Servio and Scribe

A place for people to discuss future hardware and software product news
Post Reply
Online
rrussis82
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Servio and Scribe

Post by rrussis82 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:58 pm

What would be nice is if these devices had 2 ethernet ports, with the ability to daisy chain these devices together and other Tuners to it so we don't have to buy more switches just to accommodate all these HDHomerun devices that will cover our media cabinets or TV stands. Not just these devices but also all the tuners built by SD. If that feature was available on the Servio it may just make it worth buying.

Online
rrussis82
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by rrussis82 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:02 pm

Also on the Servio, would we be able to navigate to the drive from another networked device like a NAS or a laptop and have the ability to point a library in Plex or Emby to it to view the recording on those systems? I currently point to my HDHomerun recordings in Plex to view them outside my network.

GetMatt
Posts: 1811
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:45 pm
Device ID: 1310683C, 13196816, 10733FC0

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by GetMatt » Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:17 pm

Cheaper to just buy a switch.

goofnroxx
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:30 am

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by goofnroxx » Wed Jan 09, 2019 6:32 am

I would think the majority of people only have one device anyway, just making the device more expensive for unused features.

mcewinter
Posts: 569
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:36 pm
Device ID: 131044D3, 103188F3
Location: Chicago

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by mcewinter » Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:25 am

Switches are inexpensive

Online
rrussis82
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by rrussis82 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:12 am

but don't they recommend plugging the DVR device and the Homeruns directly into your main router? So if one has 2 connects or Primes, Gets a Servio for DVR, that's 3 out of the 4 ports most home routers provide. So Everything else in your home will have to run off separate cheap switches?

That's my point why the Servio or the Scribe should have 2 Ethernet Ports for daisy chaining Tuners too. Yes a switch is cheap, but "cheap" 4 port switches are not very good.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8146
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by signcarver » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:19 am

Actually the number one issue I see is when people plug devices into the router so that is not "recommended" but shown for "convenience"

Usually such "daisy-chaining" would be a hop thus take things out of your network... a switch would be much more efficient and cost effective and "no" wired device should be plugged into a router other than a switch as a router should "only" function as the gateway.

Ken.F
Posts: 2098
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by Ken.F » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:28 am

goofnroxx wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 6:32 am
I would think the majority of people only have one device anyway, just making the device more expensive for unused features.
That's how it all starts. You buy one tuner device because you're curious and just want to experiment and the next thing you know you're hooked. You wake up one morning and you have 5 devices with 12 tuners feeding 3 different DVRs, and that's not even counting the 6 tuners from two "Brand X" PCIe tuners you might have. I had to get a RTL-SDR to play with so I wouldn't buy even more TV tuners. SD should put a warning on the box.

Ken.F
Posts: 2098
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by Ken.F » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:40 am

rrussis82 wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:12 am
Yes a switch is cheap, but "cheap" 4 port switches are not very good.
I had a couple cheap 8-port Monoprice switches. They worked great. They don't sell the same model any longer but this one has good reviews:
https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_id= ... p_id=15762

Online
rrussis82
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by rrussis82 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:50 am

Ok, My point wasn't that I needed to buy a switch, it was theoretical for prove my point. But now that we have that "answered". what about the other question, will we be able to access the recording folder over the network on the Servio to point a Plex library to for viewing in Plex? What about to alow Plex to record to?

Online
rrussis82
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by rrussis82 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:52 am

signcarver wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:19 am
Actually the number one issue I see is when people plug devices into the router so that is not "recommended" but shown for "convenience"

Usually such "daisy-chaining" would be a hop thus take things out of your network... a switch would be much more efficient and cost effective and "no" wired device should be plugged into a router other than a switch as a router should "only" function as the gateway.
The Modem acts as a gateway between your LAN and your Providers WAN. The router routes the packages to the appropriate Mac Address.

NYPlayer
Posts: 3538
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am
Device ID: 104112F4,104162C4,10438DAD,10438DF5,10701381,13147C7B,131A192A
Location: Portland OR, 97217

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by NYPlayer » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:01 am

So the Servio is just storage and also serves up recordings to be viewed so in order to get 12 TB of storage you would need 6 servios…. which I currently have on my NAS in raid 5.

I see it working to easily add storage … but might need a switch just for servios….. sounds interesting.

Online
rrussis82
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Western MA

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by rrussis82 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:15 am

rrussis82 wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:52 am
signcarver wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:19 am
Actually the number one issue I see is when people plug devices into the router so that is not "recommended" but shown for "convenience"

Usually such "daisy-chaining" would be a hop thus take things out of your network... a switch would be much more efficient and cost effective and "no" wired device should be plugged into a router other than a switch as a router should "only" function as the gateway.
The Modem acts as a gateway between your LAN and your Providers WAN. The router routes the packages to the appropriate Mac Address.
In a perfect world, yes, you have your modem gateway between your LAN and the WAN, then a router to act as your Main Distribution Panel (MDF). Then a direct connect to only switches (Intermediate Distribution Panels or IDFs). Then your devices in that area the IDFs serve connect to the switch. That's a perfect network for large buildings... but lets face it, it doesn't work that way in a small home.

Daisy chaining Doesn't necessarily take anything out of the network. In my office, my IP phone connects to the Switch at the IDF, then out to my computer at my desk. My Computer is still on the same network the port on the switch is programmed to.

At home my Sonos Connect has a second Ethernet port. I can plug another device into it and still be on the same network... It has switching software built in.

nateb
Silicondust
Posts: 858
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:22 pm
Device ID: 1051C73D, 10759F29

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by nateb » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:27 am

Ken.F wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:28 am
SD should put a warning on the box.
:lol: We're basically the Pringles of the cord cutting world. You can't stop at just one.

To answer the larger question (and for a quick peek behind the curtain), part of the reason it was comparatively easy to take both of these products to market was because we could adapt our existing hardware/software relatively painlessly. I agree a daisychain would be really cool, but it probably would have added 6 months to development, because our existing hardware/software stack isn't built for it.

The other issue is that each ethernet connection has a hard 100Mbps limit. If you started daisychaining devices behind that limiter, you'd start losing functionality really quickly. Now, we could up the connection to a 1Gbps one, but again, you're adding 6 months to development.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 8146
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F

Re: Servio and Scribe

Post by signcarver » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:46 am

rrussis82 wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:52 am
The router routes the packages to the appropriate Mac Address.
Actually that is a definition of a switch... a router is layer 3 and routes between networks.

Post Reply