New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Discussion of the new user interface for the HDHomeRun app.
leerandall
Posts: 497
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by leerandall » Fri May 17, 2019 8:23 pm

I've seen it do this a couple of times since I've been using the new UI. But today, I was watching live TV tuned to MSNBC (ch. 225) all day using my Shield, which is also where my DVR engine resides. It was some time between 3:30pm and 4:00pm EDT this afternoon during Ali Velshi's show, I looked at the screen to see where the stock market was at the moment and everything was normal (Ali Velshi's show). I went about my business and about 10 minutes later, I looked at the TV again and Morning Joe from shortly after 7:00am EDT this morning was playing instead of Ali Velsi's live show. After scratching my head for a couple of minutes not understanding what happened, I changed channels to something else, then back to MSNBC, and Ali Velshi was back live again as expected. I did not record Morning Joe this morning, so it must have been playing the time-shift buffer. But how and why?

Diagnostics was turned on at the time.
Device IDs: 131102D9 and 1326E147

leerandall
Posts: 497
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by leerandall » Sun May 19, 2019 12:03 pm

Hmmm. Something similar just happened with my Shield. We had a thunderstorm roll through, which knocked out our cable and internet access. Just a few minutes before the cable went out, I had changed channels to the CBS affiliate ch. 214. When the cable went out, WMC, which was running on my Win7 box lost video and audio as expected, yet my Shield continued to play video/audio. But after a few minutes, I realized it was looping over and over the same few minutes of video that was playing shortly after I changed channels to 214. So I changed channels again, and of course I can no longer receive any channels because the cable is still out.

presnell
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:21 pm

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by presnell » Mon May 20, 2019 4:36 pm

I had this issue yesterday while watching the PGA tournament. Several times "Live TV" jumped on it's own to a much earlier time in the broadcast.

leerandall
Posts: 497
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by leerandall » Tue May 21, 2019 6:29 am

It happened again this morning. I started watching channel 225 when I started up the HDHR app shortly after 7:00am EDT and let live TV play on that channel. Then at 9:22am, I looked at it and realized that it was playing channel 225 from 8:05am EDT instead the current live TV content. I tried to change channels to get back to live content, but I couldn't because the slice guide had no program data. So I shut down the app, and restarted it, and everything was back to normal, including program data in the slice guide. Diagnostics has been turned on for days in the app.

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 858
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by nateb » Tue May 21, 2019 9:42 am

leerandall wrote:
Tue May 21, 2019 6:29 am
It happened again this morning. I started watching channel 225 when I started up the HDHR app shortly after 7:00am EDT and let live TV play on that channel. Then at 9:22am, I looked at it and realized that it was playing channel 225 from 8:05am EDT instead the current live TV content. I tried to change channels to get back to live content, but I couldn't because the slice guide had no program data. So I shut down the app, and restarted it, and everything was back to normal, including program data in the slice guide. Diagnostics has been turned on for days in the app.
This may be related to the program data leak others have reported. It may be tricky to figure this one out, but we'll take a look.

leerandall
Posts: 497
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by leerandall » Tue May 21, 2019 10:56 am

I think 20190521-12:00:01 may be the time at which live TV skipped backward in time. From today's log file:

Code: Select all

20190521-11:56:25 Status: Streaming: Live channel 225 to 192.168.1.24 (3758MB)
20190521-11:56:25 Status: Streaming: Live channel 223 to 192.168.1.43 (4904MB)
20190521-11:58:25 Status: Resource: nbk=3 dmk=1150
20190521-11:58:25 Status: Disk read: MB=321 MB/s=25 worst=15
20190521-11:58:25 Status: Disk write: MB=321 MB/s=4 worst=169
20190521-11:58:25 Status: Streaming: Live channel 225 to 192.168.1.24 (3896MB)
20190521-11:58:25 Status: Streaming: Live channel 223 to 192.168.1.43 (5088MB)
20190521-12:00:01 Recording: transition from Live channel 225 c3ca9d3d to Live channel 225 2495e53e
20190521-12:00:01 Recording: recording stated Live channel 225 2495e53e
20190521-12:00:25 Status: Resource: nbk=3 dmk=1149
20190521-12:00:25 Status: Disk read: MB=326 MB/s=25 worst=15
20190521-12:00:25 Status: Disk write: MB=326 MB/s=4 worst=119
20190521-12:00:25 Status: Streaming: Live channel 225 to 192.168.1.24 (4035MB)
20190521-12:00:25 Status: Streaming: Live channel 223 to 192.168.1.43 (5275MB)
20190521-12:02:25 Status: Resource: nbk=3 dmk=1149
20190521-12:02:25 Status: Disk read: MB=322 MB/s=25 worst=15
20190521-12:02:25 Status: Disk write: MB=322 MB/s=4 worst=65
20190521-12:02:25 Status: Streaming: Live channel 225 to 192.168.1.24 (4174MB)

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15523
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by nickk » Tue May 21, 2019 11:40 am

My guess is there was some form of interruption where the app had to reconnect, and the reconnect resulted in it restarting from the beginning of the available buffer.

We will investigate further.

leerandall
Posts: 497
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by leerandall » Tue May 21, 2019 11:47 am

Thank you.

leerandall
Posts: 497
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by leerandall » Thu May 30, 2019 4:08 pm

After not having happened for a few days, today I was watching live TV sometime after 2pm EDT and it automatically jumped back to the beginning of the live TV buffer, which was just after 7:00am EDT.

leerandall
Posts: 497
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by leerandall » Thu Jun 06, 2019 4:18 pm

I finally caught this happening while I had the same channel, 205, playing live TV on both my Shield, running the HDHR app, and on my Win7 machine, running WMC. At 6:50pm EDT tonight, the video froze on both screens. In WMC, I had to rewind then fast forward to get the video back to normal, but on my Shield, the video jumped back to an earlier time in the live TV buffer. To recover on the Shield, I had to change to another channel, 206, then change back to the one I was watching, 205. All has been fine since then on the HDHR app and WMC. I caught the events in the app log on the Shield.

Code: Select all

20190606-22:46:45 Status: Streaming: Live channel 205 to 192.168.1.24 (2035MB)
20190606-22:46:45 Status: Streaming: Live channel 243 to 192.168.1.16 (76575MB)
20190606-22:48:45 Status: Resource: nbk=3 dmk=1137
20190606-22:48:45 Status: Disk read: MB=330 MB/s=24 worst=17
20190606-22:48:45 Status: Disk write: MB=330 MB/s=4 worst=114
20190606-22:48:45 Status: Streaming: Live channel 205 to 192.168.1.24 (2234MB)
20190606-22:48:45 Status: Streaming: Live channel 243 to 192.168.1.16 (76706MB)
20190606-22:50:21 Recording: stream from 131102D9 timeout - retrying Live channel 205 f1d2a117
20190606-22:50:22 Recording: sending request to 131102D9 at 192.168.1.2 for Live channel 205 f1d2a117
20190606-22:50:26 Playback: Streaming: Live channel 205 to 192.168.1.24 starting at 0MB
20190606-22:50:37 Recording: stream from 131102D9 timeout - retrying Live channel 205 f1d2a117
20190606-22:50:38 Recording: sending request to 131102D9 at 192.168.1.2 for Live channel 205 f1d2a117
20190606-22:50:45 Status: Resource: nbk=3 dmk=1137
20190606-22:50:45 Status: Disk read: MB=336 MB/s=28 worst=32
20190606-22:50:45 Status: Disk write: MB=283 MB/s=4 worst=101
20190606-22:50:45 Status: Streaming: Live channel 205 to 192.168.1.24 (54MB)
20190606-22:50:45 Status: Streaming: Live channel 243 to 192.168.1.16 (76838MB)
20190606-22:51:02 Recording: stop Live channel 205 f1d2a117 (result = 0x0004)
20190606-22:51:02 Recording: early end of Live channel 205 f1d2a117
20190606-22:51:03 Recording: starting new file Live channel 206 abe73dd2
20190606-22:51:03 Recording: sending request to 131102D9 at 192.168.1.2 for Live channel 206 abe73dd2
20190606-22:51:03 Recording: recording stated Live channel 206 abe73dd2
20190606-22:51:03 Playback: Streaming: Live channel 206 to 192.168.1.24 starting at 0MB
20190606-22:51:06 Recording: stop Live channel 206 abe73dd2 (result = 0x0000)
20190606-22:51:06 Recording: early end of Live channel 206 abe73dd2
20190606-22:51:06 Recording: starting new file Live channel 205 c9b2ea5e
20190606-22:51:06 Recording: sending request to 131102D9 at 192.168.1.2 for Live channel 205 c9b2ea5e
20190606-22:51:07 Recording: recording stated Live channel 205 c9b2ea5e
20190606-22:51:07 Playback: Streaming: Live channel 205 to 192.168.1.24 starting at 0MB
20190606-22:52:45 Status: Resource: nbk=131 dmk=1137
20190606-22:52:45 Status: Disk read: MB=330 MB/s=26 worst=19
20190606-22:52:45 Status: Disk write: MB=331 MB/s=4 worst=281
20190606-22:52:45 Status: Streaming: Live channel 205 to 192.168.1.24 (164MB)
Disregard the channel 243 events. That was live TV playing on another TV in the house at the time.

SpencerC
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 7:40 pm

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by SpencerC » Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:43 pm

I just had this happen. I was watching a baseball game which I tuned in just before the game started. It was near the end of the 7th inning and I paused live tv. When I resumed it reverted back to before the game started. I had to switch channels and go back to get back to current so I didn't have to hit FF a million times. Running Win10 and the HDHomeRun app with DVR on the new UI

leerandall
Posts: 497
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by leerandall » Sat Jun 08, 2019 8:08 pm

SpencerC wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:43 pm
I just had this happen. I was watching a baseball game which I tuned in just before the game started. It was near the end of the 7th inning and I paused live tv. When I resumed it reverted back to before the game started. I had to switch channels and go back to get back to current so I didn't have to hit FF a million times. Running Win10 and the HDHomeRun app with DVR on the new UI
My experience has been that it is impossible to use FF to get back to where you were. It seems to lose any concept of position within the live buffer.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8146
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by signcarver » Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:42 am

I'll add on what I experienced today... I don't always use the same remote and on my system I was trying to get to the slice guide to see what was on and select automatically pauses rather than bring up UI and personally I don't like up/down to get to slice as I didn't want to move up or down in it... I've always preferred the very old way of the right button to get to slice (as I usually also have dedicated FF/RW keys as well, but that was changed when we went to live tv buffer-- it's debatable whether it should be one touch pause on select, just a week or two ago, it was one to bring it up but pause was focus so again for pause... I also have play/pause keys for that behavior so I prefer bringing up the UI rather than pause, though with other remotes I also have found me wanting such behavior).

Anyway while trying to correct, it went back in the buffer about 20 some hours and it isn't really cooperating with skipping ahead to near the current time.

leerandall
Posts: 497
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by leerandall » Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:52 am

signcarver wrote:
Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:42 am
... Anyway while trying to correct, it went back in the buffer about 20 some hours and it isn't really cooperating with skipping ahead to near the current time.
This is exactly what I meant when I said that it seems to lose any concept of where it is in the live TV buffer. Once it has jumped back in time by itself, you cannot get back to where you were by using FF.

leerandall
Posts: 497
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: New UI - Live TV automatically jumped to much earlier

Post by leerandall » Thu Jun 20, 2019 3:55 pm

I just had this happen again. I changed to channel 205 at 6:30pm EDT, and everything was fine until a few minutes ago when it jumped back in the live TV buffer to 6:30pm EDT when I changed the channel.

Post Reply