roku media player works - why no app?

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
Scooter Scott
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 6:30 am

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by Scooter Scott » Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:38 am

I have a Streaming Stick +, it can see all of the channels from the HDHomeRun but it cannot play the OTA channels. Same as above I get a codec error.

rsimandl
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 6:40 pm

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by rsimandl » Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:29 am

Yes, Roku Ultra from last year (released Sept or Oct 2017) plays MPEG-2 streams from HDHomeRun natively.

Roku Streaming Stick (*not* the Streaming Stick Plus that does 4K) also from 2017, will not.

foxbat121
Posts: 1626
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by foxbat121 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:14 pm

Just got the recently released Roku Premiere (2018 model). No MPEG2 support.

sspell
Posts: 411
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 1:58 pm

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by sspell » Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:10 pm

Confirm my older Roku ultra 2017 I think, plays mpeg2 streams natively. Maybe a Roku app from SD for Ultra and other Roku's that work would open a lot more people to use the DVR and UI. Hope they put this in the works.

tmm1
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:03 pm
Contact:

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by tmm1 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:15 pm

According to a contact at Roku, all non-legacy devices will support mpeg2 decoding as part of the Roku OS 9.0 release.

rpcameron
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:55 am

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by rpcameron » Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:18 pm

tmm1 wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:15 pm
According to a contact at Roku, all non-legacy devices will support mpeg2 decoding as part of the Roku OS 9.0 release.
Does this mean that there might be renewed interest in developing Channels for Roku?

daurora
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 8:38 pm
Device ID: EXTEND 10504C45, CONNECT 1040082F & CONNECT Quatro 10712728
Location: Coming Soon!

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by daurora » Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:13 pm

Just as a side note, after updating my Roku 4 model to OS 9 I can report that this device now works with the MPEG2 signal from the Quatro and Connect. It was a long wait, and I had almost given up on using my Roku 4 for streaming live tv from these HDHomeRun tuners.

Scooter Scott
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 6:30 am

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by Scooter Scott » Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:55 pm

I just updated my streaming stick + and it now displays my OTA signal through the Roku Media Player. Its slow to load, but it loads and looks great.

Ken.F
Posts: 2086
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by Ken.F » Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:03 pm

daurora wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:13 pm
Just as a side note, after updating my Roku 4 model to OS 9 I can report that this device now works with the MPEG2 signal from the Quatro and Connect.
My old Roku2 XS (3100X) is on the list to get OS 9. I wonder if MPEG-2 playback will work on that one. It would be nice but I'm not holding my breath.

tmm1
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:03 pm
Contact:

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by tmm1 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:15 pm

Dug out my Roku Express (3700X) and updated to 9.0

Roku Media Player can play both OTA mpeg2 and PTV h264 feeds directly off my QUATRO. Takes about 15 seconds to start playback, but then it's fine. Looks to be deinterlaced, and no framedrops. Quality looks pretty great for a cheap old roku device.

However, neither mpeg2 locals nor h264 cable channels play off of my PRIME. If I remux them via ffmpeg, then they DO play. I think some of the SCTE cable specific packets in the mpegts stream are tripping up their player.

Scooter Scott
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 6:30 am

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by Scooter Scott » Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:19 pm

MyRoku 3 does not have an update available so I cannot test it on that.

I second what the above ask was Aman...Does this open your interest in the Roku platform to allow for direct stream like your AppleTV app without the DVR?

tmm1
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:03 pm
Contact:

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by tmm1 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:27 pm

Too early to tell what this means for Channels. We're already strapped for resources trying to support Apple/Amazon/Google eco-systems.

Even if Roku can play mpeg2, there are plenty of limitations that make it hard to implement the Channels experience we expect. 15s tune times are almost a non-starter. No PRIME support is far from ideal.

And to be honest, writing Roku apps is just not fun at all. Their dev environment is decades behind what the other platforms offer, and is severely locked down. We can't re-use any of our custom code or pull in libraries like libhdhomerun, so it would be tricky even just to try and discover the tuners on your network.

We're excited about the progress here (finally) and keeping a close eye, but I wouldn't expect Channels app on Roku any time soon.

Scooter Scott
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 6:30 am

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by Scooter Scott » Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:30 pm

tmm1 wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:27 pm
Too early to tell what this means for Channels. We're already strapped for resources trying to support Apple/Amazon/Google eco-systems.

Even if Roku can play mpeg2, there are plenty of limitations that make it hard to implement the Channels experience we expect. 15s tune times are almost a non-starter. No PRIME support is far from ideal.

And to be honest, writing Roku apps is just not fun at all. Their dev environment is decades behind what the other platforms offer, and is severely locked down. We can't re-use any of our custom code or pull in libraries like libhdhomerun, so it would be tricky even just to try and discover the tuners on your network.

We're excited about the progress here (finally) and keeping a close eye, but I wouldn't expect Channels app on Roku any time soon.
I knew you weren't fond of the environment but thought I would ask since this is actually a good step in the right direction.

ACraigo
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 3:32 pm
Device ID: 1062E8EE
Location: Deep Canyon in WV (by God)

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by ACraigo » Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:15 pm

... as previously mentioned:

A few new Roku models are now working with MPEG-2/.ts/HEVC, but there are still *Millions* of legacy Roku Devices now in use and will be for some time that do not and will not.

There's the problem.

foxbat121
Posts: 1626
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:48 pm
Device ID: 131087C9, 13233B7C

Re: roku media player works - why no app?

Post by foxbat121 » Tue Nov 20, 2018 6:22 am

Even with the new Roku which I have (2018 version of Roku Premier), after the update, it can play only MPEG2 streams from local stations like NBC, CBS, ABC and Fox. It somehow failed on all cable channels I tried. Those cable channels are also MPEG2 and non-DRM (I'm on Verizon FIOS). So, I'd say forget Roku.

Post Reply