6 tuner prime soon !!!

A place for people to discuss future hardware and software product news
Post Reply
StraightThruTheHeart
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:37 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by StraightThruTheHeart » Mon Dec 09, 2019 8:49 pm

[posts from this account are not displayed]

StraightThruTheHeart
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:37 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by StraightThruTheHeart » Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:21 am

[posts from this account are not displayed]

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 724
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by NedS » Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:14 pm

StraightThruTheHeart wrote:
Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:21 am
Pointing out that it's 5 years is "trolling".
It's either trolling or really bad math. The first public ETA for the PRIME 6 was for 2018.

mikesalz
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 6:48 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by mikesalz » Wed Dec 11, 2019 8:11 am

jasonl wrote:
Wed Dec 04, 2019 5:22 pm
This kind of development is heavily tailored to the specific CPU because of all the security involved and needing to access model-specific features; it's not just general code that can be moved to a new CPU with minimal effort.
If the Prime models are so tightly coupled to the CPU, what's the plan for when this current CPU is no longer being produced? Another 2 year absence of new Primes?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8680
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by signcarver » Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:01 am

By that time one probably wouldn't use a prime but most likely the replacement won't see a loss of a cpu before production though I am not certain that was the only reason for the 4th gen prime to not hit the market.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 15035
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by jasonl » Wed Dec 11, 2019 1:34 pm

The same is at always is, start development of a new model with sufficient time to have it completed and in production before the old one can no longer be built.

Rickt1962
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by Rickt1962 » Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:08 am

19 more days till 2020 I am betting we won't see it till 2021

Rickt1962
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by Rickt1962 » Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:10 am

techpro2004 wrote:
Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:13 am
I just saw this page here (https://www.silicondust.com/product/hdhomerun-prime-6/). Now that there is a web page for it, can I get a date? Thanks.
Talking about it in 2018 we have 19 more days till 2020 I am betting on 2021 !

StraightThruTheHeart
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:37 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by StraightThruTheHeart » Thu Dec 12, 2019 8:44 pm

[posts from this account are not displayed]

cheapdad00
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 6:38 am

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by cheapdad00 » Fri Dec 13, 2019 7:54 am

ptmuldoon wrote:
Sat Nov 02, 2019 5:37 pm
speedingcheetah wrote:
Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:09 pm
It is a network tuner....used to view TV on computer....not a HDMI device u connect to TV. (like a Rouk or Apple TV)
If u are not familiar with how SD tuners work, I suggest you do some more research.
There is HDHR app and other media server like apps and server software, Like PLex, Emby, Channels DVR, that can be used on steaming boxes to view the tuner on a TV.
Thanks for the response, and yes I am no stranger to the tech, and am running a Proxmox here with multiple containers/VM's including Plex, Unraid (as a VM) , etc, and have an Nvidia Shield, Roku, Raspberry and few others all collecting dust somewhere in the house. And have most things Cat5 wired where possible.

I had just read that for a Samsung TV, supposedly that the HD HomeRun somehow shows up 'next to your hdmi' in the TV inputs when connected to your network. My TV is connected via Cat5 so trying to confirm if I add an HD homerun to the network, will it show up as a input? Or do I need a to use a 3rd party box or app to get it on to the TV.

And pretty sure I read up that the Xbox 1 has an app. So should be good there in another room in the home.

But since the only real difference between the 3 and 6 is just the # of tuners and nothing really else, I will probably try and pick up a Prime 3 and test it out. Besides the box, the cable card should only be a few bucks.

One maybe last question as it has been a while. I am pretty sure a **** cable card is paired to the box? Pretty sure I can't just swap out the card into an HD HomeRun to test out, but would need a second card from my TV (spectrum) provider?
My Samsung TVs (2016 models) see the HD HomeRun boxes via DLNA I believe as they show up as separate inputs. The interface is clunky, but can be streamlined somewhat if you mark your favorite channels and navigate from the Favorites folder under each tuner. Additionally if you have multiple HD Homerun boxes (OTA + cable card - they will show up as different entries on the list as opposed to integrating the 2 channel sources together the way the Android/Windows app does). You may want to have a separate box (FireTV or something) at each TV because the interface is better. With Spectrum, you are better off using the Spectrum app on your Samsung TV. It will give you all of the channels, be native to the TV and most of the cable content is available on demand.

Re: 3 vs 6 tuners, the big difference, and what everyone in the thread is clamoring about is that the 6 tuner Prime is to handle DRM. In my area, Spectrum encrypts all the "cable" channels, so the tuner is pretty much useless for me, as I can get those channels through my SD OTA tuner. In fact, what I am doing now is 1 Spectrum DVR box in bedroom for my wife to use (Spectrum makes you rent 1 box), then Rokus at every other TV (Spectrum app), a SD OTA tuner and DVR subscription to DVR broadcast shows on a WD NAS and then use Spectrum on Demand for any cable content I might want to timeshift. Commercials are a bit of a pain - but oh well.

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 1164
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by nateb » Fri Dec 13, 2019 1:55 pm

cheapdad00 wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 7:54 am
Re: 3 vs 6 tuners, the big difference, and what everyone in the thread is clamoring about is that the 6 tuner Prime is to handle DRM.
Really? If that's the case, then why doesn't everyone just clamor for DRM? There's nothing magical about the 6 tuner Prime. Whenever we come out with DRM recording, the old Prime will likely handle DRM recording exactly the same as the 6 tuner does.

StraightThruTheHeart
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:37 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by StraightThruTheHeart » Fri Dec 13, 2019 2:02 pm

[posts from this account are not displayed]

Ken.F
Posts: 2213
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by Ken.F » Fri Dec 13, 2019 2:18 pm

nateb wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 1:55 pm
Really? If that's the case, then why doesn't everyone just clamor for DRM?
I got tired of clamoring.

StraightThruTheHeart
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:37 pm

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by StraightThruTheHeart » Fri Dec 13, 2019 2:55 pm

[posts from this account are not displayed]

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 1164
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: 6 tuner prime soon !!!

Post by nateb » Fri Dec 13, 2019 3:29 pm

StraightThruTheHeart wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 2:55 pm
Ken.F wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 2:18 pm
nateb wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 1:55 pm
Really? If that's the case, then why doesn't everyone just clamor for DRM?
I got tired of clamoring.
Is it really up for debate that the ability to record DRM is the most anticipated deliverable? Unbelievable.
Well, I mean, yeah. If you want candy, you don't ask for a spoon. If everyone is asking for the Prime 6, we're going to assume they want the Prime 6.

Post Reply