Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
jessie10133
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:16 pm

Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jessie10133 » Tue Aug 06, 2019 8:09 pm

Hey does anyone with a hdhomerun prime having some problems with the cable card I've been dealing with this issue for a week now the story is that I was just fine two weeks ago I was able to watch all the channels that I pay for but all of a sudden I start it having black screens and messages so I went ahead and visit the optimum store and grabbed up another cable card to troubleshoot my issue with the black screens and messages while dealing with optimum for three days over the phone trying to activate the cable card they wasnt able to activate the card so they sent out a technician to my house the technician was here today and he said he has no knowledge and don't know what is a hdhomerun so he called optimum they told him that it was a Cable card outage im in NYC

Thanks

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14249
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jasonl » Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:10 pm

What messages were you getting?

markfromBrooklyn
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 2:36 am

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by markfromBrooklyn » Wed Aug 07, 2019 2:42 pm

This may not be your issue, but Optimum in NYC area has been adopting SDV requiring tuning adaptors for some channels and eliminating most of the standard definition channels that duplicate content carried on high definition channels. See https://www.optimum.net/pages/tv/cablecard.html

jessie10133
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jessie10133 » Thu Aug 08, 2019 7:57 pm

markfromBrooklyn wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 2:42 pm
This may not be your issue, but Optimum in NYC area has been adopting SDV requiring tuning adaptors for some channels and eliminating most of the standard definition channels that duplicate content carried on high definition channels. See https://www.optimum.net/pages/tv/cablecard.html
Yes I learned that the hard way a user in this forum informed me about a tuning adapter for people that's from New York but thanks for the heads up hey @markfromBrooklyn are you from Brooklyn if you are I was hoping you can answer a question for me are you having an issue with a black screen saying unable to play channel message while watching a the show for one hour or so when switching to another channel that channel that i switched on is having the error message

jessie10133
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jessie10133 » Thu Aug 08, 2019 8:14 pm

jasonl wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:10 pm
What messages were you getting?
Hey thanks for the reply I was able to fix my situation with optimum after a week of dealing with this they finally fixed it but the message I'm getting is "unable to play channel" while watching a channel for an hour and then switching the channel the channel I switched on gets the message and Im still dealing with this issue I got a shield tv that is wired and a mibox that is not but is not that far from my nighthawk router maybe 5 ft Max is basically the next room and also when I got everything back up and running which was yesterday at of those two devices the only one that got the message was the shield that is wired but that was just once that I saw the message so far

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14249
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jasonl » Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:41 pm

Please turn on the sending of diagnostic data on the HDHomeRun and in the app (see https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/trouble ... iagnostics) then reproduce the issue. Reply back with the device ID for your HDHomeRun and the time it happened and we will check the logs.

P.S. it's very difficult to understand what you're writing without punctuation.

jessie10133
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jessie10133 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:23 pm

jasonl wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:41 pm
Please turn on the sending of diagnostic data on the HDHomeRun and in the app (see https://info.hdhomerun.com/info/trouble ... iagnostics) then reproduce the issue. Reply back with the device ID for your HDHomeRun and the time it happened and we will check the logs.

P.S. it's very difficult to understand what you're writing without punctuation.
Model: HDHR3-CC
Device ID: 1326F1B3
Firmware: 20190715beta1

This is on the Mibox
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ufo6CV ... sp=sharing

This is on the Shield TV
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1nh8gZu ... sp=sharing

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14249
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jasonl » Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:48 pm

What time did it happen?

jessie10133
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jessie10133 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:12 pm

jasonl wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:48 pm
What time did it happen?
I apologize I didn't catch what time it started for the mi box.but for Shield tv it started at 6:27pm Eastern Time

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14249
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jasonl » Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:29 pm

Does channel 717 have a [DRM] flag next to it on the channel lineup page on the HDHomeRun's web page?

Note to myself so I can find the logs again: 245977206-1 (the rest of you can disregard this)

jessie10133
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jessie10133 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:23 pm

jasonl wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:29 pm
Does channel 717 have a [DRM] flag next to it on the channel lineup page on the HDHomeRun's web page?

Note to myself so I can find the logs again: 245977206-1 (the rest of you can disregard this)
yes it does

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1MjPmQY ... sp=sharing

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14249
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jasonl » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:47 am

OK, I see what is causing the error to be generated. I don't know why it's doing that, but I have passed it on to the appropriate team to investigate further.

jessie10133
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jessie10133 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:55 pm

jasonl wrote:
Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:47 am
OK, I see what is causing the error to be generated. I don't know why it's doing that, but I have passed it on to the appropriate team to investigate further.
Okay thanks, hope to hear from as soon as possible.

jessie10133
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jessie10133 » Tue Aug 20, 2019 3:51 am

jasonl wrote:
Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:47 am
OK, I see what is causing the error to be generated. I don't know why it's doing that, but I have passed it on to the appropriate team to investigate further.
Hey how you doing I'm still dealing with this situation with the black screen error. "Unable to play" is silicondust aware of this problem I would like to know the status on my issue

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14249
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Cable card issues Hdhomerun

Post by jasonl » Tue Aug 20, 2019 12:20 pm

Still being investigated.

Post Reply