4k and Roku support

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
jboymichelstein
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by jboymichelstein » Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:30 am

How can it be said that scribe and servio support drm recordings from a prime? We do not have the ability to record drm yet. Assuming it will work is misleading. I have not heard anyone from silicon say that it is 100% possible. Unless you can point me to a post or a thread.
Bottom line if you cannot do it yet then it should not be a deciding factor for anyone. I can't get much over the air tv due to where I live. So these devices are not for me. I am more interested in the drm recording part.

spencer777
Posts: 556
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:02 am

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by spencer777 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:18 am

jasonl wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:15 pm
Verizon is supposed to be carrying all 52 games of the Women's World Cup in 4K, so at least they're moving a bit beyond the stunt stage. Optimum is supposed to have most of them , but they only have one 4K channel so they'll have to miss some of the games when 2 are on at the same time. I don't know if Optimum is using IP or QAM, and I don't know if they're DRM protected. If any Optimum subscribers want to check channel 200 at 3pm on Friday and let us know what happens...
Any cable subscriber can watch them in 4k on the Fox sports go app.

rrussis82
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by rrussis82 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:12 am

jboymichelstein wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:30 am
How can it be said that scribe and servio support drm recordings from a prime? We do not have the ability to record drm yet. Assuming it will work is misleading. I have not heard anyone from silicon say that it is 100% possible. Unless you can point me to a post or a thread.
Bottom line if you cannot do it yet then it should not be a deciding factor for anyone. I can't get much over the air tv due to where I live. So these devices are not for me. I am more interested in the drm recording part.
Please show where in this string of posts it says that these devices will record DRM? I didn't see anyone make that claim.

jboymichelstein
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by jboymichelstein » Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:37 am

jasonl wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 5:23 pm
spencer777 wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 4:58 pm
They are both OTA
Scribe has OTA tuners built in, but it can also record from other HDHomeRun devices on the network, including HDHomeRun PRIME. Servio has no tuners and only records from other HDHomeRun devices on the network.
There you go. That is what I was saying. How is this substantiated?

rrussis82
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by rrussis82 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:06 pm

jboymichelstein wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:37 am
jasonl wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 5:23 pm
spencer777 wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 4:58 pm
They are both OTA
Scribe has OTA tuners built in, but it can also record from other HDHomeRun devices on the network, including HDHomeRun PRIME. Servio has no tuners and only records from other HDHomeRun devices on the network.
There you go. That is what I was saying. How is this substantiated?
I can record on other recording engines currently using my Prime. There is no mention whatsoever in that comment about DRM and in no way saying DRM can be recorded. Not all cable companies DRM flag everything so that statement is true, it will record from the Prime. As do all their current record engine software.

NedS
Silicondust
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by NedS » Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:35 pm

jboymichelstein wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:37 am
jasonl wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 5:23 pm
spencer777 wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 4:58 pm
They are both OTA
Scribe has OTA tuners built in, but it can also record from other HDHomeRun devices on the network, including HDHomeRun PRIME. Servio has no tuners and only records from other HDHomeRun devices on the network.
There you go. That is what I was saying. How is this substantiated?
Not all PRIME/cable TV channels have DRM restrictions.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13829
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by jasonl » Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:37 pm

Ken.F wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:09 am
jasonl wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 4:13 pm
Verizon Fios has added two 4K channels to carry Fox 4K broadcasts, including the Women's World Cup matches starting on Friday. Those should be available to be recorded, at least based on the first one having worked for the initial NASCAR broadcast last month.
According to a Verizon Support tweet yesterday the 4k channels are supposed to be 1498 and 1499.
https://twitter.com/VerizonSupport/stat ... 72416?s=20

I checked the lineup on my Primes last night with show=all. 1498 was crossed out and 1499 wasn't even listed. I ran a channel scan this morning and now it shows that I am subscribed to 1498 but 1499 is still not listed.
1499 will only be used when there are two games on at the same time, which only happens on the final day of play in each group, June 17-20. In my experience, Verizon typically doesn't add special event channels until a few days ahead of when they're needed, so my guess would be that it will show up towards the end of next week.

Ken.F
Posts: 2089
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by Ken.F » Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:43 pm

jasonl wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:37 pm
1499 will only be used when there are two games on at the same time, which only happens on the final day of play in each group, June 17-20. In my experience, Verizon typically doesn't add special event channels until a few days ahead of when they're needed, so my guess would be that it will show up towards the end of next week.
So if I go out of town for a few weeks I can't schedule recordings on those channels. What good is having a DVR that you can't use when you aren't home?

rrussis82
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by rrussis82 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:58 pm

Ken.F wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:43 pm
jasonl wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:37 pm
1499 will only be used when there are two games on at the same time, which only happens on the final day of play in each group, June 17-20. In my experience, Verizon typically doesn't add special event channels until a few days ahead of when they're needed, so my guess would be that it will show up towards the end of next week.
So if I go out of town for a few weeks I can't schedule recordings on those channels. What good is having a DVR that you can't use when you aren't home?
And that's a great question better to be geared towards your provider.

Ken.F
Posts: 2089
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by Ken.F » Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:03 pm

rrussis82 wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:58 pm
And that's a great question better to be geared towards your provider.
They'll just try to up-sell me one of their own DVR cable boxes.

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3945
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by gtb » Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:09 pm

Ken.F wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:03 pm
rrussis82 wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:58 pm
And that's a great question better to be geared towards your provider.
They'll just try to up-sell me one of their own DVR cable boxes.
It won't matter what box or recording solution you have if VZ has not provided guide data upstream (to the usual suspects) for future scheduling purposes (often for elimination matches all a provider can do is placeholder entries (you do not know who is going to be playing), but you can schedule them if they are in the guide data as generic entries).

Ken.F
Posts: 2089
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by Ken.F » Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:28 pm

gtb wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:09 pm
It won't matter what box or recording solution you have if VZ has not provided guide data upstream (to the usual suspects) for future scheduling purposes (often for elimination matches all a provider can do is placeholder entries (you do not know who is going to be playing), but you can schedule them if they are in the guide data as generic entries).
I could schedule it to record on the STB through the Verizon mobile app when the schedule is set. I wouldn't need to be at home to do that.
Last edited by Ken.F on Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13829
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by jasonl » Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:28 pm

Gracenote already has a listings ready for both channels. Just waiting on Verizon to actually add the second channel. The background channel scan on PRIME should run often enough to pick it up in time for the games as long as Verizon has it added by Friday morning. I think the only real issue would be needing to favorite the new channel so the DVR prefers recording from it instead of FS1 or FS2.

jboymichelstein
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by jboymichelstein » Thu Jun 06, 2019 3:53 pm

NedS wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:35 pm
jboymichelstein wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:37 am
jasonl wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 5:23 pm

Scribe has OTA tuners built in, but it can also record from other HDHomeRun devices on the network, including HDHomeRun PRIME. Servio has no tuners and only records from other HDHomeRun devices on the network.
There you go. That is what I was saying. How is this substantiated?
Not all PRIME/cable TV channels have DRM restrictions.
And it doesn't state the contrary either. If we are talking about prime, we should be talking about all its capability and incapability. So i understand that non-drm will work. To people who don't know, telling them yeah it will work, then they put money into it, and find their system is 80% drm protected like mine. Omission of fact etc....

rrussis82
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: 4k and Roku support

Post by rrussis82 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:05 pm

jboymichelstein wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 3:53 pm
NedS wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:35 pm
jboymichelstein wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:37 am


There you go. That is what I was saying. How is this substantiated?
Not all PRIME/cable TV channels have DRM restrictions.
And it doesn't state the contrary either. If we are talking about prime, we should be talking about all its capability and incapability. So i understand that non-drm will work. To people who don't know, telling them yeah it will work, then they put money into it, and find their system is 80% drm protected like mine. Omission of fact etc....
So you are asking all posters that when they reference the Prime and the Servio that they must put a disclaimer saying except DRM even though throughout all the website referring to the Primes it states recording DRM in not available?

Post Reply