HDHomeRun Connect - poor quality since removing a YouView box

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
MED1975
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:21 am

HDHomeRun Connect - poor quality since removing a YouView box

Post by MED1975 » Thu Nov 07, 2019 7:31 am

Hi

Based in the UK. I have an older HomeRun model. It was previously connected via a set top box i.e. aerial > set top box > HomeRun > switch

When this setup was being used the picture quality was perfect on my TV using the Channels app on my Apple TV. I have since sold the set top box and subscribed to Channels for its own DVR facility. Since then the picture quality from the HomeRun is awful - continuous drop outs and so on.

What was sending the signal through the set top box doing that is not happening now? Can I rectify this without adding something similar back!

Thanks...

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8535
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: HDHomeRun Connect - poor quality since removing a YouView box

Post by signcarver » Thu Nov 07, 2019 7:53 am

Often in the UK you need a filter (see viewtopic.php?t=72586#p352560 ). I suggest enabling the sending of diagnostics data and running a scan then post your deviceID so the folks at sd can take a look... you would probably also want to watch a problematic channel for 5-10 minutes.

The later models often appear to be much more sensitive to overload and it is possible you need to attenuate the signal down. The need for this would be if your signal strength is shown as 100% as you wouldn't know how much above 100% it is.

MED1975
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:21 am

Re: HDHomeRun Connect - poor quality since removing a YouView box

Post by MED1975 » Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:07 am

Thanks - I've ordered one, lets see if it helps!

Post Reply