Would like to have "Shrink to Fit" option on Fire TV

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Post Reply
Thunderthud
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:59 am
Device ID: 1322B8A6, 13257C3D, 1041CFDB, 10514020
Location: Virginia

Would like to have "Shrink to Fit" option on Fire TV

Post by Thunderthud » Wed May 22, 2019 6:02 am

Would it be possible to duplicate the "Shrink to Fit" option that is in the Windows 10 app options to Firestick? My Toshiba TV doesn't have a "native" mode and the firesticks scaling option is not available. Part of screen gets cut off and can't find any solution. Thanks.

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13783
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Would like to have "Shrink to Fit" option on Fire TV

Post by jasonl » Wed May 22, 2019 12:58 pm

What do you mean the scaling isn't available?

Thunderthud
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:59 am
Device ID: 1322B8A6, 13257C3D, 1041CFDB, 10514020
Location: Virginia

Re: Would like to have "Shrink to Fit" option on Fire TV

Post by Thunderthud » Wed May 22, 2019 1:36 pm

jasonl wrote:
Wed May 22, 2019 12:58 pm
What do you mean the scaling isn't available?
You can't scale/shrink the display to fit the screen on with the firestick display settings. Amazon tells you to set your tv for native mode, which isn't available on this older Toshiba TV, which like some others, overscans.

goofnroxx
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:30 am

Re: Would like to have "Shrink to Fit" option on Fire TV

Post by goofnroxx » Wed May 22, 2019 1:55 pm

Thunderthud wrote:
Wed May 22, 2019 1:36 pm
jasonl wrote:
Wed May 22, 2019 12:58 pm
What do you mean the scaling isn't available?
You can't scale/shrink the display to fit the screen on with the firestick display settings. Amazon tells you to set your tv for native mode, which isn't available on this older Toshiba TV, which like some others, overscans.
All my FireTv's have this option... Gen1 stick and FireTV 3(pendant)

jasonl
Silicondust
Posts: 13783
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:23 pm

Re: Would like to have "Shrink to Fit" option on Fire TV

Post by jasonl » Wed May 22, 2019 2:25 pm

Apparently Amazon disabled the overscan adjustment GUI in the Fire TV Stick 2 for...reasons. You can still adjust the overscan using adb, which would probably be a better option since it would result in everything showing up properly, not just the HDHomeRun app. See https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RcSCE0C4cl4 for instructions on enabling ADB debugging and getting ADB installed on your PC if you don't already have it, then once you're connected run:

Code: Select all

adb shell
This will give you a shell directly on the FireTV. Run:

Code: Select all

wm overscan left,top,right,bottom
Use actual numbers of pixels for each of left/top/right/bottom, so a real command would be something like:

Code: Select all

wm overscan 40,32,40,32
If you do it while you're in the calibration screen, you will see the changes in real time, so you can keep trying different numbers until you get the arrows right. Once you have it set the way you want, type 'exit' to log out of the Fire TV, then 'adb disconnect' to disconnect from it, and reboot the Fire TV.

Thunderthud
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:59 am
Device ID: 1322B8A6, 13257C3D, 1041CFDB, 10514020
Location: Virginia

Re: Would like to have "Shrink to Fit" option on Fire TV

Post by Thunderthud » Wed May 22, 2019 2:46 pm

Thanks, will try in morning. Have to run out this evening.

Thunderthud
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:59 am
Device ID: 1322B8A6, 13257C3D, 1041CFDB, 10514020
Location: Virginia

Re: Would like to have "Shrink to Fit" option on Fire TV

Post by Thunderthud » Thu May 23, 2019 8:17 am

Jason, that worked GREAT! Thanks, first time I can see the whole screen on that set! THANKS!!!

goofnroxx
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:30 am

Re: Would like to have "Shrink to Fit" option on Fire TV

Post by goofnroxx » Thu May 23, 2019 10:00 am

This sure deserves a 'what the heck Amazon!' Good info to know in case the rest of the FTV fleet suffers the same fate.

Post Reply