Open subchannels using RF number in VLC.

Help and support with third-party TV software.
Windows Media Center, J River Media Center, Next PVR, MythTV, InstaTV, etc.
Post Reply
FoodLioon
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:22 pm

Open subchannels using RF number in VLC.

Post by FoodLioon »

I would like to open a subchannel on VLC using the RF number in an URL.

Example that opens the first channel:
http://192.168.1.2:5004/tuner1/ch22

Is it possible to launch a subchannel in this manner? VLC Android doesn't have the option to page through the programs like the desktop version as far as I could tell.

Ken.F
Posts: 2320
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA
x 5

Re: Open subchannels using RF number in VLC.

Post by Ken.F »

On a PC open channel 22 in VLC then hit Ctrl+J to show the codec info page. Scroll down and take note of each of the stream number's "Original ID". They will look something like "Original ID:3201". You would open http://192.168.1.2:5004/tuner1/ch22:3201 to go directly to that subchannel.

FoodLioon
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:22 pm

Re: Open subchannels using RF number in VLC.

Post by FoodLioon »

Thank you!

I just grabbed the PIDs off rabbitears.info and it works.

phelme
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 10:18 am

Re: Open subchannels using RF number in VLC.

Post by phelme »

Ken.F wrote: Wed Jul 29, 2020 6:03 am On a PC open channel 22 in VLC then hit Ctrl+J to show the codec info page. Scroll down and take note of each of the stream number's "Original ID". They will look something like "Original ID:3201". You would open http://192.168.1.2:5004/tuner1/ch22:3201 to go directly to that subchannel.
if I may intrude, how is the subchannel tuned with hdhomerun_config? Can it be done any other way than having to use the "program xx" command? i.e. can it be done with one command via "channel"?

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm
x 77

Re: Open subchannels using RF number in VLC.

Post by NedS »

phelme wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 3:52 pm
Ken.F wrote: Wed Jul 29, 2020 6:03 am On a PC open channel 22 in VLC then hit Ctrl+J to show the codec info page. Scroll down and take note of each of the stream number's "Original ID". They will look something like "Original ID:3201". You would open http://192.168.1.2:5004/tuner1/ch22:3201 to go directly to that subchannel.
if I may intrude, how is the subchannel tuned with hdhomerun_config? Can it be done any other way than having to use the "program xx" command? i.e. can it be done with one command via "channel"?
Requesting the URL from the HDHomeRun is all that would be needed.

FoodLioon
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:22 pm

Re: Open subchannels using RF number in VLC.

Post by FoodLioon »

Revisiting this topic.

I see that a different method is documented at https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/http_ap ... f_vchannel

List of frequencies are available on wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pan-Ameri ... requencies The frequency required will be in the middle of the channel.

Edit-You may also need to check rabbitears.info for the physical channel as they may not match the virtual channel.

Post Reply