Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

A place for people to discuss future hardware and software product news
Kendog52361
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 4:50 pm

Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby Kendog52361 » Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:38 pm

So, I just found this article on Cord Cutters News, but apparently Sinclair Broadcasting is planning to roll out ATSC 3.0 to 26 markets this year. There haven't been any announcements about which markets, nor exactly when, but there is a Federally Mandated 4 month notice period before a transition, so the earliest would early-ish Summer.

https://www.cordcuttersnews.com/sinclai ... s-in-2019/

I just hope this doesn't cause any further delays in the Prime 6, outside of what's required to get it certified by CableLabs(?).

Ken.F
Posts: 2032
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby Ken.F » Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:58 pm

I just hope this doesn't cause any further delays in the Prime 6, outside of what's required to get it certified by CableLabs(?).
The Prime doesn't have a ATSC tuner at all so it shouldn't matter.

Kendog52361
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 4:50 pm

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby Kendog52361 » Sat Feb 16, 2019 2:02 pm

I just hope this doesn't cause any further delays in the Prime 6, outside of what's required to get it certified by CableLabs(?).
The Prime doesn't have a ATSC tuner at all so it shouldn't matter.
I was referring more to needing to get an ATSC 3.0 Tuner out this year causing delays to getting the Prime 6 certified, similar to what happened last year when "needing" to get the new products out, caused the Prime 6 to be delayed until this year. Sure, apparently it's mandated that there will be "dual broadcasts" of both ATSC 3.0 and current gen ATSC for around 5 years before they can "shut off" current gen ATSC.

jseymour
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat May 12, 2018 8:46 am

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby jseymour » Sat Feb 16, 2019 2:19 pm

Sinclair can roll to their heart's content. I'm not replacing a couple thousand $$$ worth of TVs and stuff for ATSC 3.

Ken.F
Posts: 2032
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby Ken.F » Sat Feb 16, 2019 2:54 pm

I was referring more to needing to get an ATSC 3.0 Tuner out this year causing delays to getting the Prime 6 certified...
Oh, that could happen.

wellthatsnotgood
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:55 pm

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby wellthatsnotgood » Sat Feb 16, 2019 5:09 pm

Sinclair can roll to their heart's content. I'm not replacing a couple thousand $$$ worth of TVs and stuff for ATSC 3.
Well, that's one good thing about being in the HDHomeRun ecosystem... You can keep using all the same TVs and your current HDHomeRun ATSC 1.0 tuner(s) and just add a HDHomeRun ATSC 3.0 tuner to your LAN if/when ATSC 3.0 stations roll out in your area and you feel inclined to start watching them.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 15315
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby nickk » Sat Feb 16, 2019 5:52 pm

Sinclair can roll to their heart's content. I'm not replacing a couple thousand $$$ worth of TVs and stuff for ATSC 3.
Well, that's one good thing about being in the HDHomeRun ecosystem... You can keep using all the same TVs and your current HDHomeRun ATSC 1.0 tuner(s) and just add a HDHomeRun ATSC 3.0 tuner to your LAN if/when ATSC 3.0 stations roll out in your area and you feel inclined to start watching them.
Yep!

rrussis82
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby rrussis82 » Sat Feb 16, 2019 6:50 pm

Sinclair can roll to their heart's content. I'm not replacing a couple thousand $$$ worth of TVs and stuff for ATSC 3.
Well, that's one good thing about being in the HDHomeRun ecosystem... You can keep using all the same TVs and your current HDHomeRun ATSC 1.0 tuner(s) and just add a HDHomeRun ATSC 3.0 tuner to your LAN if/when ATSC 3.0 stations roll out in your area and you feel inclined to start watching them.
Yep!
But that is only AFTER SD makes an ATSC 3.0 tuner. Are there currently any?

spencer777
Posts: 536
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:02 am

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby spencer777 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:51 am

There won't be adapters?

wellthatsnotgood
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:55 pm

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby wellthatsnotgood » Sun Feb 17, 2019 3:58 am

But that is only AFTER SD makes an ATSC 3.0 tuner. Are there currently any?
The only place I'm aware of that consumers can get ATSC 3.0 tuners at the moment is in South Korea. TV manufacturers pretty much ignored ATSC 3.0 at CES this year.
There won't be adapters?
Adapters for what? You mean like the digital converter boxes when we went from NTSC to ATSC 1.0? I'm sure there will be. However, this time there is no government subsidy for them.

jseymour
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat May 12, 2018 8:46 am

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby jseymour » Sun Feb 17, 2019 9:08 am

You guys do understand broadcasters applying DRM to OTA once ATSC 3.x is deployed is not outside the realm of possibility, right?

Gewithers
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:23 pm

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby Gewithers » Sun Feb 17, 2019 5:49 pm

You guys do understand broadcasters applying DRM to OTA once ATSC 3.x is deployed is not outside the realm of possibility, right?
What would the point of DRM on broadcast channels be? Lower the number of potential viewers to suppress advertising rates?

jseymour
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat May 12, 2018 8:46 am

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby jseymour » Sun Feb 17, 2019 8:20 pm

You guys do understand broadcasters applying DRM to OTA once ATSC 3.x is deployed is not outside the realm of possibility, right?
What would the point of DRM on broadcast channels be? Lower the number of potential viewers to suppress advertising rates?
That's certainly the effect it would have on us.

rrussis82
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby rrussis82 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 8:37 pm

You guys do understand broadcasters applying DRM to OTA once ATSC 3.x is deployed is not outside the realm of possibility, right?
What would the point of DRM on broadcast channels be? Lower the number of potential viewers to suppress advertising rates?
It's because they are greedy and want you to "subscribe" and pay what they charge the cable providers to offer the channel to you.. ATSC 3.0 will have the ability to "phone back to" the broadcaster to verify that type of setup.
Does anyone know the exact wording where the FCC requires them to broadcast OTA. does it specifically state broadcast OTA for free?

wellthatsnotgood
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:55 pm

Re: Sinclair Planning to Rollout ATSC 3.0 this year

Postby wellthatsnotgood » Mon Feb 18, 2019 12:27 am

Just FYI... DRM was possible on ATSC 1.0. In fact, it was more than possible; it happened. The company that tried? Yeah, they're out of business now...

So, I'm not saying it won't happen with ATSC 3.0. But unless it's a co-ordinated and planned effort by all the major networks to be implemented across all of their affiliates at the same time, whatever station tries first is just going to loose all of it's viewership as people will (after a lot of moaning and complaining) just switch to watch something on one of the other channels that is still free.


Return to “Future Product Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests