How to stop a stuck tuner?

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
eds
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:38 pm
Contact:

How to stop a stuck tuner?

Post by eds » Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:16 pm

Every once in a while my prime tuner gets stuck after a recording has ended. There isn't an obvious way to end a stuck recording.

Using the HDHomerun app or the webpage is there a way to stop a tuner outside of pulling the plug to the prime unit?

jasonl
Expert
Posts: 15176
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: How to stop a stuck tuner?

Post by jasonl » Wed Jan 15, 2020 1:02 pm

What software are you using for recording? Different streaming methods are stopped different ways.

Online
rpcameron
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: How to stop a stuck tuner?

Post by rpcameron » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:29 pm

Sure. There's a simple 2–step process.
  1. First, you need to unlock the tuner. (If the tuner is not locked, this will have no effect. However, it will also not cause any harm.)

    Code: Select all

    hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF set /tuner0/lockkey force
    
    Substitute FFFFFFFF for the DeviceID of the HDHR you wish to unlock; and substitute the appropriate tuner number: tuner0 is the first tuner, tuner1 is the second, etc.
  2. Next, set the tuner to the none channel to clear it:

    Code: Select all

    hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF set /tuner0/vchannel none
    
That ought to to free any stuck tuner. However, some applications may still think that they are still in control and attempt to relock the tuner and tune it again.

For more extreme situations, you can always forcibly reboot the tuner from the command line:

Code: Select all

hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF set /sys/restart self

eds
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: How to stop a stuck tuner?

Post by eds » Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:47 pm

jasonl wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 1:02 pm
What software are you using for recording? Different streaming methods are stopped different ways.
In this case it was Jellyfin.
rpcameron wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:29 pm
Sure. There's a simple 2–step process.
  1. First, you need to unlock the tuner. (If the tuner is not locked, this will have no effect. However, it will also not cause any harm.)

    Code: Select all

    hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF set /tuner0/lockkey force
    
    Substitute FFFFFFFF for the DeviceID of the HDHR you wish to unlock; and substitute the appropriate tuner number: tuner0 is the first tuner, tuner1 is the second, etc.
  2. Next, set the tuner to the none channel to clear it:

    Code: Select all

    hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF set /tuner0/vchannel none
    
That ought to to free any stuck tuner. However, some applications may still think that they are still in control and attempt to relock the tuner and tune it again.

For more extreme situations, you can always forcibly reboot the tuner from the command line:

Code: Select all

hdhomerun_config FFFFFFFF set /sys/restart self
Newbie question, but where am I running these commands? Command line on a windows machine?

Online
rpcameron
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: How to stop a stuck tuner?

Post by rpcameron » Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:27 am

eds wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:47 pm
Newbie question, but where am I running these commands? Command line on a windows machine?
Correct.

eds
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: How to stop a stuck tuner?

Post by eds » Thu Jan 16, 2020 9:40 am

rpcameron wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:27 am
eds wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:47 pm
Newbie question, but where am I running these commands? Command line on a windows machine?
Correct.
Thanks! Will give it a shot the next time it happens.

Post Reply