Refresh recordings?

Want to write your own code to work with a HDHomeRun or work with the HDHomeRun DVR? We are happy to help with concepts, APIs, best practices.
Ken.F
Posts: 2029
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Refresh recordings?

Postby Ken.F » Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:04 am

Is there any way to tell the record engine to re-scan for recorded files without stopping and starting the record engine? If I move a file from one directory to another the record engine notices immediately the file is no longer in the original directory, but it does not see it in the new directory until I stop and start the record engine. I thought maybe poking the record engine would do it but that didn't help.

NYPlayer
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am
Device ID: 104112F4,104162C4,10438DAD,10438DF5,10701381,13147C7B,131A192A
Location: Portland OR, 97217

Re: Refresh recordings?

Postby NYPlayer » Tue Aug 21, 2018 11:29 am

Is there any way to tell the record engine to re-scan for recorded files without stopping and starting the record engine? If I move a file from one directory to another the record engine notices immediately the file is no longer in the original directory, but it does not see it in the new directory until I stop and start the record engine. I thought maybe poking the record engine would do it but that didn't help.
I too am interested in this.

Ken.F
Posts: 2029
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: Refresh recordings?

Postby Ken.F » Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:29 am

I too am interested in this.
I guess we are the only ones.

I had a thought. Since my record engine is running on a Linux NAS maybe I could use "touch" to change a moved file's timestamp. I hoped that would make the record engine think the moved file was a new recording. Nope. :(

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3799
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: Refresh recordings?

Postby gtb » Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:06 am

I guess we are the only ones.
I think I have seen this on Linux, and I think it may be a missing file system change notification event, in other words, the record engine is a victim. I have not had time to do more validation, nor research the linux kernel or file system fixes/bug lists (it is on a (long) list of things I would like to get to eventually).

Ken.F
Posts: 2029
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: Refresh recordings?

Postby Ken.F » Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:06 am

I think I have seen this on Linux, and I think it may be a missing file system change notification event, in other words, the record engine is a victim.
So this is not a problem on Windows? If so that would explain why nobody else is complaining about it.

gtb
Expert
Posts: 3799
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA

Re: Refresh recordings?

Postby gtb » Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:25 am

So this is not a problem on Windows? If so that would explain why nobody else is complaining about it.
Different OS, so likely not. It is also likely kernel version dependant, so not even all kernels are impacted. On the list is to check older kernels

Ken.F
Posts: 2029
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: Refresh recordings?

Postby Ken.F » Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:43 am

On the list is to check older kernels.
I'm using a single drive WD My Cloud with kernel 3.2.26. You can scratch that one off your list.

Ken.F
Posts: 2029
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: Refresh recordings?

Postby Ken.F » Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:30 am

Tried running the record engine on my Mint PC and it doesn't find moved files either. Kernel 4.15.0-30-generic.

Ken.F
Posts: 2029
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: Refresh recordings?

Postby Ken.F » Fri Aug 24, 2018 1:17 pm

Tried the record engine on my Armbian/Ubuntu Tinker Board with kernel 4.14.34-rockchip. It doesn't keep track of moved files either.

NYPlayer
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am
Device ID: 104112F4,104162C4,10438DAD,10438DF5,10701381,13147C7B,131A192A
Location: Portland OR, 97217

Re: Refresh recordings?

Postby NYPlayer » Sun Aug 26, 2018 2:10 pm

Tried the record engine on my Armbian/Ubuntu Tinker Board with kernel 4.14.34-rockchip. It doesn't keep track of moved files either.
I had to add a cmd line to my MCEBUDDY using Plink to move the files and bounce my NAS DVR when nothing is recording.


Return to “Development Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest