Just bought HDHR5 4DC (EU) TV Tuner Black *100mbit NIC?*

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
wazer
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 11:10 am

Just bought HDHR5 4DC (EU) TV Tuner Black *100mbit NIC?*

Post by wazer » Thu Jan 30, 2020 4:54 pm

So I have a family member that wanted into the HomeRun and cord cut too.

Image

Now we got it home and to our surprised its only 100mbit interface?

How would this work with 4 4k channels running 38-40mbit each?

Why was this NIC downgraded to 100mbit?

On your very own product page it says 100Mb/s which is 800mbit so assuming 1gbit.

https://shopeu.silicondust.com/shop/pro ... hdhr5-4dc/
https://shopeu.silicondust.com/shop/pro ... lto=483090


But checking over local network 100f

https://i.imgur.com/UGlljbw.png

Here you write 100 base TX high speed network
https://www.silicondust.com/product/hdh ... xpand-eu2/

So the new devices has no USB port and the interface is only 100mbit?

Why on earth should any buy the latest generation instead of V1?


What the heck?

jasonl
Posts: 15171
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Just bought HDHR5 4DC (EU) TV Tuner Black *100mbit NIC?*

Post by jasonl » Thu Jan 30, 2020 7:24 pm

Mb is megabits. Lowercase b is bits, uppercase B is bytes.

Cable providers don't transmit channels at 38-40Mb/s, and no cable provider even has 4 4K channels available in the unencrypted format the HDHR5-4DC can receive.

wazer
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 11:10 am

Re: Just bought HDHR5 4DC (EU) TV Tuner Black *100mbit NIC?*

Post by wazer » Fri Jan 31, 2020 2:52 am

jasonl wrote:
Thu Jan 30, 2020 7:24 pm
Mb is megabits. Lowercase b is bits, uppercase B is bytes.

Cable providers don't transmit channels at 38-40Mb/s, and no cable provider even has 4 4K channels available in the unencrypted format the HDHR5-4DC can receive.
That is not true, we have uhd/4k channel unencrypted here and they peak up to 40/Mb/s, been seing that on the device log it self.

Image

They start to roll out mass 4k here in Denmark now by 2020/2021, been said.

And besides the point, not being answering why has the new version been lowered to 100 mbit,

Like me and I assume others, you would like to be future proof for the years coming, why was it downgraded, surely cannot be because of cost, device cost the same or more pricey than the old units?

rpcameron
Posts: 902
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: Just bought HDHR5 4DC (EU) TV Tuner Black *100mbit NIC?*

Post by rpcameron » Fri Jan 31, 2020 6:19 am

For reasons only known to SD, they have decided that 100Mbps is more than enough for their customers. (Anyone remember the 64k argument?)

You'll also find a 100Mbps network connection on their (maybe) forthcoming 6 tuner Prime. And while no US cable provider is currently offering more than 6 4K channels, SD employees have stated that they don't believe that US cable providers will continue to offer 4K over cable, so their choice to only offer a 100Mbps connection on a 6 tuner device in 2020 (2021? 2022?] is perfectly valid ...

wazer
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 11:10 am

Re: Just bought HDHR5 4DC (EU) TV Tuner Black *100mbit NIC?*

Post by wazer » Fri Jan 31, 2020 6:31 am

rpcameron wrote:
Fri Jan 31, 2020 6:19 am
For reasons only known to SD, they have decided that 100Mbps is more than enough for their customers. (Anyone remember the 64k argument?)

You'll also find a 100Mbps network connection on their (maybe) forthcoming 6 tuner Prime. And while no US cable provider is currently offering more than 6 4K channels, SD employees have stated that they don't believe that US cable providers will continue to offer 4K over cable, so their choice to only offer a 100Mbps connection on a 6 tuner device in 2020 (2021? 2022?] is perfectly valid ...
This is EU no US ;)

rpcameron
Posts: 902
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: Just bought HDHR5 4DC (EU) TV Tuner Black *100mbit NIC?*

Post by rpcameron » Fri Jan 31, 2020 9:31 am

wazer wrote:
Fri Jan 31, 2020 6:31 am
rpcameron wrote:
Fri Jan 31, 2020 6:19 am
For reasons only known to SD, they have decided that 100Mbps is more than enough for their customers. (Anyone remember the 64k argument?)

You'll also find a 100Mbps network connection on their (maybe) forthcoming 6 tuner Prime. And while no US cable provider is currently offering more than 6 4K channels, SD employees have stated that they don't believe that US cable providers will continue to offer 4K over cable, so their choice to only offer a 100Mbps connection on a 6 tuner device in 2020 (2021? 2022?] is perfectly valid ...
This is EU no US ;)
I am aware. The point is that they are moving to 100Mbps connections across their product lines, including the announced—but not yet delivered—6 tuner 4K-capable device.

(The prior 3 tuner—and equally 4K-capable—Prime device has a full 1000Mbps connection. The downgrade in network connectivity with the increase of tuners makes little sense.)

shawn_75
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: Just bought HDHR5 4DC (EU) TV Tuner Black *100mbit NIC?*

Post by shawn_75 » Fri Jan 31, 2020 2:41 pm

Given that they're starting from scratch (again) on the 6 tuner PRIME, I'd be surprised to see a 100Mb NIC on the redesign after all the backlash on these forums.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 809
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Just bought HDHR5 4DC (EU) TV Tuner Black *100mbit NIC?*

Post by NedS » Fri Jan 31, 2020 3:05 pm

shawn_75 wrote:
Fri Jan 31, 2020 2:41 pm
Given that they're starting from scratch (again) on the 6 tuner PRIME, I'd be surprised to see a 100Mb NIC on the redesign after all the backlash on these forums.
The PRIME 6's hardware is not starting over from scratch. If anything, the hardware is pretty much finalized.

It's not about the cost of raw components. Using a faster NIC would require moving to a different SoC, which would be a very significant R&D investment for the company. That would basically be starting from scratch, for all of our hardware. If there is sufficient demand for such a product then we'll cross that bridge when we get there, but so far the number of real-world examples for needing more than 100 meg have been lacking.

We know our own sales numbers, we know our real-world performance, and we know broadcasting standards. Everyone who keeps saying that we need gig ethernet can only point to "it might, someday, be needed, maybe" as for why. This is an embedded appliance, not a PC, and people shouldn't get hung up on the specs. These units technically have RAM, and we could throw 16 GB of RAM in there while we're at it, and it wouldn't do anything else either.

The EXPAND and OTA models with 4 tuners, in real world usage, are well served by the existing 100 meg NIC.

Post Reply