Video Freezes

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
filosad
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:00 pm

Video Freezes

Post by filosad » Fri Sep 20, 2019 7:28 am

Hello,

I have the SD Prime with the following info:
Model: HDHR3-CC
Device ID: 131DDA40
Firmware: 20190621 (f/w was updated on 09/19).

New notebook pc running the latest version of Win10 (ver. 1903)

When launching the SD app, picture constantly freezes. When using a Apple Mac, there are no issues with video freezing. Both pc's (Win10 & Apple Mac) have VLC installed. Any assistance would be appreciated.
Thanks, filosad

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by NedS » Fri Sep 20, 2019 6:14 pm

How fast is the WiFi on the Windows laptop? Do you have an 802.11ac connection, and is it using the 5Ghz band?

filosad
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by filosad » Thu Oct 03, 2019 1:44 pm

Yes, I am using 802.11ac connection, and is it using the 5Ghz band. I noticed that if I re-scan the channels from the SD software, it correct the problem for a short-time than I have to re-scan again.

Other Issues:
1. Missing stations, after doing a re-scan, channel re-appears.
2. Unable to play channels, frequent issue

Also, what is the difference between the following:
HDHomeRun App for Windows 10 (opens Windows Store)
and
HDHomeRun Software for Windows

Does one have DVR and the other does not ?

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8531
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36

Re: Video Freezes

Post by signcarver » Thu Oct 03, 2019 3:30 pm

If you have the dvr any where on your network the 2 maybe related as the client will use the dvr to play and it can take up to 2 hours to sync with the lineup from the tuners.

The software is the "full" windows package that includes hdhomerun_config, setup, firmware files, etc. The app is just the client.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14733
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by jasonl » Sun Oct 06, 2019 11:31 am

First, please update to the latest beta Windows software from https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/downloads#beta_software, which will also update the firmware on the device. Then, enable the sending of diagnostic data on the Advanced tab in HDHomeRun Setup and run a channel scan, then enable the sending of data in the HDHomeRun app, and watch a problem channel for at least 10 minutes. Instructions on enabling the sending of data are available at https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/trouble ... iagnostics . Reply back once this has been done and we will check the logs.

filosad
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by filosad » Mon Oct 07, 2019 2:05 pm

Hello,
Beta software has been installed. Channel re-scan and send diagnostics data enabled and completed.
HD hardware indicates that the f/w is up to date.
Please let me know what you find out

Thanks, filosad

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14733
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by jasonl » Mon Oct 07, 2019 4:05 pm

I am seeing diagnostic data from the HDHomeRun but not from the app. Did you enable it in both places?

filosad
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by filosad » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:17 pm

I have enabled the sending of the diagnostic data within the app. Please check and let me know if you find any issue.
Thanks.....filosad

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14733
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by jasonl » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:27 pm

I'm still not seeing anything from the app, just the device.

filosad
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by filosad » Wed Oct 09, 2019 12:09 pm

I can provide a screen-shot from the app if you like. Can you think of any reason why you are not seeing the info. ?
Thanks.....filosad

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14733
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by jasonl » Wed Oct 09, 2019 2:22 pm

Any third-party firewalls or other security programs that are running on the PC and might be blocking the data from getting out?

filosad
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by filosad » Sun Nov 03, 2019 5:40 pm

Please let me know if you can see the data now. It seems when I restarted my server, the Windows f/w was turned on by default. I have disabled the f/w, so now the data should be going out.
Thanks, filosad

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14733
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by jasonl » Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:24 am

I'm seeing diagnostic data from something, but it doesn't look anything like data from the current app. Do you have some like 3 year old version of the app installed or something?

filosad
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by filosad » Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:49 pm

I know that I downloaded it this year from the Microsoft Store. After I un-installed the app earlier this year, I needed to download another copy. How can I tell what version I am using and what version I need to be on ?
Thanks....filosad

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14733
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Video Freezes

Post by jasonl » Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:41 pm

Move your mouse to the top-left corner of the window and click on the hamburger stack icon that appears; the app version will be listed at the bottom.

Post Reply