33 pm

Re: Can't update firmware

Post by wysocki »

Maybe there's some kind of delay in the works here. Mine still showed the old version today, but I checked the "Send diagnostic information" box and 5 minutes later, it showed the version WAS updated!

rpcameron
Posts: 976
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am
x 4

Re: Can't update firmware

Post by rpcameron »

Could it be your browser was showing a cached copy?

wysocki
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:33 pm

Re: Can't update firmware

Post by wysocki »

Don't think so. Cleared the cache. Tried several different browsers and computers!

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1689
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 74

Re: Can't update firmware

Post by NedS »

wysocki wrote: Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:16 pm Don't think so. Cleared the cache. Tried several different browsers and computers!
Very strange. I can confirm that we show your device now running the updated firmware.

Post Reply