UI Beta Release - Click for Instructions (and warnings)

Discussion of the new user interface for the HDHomeRun app.
Post Reply
nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 856
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

UI Beta Release - Click for Instructions (and warnings)

Post by nateb » Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:50 am

We're excited to announce that the new UI has entered beta mode. To enable the UI turn on "Early Access to New Features" in your app.

Reaching this function differs slightly based on platform.

Win10: In Recorded/Discover, there is a hidden button in the top left corner that appears when moused over. Click the button. Enable the toggle.

Android/Fire TV: Hit Play/Pause a bunch while in Live TV/Slice Guide, like 13 times. Tick the Early access box.

iOS: Hit Play/Pause a bunch while in Live TV. Tick Early Access.

MacOS: Click HDHomeRun menu (bar at the very top of the screen)
Select preferences.
A dialog appears
Click early access to new features


To return to the regular UI, hit the Gear icon in Recorded/Discover next to the clock and turn off "Early access to new features." On MacOS, you can also turn off early access from the Preferences dialog.

NOTE: We are finding that the update can take a while to actually happen, per device. Rebooting may help. Do not delete anything in an attempt to speed things up.

marks
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:52 am

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by marks » Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:01 pm

The new UI looks good, I like the search ability in the Recorded shows tab.

1.One slight issue is when I am in Live TV and I scroll the channel to the right with my mouse it is like "turbo mouse" :) and scrolls the channels very fast.
Is anyone else having this turbo mouce scrolling issue from Live TV tab? The mouse scrolling of the channels in Live TV is so fast it makes the new UI not very useable and I have to use the regular UI for now. I can type in a channel number every time instead as a workaround on the new UI.
I have a logitech wireless mouse M325 but I wouldnt think that would be the issue since I do not have this issue anywhere else and not with the regular version of the UI.

p.s.the above was on Windows 10 on my laptop

2.I noticed from the Live channel feature when I click on a different channel that the description of the channel at the bottom of the screen is not getting updated. When I press pause and play then it seems to update to reflect the current show; however, when I click on the description to get more detailed info on the show it displays a description from a DVR recorded show I was playing before instead of the current show.

3.When I go to Discover tab and select a show and click on Watch Now, instead of the selected show playing in Live TV, the original show I was watching before still plays. However, if I then scroll the list of channels to the right, then the selected Watch Now (from Discover) show plays.
(I hope I explained that clear enough since it is hard to put in words :) )
Last edited by marks on Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:37 am, edited 4 times in total.

GetMatt
Posts: 1811
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:45 pm
Device ID: 1310683C, 13196816, 10733FC0

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by GetMatt » Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:28 pm

I have early access to new features turned on on Xbox and don't see it. What am I missing?

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 856
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by nateb » Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:31 pm

GetMatt wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:28 pm
I have early access to new features turned on on Xbox and don't see it. What am I missing?
May require a reboot.

GetMatt
Posts: 1811
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:45 pm
Device ID: 1310683C, 13196816, 10733FC0

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by GetMatt » Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:42 pm

nateb wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:31 pm
GetMatt wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:28 pm
I have early access to new features turned on on Xbox and don't see it. What am I missing?
May require a reboot.
I force quit the app did a hard reboot of the xbox and reloaded the app. Still no change. For kicks I also did various combinations of enabling and disabling early access to new features and force quitting rebooting the app. With early access toggled on I still get the old UI.

Update:
I have tried to get access to the new UI on Xbox, Windows, iOS (iPhone 7) and Android (MiBox) and it works on Windows and Android. I can't get it to load the new UI on Xbox or iOS.

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 856
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by nateb » Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:00 pm

GetMatt wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:42 pm


I force quit the app did a hard reboot of the xbox and reloaded the app. Still no change. For kicks I also did various combinations of enabling and disabling early access to new features and force quitting rebooting the app. With early access toggled on I still get the old UI.

Update:
I have tried to get access to the new UI on Xbox, Windows, iOS (iPhone 7) and Android (MiBox) and it works on Windows and Android. I can't get it to load the new UI on Xbox or iOS.
Thanks for the info. We'll do some testing here to see if we can figure the holdup.

edit: Just out of curiosity, are you based out of the US or some other country? It shouldn't matter, but I want to cross off possibilities.

otaku
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 7:30 pm

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by otaku » Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:12 pm

PRIME 131A9DBB
Version 20180817

3 Android Shields

Early access enabled on all 3

Restarted multiple times still no beta on 2 of the Shields. I'm assuming it will be a matter of time until the remaining 2 Shields will be updated, correct?

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 856
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by nateb » Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:15 pm

otaku wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:12 pm
I'm assuming it will be a matter of time until the remaining 2 Shields will be updated, correct?
Very likely. We're looking into why things might not switch right now.

leerandall
Posts: 494
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:49 pm
Device ID: 131102D9, 1326E147

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by leerandall » Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:44 pm

I could not get my Shield to load the new UI after turning on early access, even after stopping and starting the HDHR app multiple times. So I stopped the HDHR app, cleared app data, and restarted the app. The new UI loaded after all that. But then I found that I had to re-enable DVR functionality on the Shield. Now I see that all of my recorded programs have been deleted. I had all-seasons archives of a number of shows that I've been accumulating over the years, and now they're all gone. I'm pissed.

otaku
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 7:30 pm

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by otaku » Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:59 pm

otaku wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:12 pm
PRIME 131A9DBB
Version 20180817

3 Android Shields

Early access enabled on all 3

Restarted multiple times still no beta on 2 of the Shields. I'm assuming it will be a matter of time until the remaining 2 Shields will be updated, correct?
Also, when I go into Google Play it indicates I have the HDHomeRun (Beta) installed on 3 Shields. However, as I indicated earlier, only 1 of the 3 Shields updated to the beta.

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 856
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by nateb » Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:43 pm

otaku wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:59 pm

Also, when I go into Google Play it indicates I have the HDHomeRun (Beta) installed on 3 Shields. However, as I indicated earlier, only 1 of the 3 Shields updated to the beta.
The UI beta is simply how the app shows the UI. It is not the app itself. You evidently have updated the app itself to beta at some time in the past. A non-beta version of the app can also show the beta UI.

jasonmcroy
Posts: 517
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 3:08 pm
Device ID: 1061D18E, 1070B743, 1076A10B

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by jasonmcroy » Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:59 pm

To add in my experience: 1 Shield upstairs (16gb 2015 version) UI updated fine per your instructions. However, my Living Room Shield (Pro model 2015 version) will not update. It is also the device I use as the DVR in case that matters. I have rebooted the Shield twice but nothing.

On my tablet, the UI updated fine as well.

EDIT: by the way, wanted to say that the changes look pretty good so far.

mchias13
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 3:57 am
Device ID: 131D4055

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by mchias13 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 3:44 pm

The UI beta is simply how the app shows the UI. It is not the app itself.
So this is a visual demo only?

Should we report issues?

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 856
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by nateb » Tue Apr 09, 2019 3:47 pm

jasonmcroy wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:59 pm
To add in my experience: 1 Shield upstairs (16gb 2015 version) UI updated fine per your instructions. However, my Living Room Shield (Pro model 2015 version) will not update. It is also the device I use as the DVR in case that matters. I have rebooted the Shield twice but nothing.

On my tablet, the UI updated fine as well.

EDIT: by the way, wanted to say that the changes look pretty good so far.
Per the previous user's experience, I'd say definitely don't delete any data on the device you're using as a DVR. It is interesting that the two not updating have been DVR shields.

neil459
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 11:12 am

Re: UI Beta Release

Post by neil459 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 3:50 pm

nateb wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:50 am
We're excited to announce that the new UI has entered beta mode. To enable the UI turn on "Early Access to New Features" in your app.

Reaching this function differs slightly based on platform.

MacOS: Click HDHomeRun menu (bar at the very top of the screen)
Select preferences.
A dialog appears
Click early access to new features
Did this nothing happened? Mac mini 10.14.4.

Post Reply