HDHR PRIME background scans

Reception, channel detection, network issues, CableCARD setup, etc.
Billi23
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by Billi23 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 3:10 pm

How often (every 72 hours/random/etc) does an HDHR Prime do it's background channel scanning and is it a specific time of day (like 12AM-3AM, etc).

Is there something I could block with my firewall to prevent the Prime from doing these background scans, or is it baked in the firmware?

Online
rpcameron
Posts: 853
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by rpcameron » Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:21 pm

It's in the firmware, and there is no internet/online component to the background scans (as I understand it, but would love to be proven wrong), so blocking traffic won't help either.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14418
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by jasonl » Sat Jun 08, 2019 2:47 pm

It's triggered by the device, and the timing is approximately every 3 days, but it varies within +/- 12 hours so that there's less of a chance of it getting repeatedly interrupted by a scheduled recording.

Billi23
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by Billi23 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 3:09 pm

Thanks.

I'm making a request to modify the background scan behaviour so it doesn't drop my subscribed channels, only picks up new channels.
It has been dropping channels I subscribe to through my cable provider (marking them as unsubscribed) for some reason.

If I had any of these channels it dropped marked as disabled, when it later tunes it during a background scan, the channel will come back as subscribed and enabled. So the 20190417 firmware fix is not working as described.
http://www.silicondust.com/support/down ... changelog/
Firmware Changelog
Release 20190417:
"HDHR3-CC: Fix problem where disabled channels could self re-enable when the background scan ran if the channel disappeared from the lineup and later reappeared."

And just a technicality, but the channels do not disappear from my cable providers subscribed lineup, they just disappear from the PRIME's background scan point of view for some reason.

Online
rpcameron
Posts: 853
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by rpcameron » Sat Jun 08, 2019 5:03 pm

The reason they "disappear" seems to be because the background scan has a much shorter timeout when trying to tune/lock a channel; this is especially noticeable on SDV channels.

And yes, please stop removing subscribed channels that cannot be tuned. Or allow us to disable the scans. Or modify the timeouts. Or something to stop this behavior.

Billi23
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by Billi23 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 6:49 pm

Updated my Ticket#119287 to add;
I'm making a request to modify the background scan behaviour so it doesn't drop my subscribed channels, only picks up new channels.
It has been dropping channels I subscribe to through my cable provider (marking them as unsubscribed) for some reason.

Guess there's only three or four of us reporting this issue on this forum.

I assumed everyone with a PRIME had this issue and either didn't realize it or were waiting for SiliconDust to acknlowledge and fix it.

PRIME owners should reply if you have this issue and/or create a Support Ticket.

Billi23
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by Billi23 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 7:29 pm

Channel 19 became unsubscribed
Channel 17 which was disabled before the PRIME lost it became subscribed and enabled

Billi23
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by Billi23 » Sun Jun 16, 2019 4:27 am

Channel 20 which was disabled became unsubscribed
Channel 19 which was disabled before the PRIME lost it became subscribed and enabled

Billi23
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by Billi23 » Fri Jun 28, 2019 3:39 pm

Channel 19 which was disabled became unsubscribed
Channel 20 which was disabled before the PRIME lost it on 6/16 became subscribed and enabled

Installed PRIME fw 20190621 on 6/21 and have not done any manual scans, this is a result of background scans.

Billi23
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by Billi23 » Thu Jul 04, 2019 12:56 pm

Channel 18 which was disabled became unsubscribed
Channel 19 which was disabled before the PRIME lost it on 6/28 became subscribed and enabled

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15575
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by nickk » Thu Jul 04, 2019 1:49 pm

Can you please turn on "send diagnostic information" - either from HDHomeRun Setup on Windows, Advanced tab, or on the device itself via http://my.hdhomerun.com/

Nick

Billi23
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by Billi23 » Thu Jul 04, 2019 2:32 pm

Just enabled on Device ID:1323AADB at 2019-07-04 21:30 UTC

Billi23
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:08 pm
Device ID: 1323AADB

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by Billi23 » Fri Jul 12, 2019 1:19 pm

Channel 16 which was disabled became unsubscribed
Channel 18 which was disabled before the PRIME lost it on 7/4 became subscribed and enabled
Diagnostics are still enabled.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15575
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by nickk » Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:06 pm

It looks like you are seeing two problems...

First, it is losing the disabled state - problem found and fixed.
Second, your unit is intermittently failing to lock on that channel - I will dig into the logs further on Monday.

Nick

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15575
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: HDHR PRIME background scans

Post by nickk » Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:38 pm

Please use the latest Windows or Mac Beta installer to upgrade your PRIME to the latest beta firmware release:
viewtopic.php?f=126&t=20613

Nick

Post Reply