Kill zombie tuner?

Want to write your own code to work with a HDHomeRun or work with the HDHomeRun DVR? We are happy to help with concepts, APIs, best practices.
Post Reply
drmargarit
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:01 pm

Kill zombie tuner?

Post by drmargarit »

BSOD today while recording. Yay! debugging opportunity. :roll:

When the recording program comes back up, it attempts to restart the recording (http:) but my HDHomerun (quad) thinks it is still busy recording, albeit with a stream rate of "None" so I get "805 All Tuners In Use".

How can I kill these zombie downloads?

drm

drmargarit
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:01 pm

Re: Kill zombie tuner?

Post by drmargarit »

Over the course of 15 minutes, at erratic intervals, the tuners are resurrected from their zombie state and begin recording again. Is there a way to, via http or deprecated methods, to make the tuner box do a reboot/reset?

drm

drmargarit
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:01 pm

Re: Kill zombie tuner?

Post by drmargarit »

Found this gem on a guy's blog:

hdhomerun_config.exe" xxxxxxxxx set /sys/restart self"

I have two recordings going at the moment. Issuing this command kills one of the two recordings with an http timeout but the other keeps going uninterrupted.

Wierdly, If I get four recordings going and issue the command, three of the four reset but one keeps going. Well, data is flowing. I have not looked at the actual recording.
And, wierdly again, the tuner status web page says only three tuners are recording. The fourth has nothing going on.
So, apparently, this command is not the way to go.

drm

Ken.F
Posts: 2291
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: Kill zombie tuner?

Post by Ken.F »

The only way to kill recordings in progress that I know if is to delete the recording tasks then restart the record engine. Once that's done you can add the tasks again.

drmargarit
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:01 pm

Re: Kill zombie tuner?

Post by drmargarit »

The only way to kill recordings in progress that I know if is to delete the recording tasks then restart the record engine. Once that's done you can add the tasks again.
I am not using the SD PVR. It's my own PVR creation partially born out of frustration with my old PVR's high rate of failed recordings. I'm trying to do a better job of recovering from errors, power glitches, etc.

drm

Post Reply