Adding a HomeRun DVR

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Post Reply
rcoups@comcast.net
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:41 am

Adding a HomeRun DVR

Post by rcoups@comcast.net » Sun Sep 29, 2019 7:53 am

I am using a HomeRun Quatro with a rooftop antenna and it is working pretty well. If I get the SiliconDust HDHomeRun - SERVIO 2TB DVR, how is this installed in my system ?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8531
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Adding a HomeRun DVR

Post by signcarver » Sun Sep 29, 2019 8:12 am

attach it to your network just like the quatro should be (it would need to be on the same network as the quatro and the client so if you did something "unconventional" such as connecting the tuner directly to a computer's ethernet port, you may need to rethink your network). Use the hdhomerun software (win10, android, mac, ios... on win 7/8 or linux one would use kodi and an add on)

rcoups@comcast.net
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:41 am

Re: Adding a HomeRun DVR

Post by rcoups@comcast.net » Mon Sep 30, 2019 7:19 am

Thanks for your input. Do you know for a fact that the software for the Servio works with Windows 7 ? Yes, I am a Windows 7 holdout.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8531
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Adding a HomeRun DVR

Post by signcarver » Mon Sep 30, 2019 7:50 am

On windows 7/8, one uses kodi and the add-on to access the dvr as the "VIEW" app on it does not support the dvr (i call it "view" as on win7/8 it is essentially unchanged from when it was called view and to avoid confusion in calling it HDHomeRun which is what the win 10 app is called, though sd has renamed it to such on win7/8 as well even though it doesn't have the dvr support.

rcoups@comcast.net
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:41 am

Re: Adding a HomeRun DVR

Post by rcoups@comcast.net » Mon Sep 30, 2019 9:52 am

Thanks for your reply. Sounds like as long as I continue to use Windows 7, I must go with the Tablo 4 DVR.

rcoups@comcast.net
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:41 am

Re: Adding a HomeRun DVR

Post by rcoups@comcast.net » Mon Oct 14, 2019 6:08 pm

If I just use my HD Homerun Quatro and the HD Homerun DVR software, will that work on my Windows 7 laptop ?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8531
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Adding a HomeRun DVR

Post by signcarver » Mon Oct 14, 2019 6:44 pm

The dvr engine works on windows 7... but what most refer to as the software does not access the dvr engine or set up the rules for the engine to follow and one is expected to use kodi.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Adding a HomeRun DVR

Post by NedS » Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:13 pm

rcoups@comcast.net wrote:
Mon Oct 14, 2019 6:08 pm
If I just use my HD Homerun Quatro and the HD Homerun DVR software, will that work on my Windows 7 laptop ?
To be clear:

The recording software will run on Windows 7.

Viewing live TV: Windows 7 + HDHomeRun app

Viewing live TV and setting/viewing recordings: Windows 10 + HDHomeRun app, or Windows 7 + Kodi + HDHomeRun add-on.

Post Reply