HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

A place for people to discuss future hardware and software product news
KryptoNyte
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 12:14 pm

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by KryptoNyte » Mon Apr 08, 2019 4:02 pm

BerMM wrote:
Sun Apr 07, 2019 7:53 pm
I really hope you offer a strong trade up promotion if you ever release the Prime 6. Cablecard fees have killed all the savings of having our own equipment.
Which service do you have and what are you paying per cablecard per month?

I think I'm paying 2 bucks a month per card (tuning adapter included), so if I delete one card, it's going to take about 8 years to recoup the cost of the Prime 6. If there's one thing that I really can't complain about, it's the rental fee of a cable card. That said, I'd still like to see the Prime 6 available.

johndee
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 11:29 am

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by johndee » Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:27 pm

I am wondering if cable companies will allow you 6 channels without charging more for more than 2 channels. Having 6 wont mean much if you cant use them

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by NedS » Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:24 am

johndee wrote:
Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:27 pm
I am wondering if cable companies will allow you 6 channels without charging more for more than 2 channels. Having 6 wont mean much if you cant use them
As far as I know, most cable companies view the cableCARD device as a single entity, regardless of how many channels it tunes, and any charges are per device. I know of no cable company that charges for more than two channels, and we have a lot of users who already use three-tuner Primes.

SDL1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:44 pm

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by SDL1 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:35 am

Yes that's why I have a the extra 3, I have had consistent issues with Cox over the years. I usually have to go through multiple tuning adaptors and CableCards before it all works. I wonder if SD will abandon the 6 as CableCard seems to be coming to an end soon. Apparently new CableCards haven't been manufactured in years. The Cable companies just keep the ones that still work.

My guess is when Cable goes to 4k we'll see the end of CableCards, Hopefully ATSC 3.0 will signify a change in the world of OTA with its extremely rich feature set. I would hope SD is already at work in this area as they could be the link between ATSC 3.0 broadcasts and current technology TVs and related products.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by NedS » Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:58 am

CableCARD isn't coming to an end soon. The Prime 6 is still on track to be released.

Rickt1962
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by Rickt1962 » Thu Apr 18, 2019 6:43 am

SDL1 wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:35 am
Yes that's why I have a the extra 3, I have had consistent issues with Cox over the years. I usually have to go through multiple tuning adaptors and CableCards before it all works. I wonder if SD will abandon the 6 as CableCard seems to be coming to an end soon. Apparently new CableCards haven't been manufactured in years. The Cable companies just keep the ones that still work.

My guess is when Cable goes to 4k we'll see the end of CableCards, Hopefully ATSC 3.0 will signify a change in the world of OTA with its extremely rich feature set. I would hope SD is already at work in this area as they could be the link between ATSC 3.0 broadcasts and current technology TVs and related products.
Cable Cards are not tuners they are used for security keys decoding also With T.IVO PVR's and it will never end. Cable companies are not allowed to stop 3rd party companies by the rules of the FCC

averyfreeman
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 am
Device ID: 1326E235 1313788A
Location: Olympia, WA
Contact:

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by averyfreeman » Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:21 pm

johndee wrote:
Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:27 pm
I am wondering if cable companies will allow you 6 channels without charging more for more than 2 channels. Having 6 wont mean much if you cant use them
I used to have the Ceton InfiniTV ETh6 when I was still using WMC to record TV. It recorded 6 channels with one cable card. Still have the same cable card I was using with it in one of my HDHR Primes now.

http://cetoncorp.com/products/infinitv-6-ethernet/

The company is essentially dead now, they announced they were going out of business when Microsoft stopped developing WMC back in 2012 (I believe). Also, either it or WMC were super buggy, tuners would get stuck all the time and stop recording, then I'd have to reboot the device in order to unlock them. Missed a lot of recordings because of it.

But, theoretically, it would record up to 6 channels at a time. One cable card. It's possible and it has been done.

averyfreeman
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:12 am
Device ID: 1326E235 1313788A
Location: Olympia, WA
Contact:

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by averyfreeman » Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:31 pm

KryptoNyte wrote:
Mon Apr 08, 2019 4:02 pm
I think I'm paying 2 bucks a month per card (tuning adapter included), so if I delete one card, it's going to take about 8 years to recoup the cost of the Prime 6. If there's one thing that I really can't complain about, it's the rental fee of a cable card. That said, I'd still like to see the Prime 6 available.
In my area (near Seattle) Comcast charges $1.95 for the first cable card, but has the audacity to charge $10/mo for each additional card. So if I could get rid of the second card and sell my two HDHR primes on ebay for $70 each, I might be able to recoup the value in 6 months if the Prime6 sells for $200.

Hope it works better than the Ceton 6-tuner box did.

GetMatt
Posts: 1820
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:45 pm
Device ID: 1310683C, 13196816, 10733FC0

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by GetMatt » Thu Jun 27, 2019 1:41 pm

averyfreeman wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:31 pm
KryptoNyte wrote:
Mon Apr 08, 2019 4:02 pm
I think I'm paying 2 bucks a month per card (tuning adapter included), so if I delete one card, it's going to take about 8 years to recoup the cost of the Prime 6. If there's one thing that I really can't complain about, it's the rental fee of a cable card. That said, I'd still like to see the Prime 6 available.
In my area (near Seattle) Comcast charges $1.95 for the first cable card, but has the audacity to charge $10/mo for each additional card. So if I could get rid of the second card and sell my two HDHR primes on ebay for $70 each, I might be able to recoup the value in 6 months if the Prime6 sells for $200.

Hope it works better than the Ceton 6-tuner box did.
The trick is telling them that you need two cards for one DVR like the older T VOs then they will code the cards correctly and it will only be a total around $2-4.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8258
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by signcarver » Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:23 pm

GetMatt wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 1:41 pm
The trick is telling them that you need two cards for one DVR like the older T VOs then they will code the cards correctly and it will only be a total around $2-4.
That would not be coded correctly and is considered theft of service, especially if you try to convince them to do so when you are doing something else.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by NedS » Thu Jun 27, 2019 7:44 pm

signcarver wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:23 pm
GetMatt wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 1:41 pm
The trick is telling them that you need two cards for one DVR like the older T VOs then they will code the cards correctly and it will only be a total around $2-4.
That would not be coded correctly and is considered theft of service, especially if you try to convince them to do so when you are doing something else.
I don't believe either of those statements are accurate. Besides, what difference would it be when compared to this guy: Image

EDIT: for those who don't know, that was a short-lived variant of the PRIME 3 that took two cards in a single unit. If one were to open it up, it's literally just two PRIMES sharing a single power supply and single case.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 14067
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by jasonl » Thu Jun 27, 2019 7:58 pm

Doesn't Comcast bill it as "Additional outlet"? I'd say there are at least 2 plausible justifications for that, like how only one outlet is in use, and how both cards are serving the same DVR. That they reach that DVR through separate physical devices doesn't make it less true.

GetMatt
Posts: 1820
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:45 pm
Device ID: 1310683C, 13196816, 10733FC0

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by GetMatt » Thu Jun 27, 2019 9:07 pm

signcarver wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:23 pm
GetMatt wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 1:41 pm
The trick is telling them that you need two cards for one DVR like the older T VOs then they will code the cards correctly and it will only be a total around $2-4.
That would not be coded correctly and is considered theft of service, especially if you try to convince them to do so when you are doing something else.
When I talked to them what they wanted to know was that the two cards serve a single DVR. Which is true. I don’t see how putting everything 1 physical box or 3 physical boxes makes a difference.

BILLinMesaAZ
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 4:00 pm

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by BILLinMesaAZ » Thu Jun 27, 2019 10:46 pm

[MOD EDIT: snark removed - NS]

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3985
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: HDHomeRun Prime 6 update?

Post by gtb » Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:47 pm

jasonl wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 7:58 pm
Doesn't Comcast bill it as "Additional outlet"? I'd say there are at least 2 plausible justifications for that, like how only one outlet is in use, and how both cards are serving the same DVR. That they reach that DVR through separate physical devices doesn't make it less true.
It *used* to be called an "outlet" fee. It is was renamed a while ago to be "service to an additional TV" (which is always sort of was for the 98%, but now is clearer). However, Comcast has also recently changed (in most, but not all, markets) how they offer and bill services (that is another ball of wax I am not going to get into right this moment, but it appears savings are possible over the now legacy fee structure if you read carefully between the lines). In any case, the "outlet"/"service to an additional TV" also means you should get a customer owned device credit, so you get $2.50/mo off that fee, but you *do* typically have to ask for it (remember that CSRs are going to remember the options not for the 1% of TV customers (CableCARD users), but the 98%).

Post Reply