Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20170127

Help and support for HDHomeRun DVR and HDHomeRun software for Windows 10, Mac, Android, XBox, etc.
nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 13235
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20170127

Postby nickk » Sat Jan 28, 2017 1:49 am

The approvals and certificates for handling protected content came through. The first platform to support protected channels (Live TV) will be the XBox One. Android TV platforms won't be far behind.

Windows 10 Desktop support will officially enter beta with the next major update of Windows 10 (not far off). Before then it will likely be possible to play with if you have and Intel or Nvidia GPU and you purchase the Windows DVD Player app from the app store ($15). The Windows DVD Player app purchase won't be required once the Windows update is out.

AMD is a problem - we discovered when using GPU video decode (needed for protected content) that AMD APU based systems and AMD based graphics cards don't deinterlace 480i or 1080i MPEG2 so the resulting picture looks really bad. We verified that the video is correctly detected and marked as interlaced through to the GPU.

With a 2nd-gen AMD A10 this problem can be solved by changing an obscure setting Catalyst Control Center (CCC). The CCC utility has an option for deinterlacing which is on by default, but that doesn't enable deinterlacing unless another off-by-default option is enabled (it isn't labeled as being related to deinterlacing).

Going older - with a 1st-gen AMD A4 we confirmed it isn't deinterlacing and the CCC utility doesn't have the option to enable.
Going newer - with a R9-380 we confirmed it isn't deinterlacing and the AMD Radeon Settings utility doesn't have the option to enable.

Not sure what we can do. At least to begin with figure you won't be able to view 480i or 1080i MPEG2 channels on Windows 10 Desktop if they require content protection and you have an AMD GPU. Intel and Nvidia based systems will work fine and XBox One works fine.

My home TV-watching system is an AMD A10 based system... I made it work by installing a Nvidia GTX 1050 graphics card (really impressed with video decode and deinterlacing on that GPU BTW).

Plan continues to be full DVR support of protected channels. The Windows 10 release with Live TV support of protected channels is an important milestone.

Nick

Mediaman
Expert
Posts: 7203
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:11 pm
Location: Olympia, WA

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby Mediaman » Sat Jan 28, 2017 3:44 am

Congratulations! That is fantastic news and I am sure a major relief. Too bad about AMD. I basically gave up on them when AMD bought the original company and that CCC came along and destroyed my all in wonder but it led me to you guys.

Bobstr
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 2:07 pm

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby Bobstr » Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:22 am

Great News Nick! Thanks for the hard work from your team to get this to this point.

Hopefully you guys can work with ADM to get their issue fixed with interlacing, or find a workaround.

NYPlayer
Posts: 1741
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby NYPlayer » Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:50 am

Great News !!!!!

RockandRoller70
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 9:43 am

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby RockandRoller70 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:35 am

Fantastic! Xbox one is my main platform so this is awesome.

Aveamantium
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 9:07 am

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby Aveamantium » Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:36 am

Nick,

Maybe I'm just not following but it sounds like you're primarily talking about APUs and embedded GPUs correct? What about AMD discrete graphics in the R7 and R9 family...?

Thanks!

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 13235
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby nickk » Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:55 am

Maybe I'm just not following but it sounds like you're primarily talking about APUs and embedded GPUs correct? What about AMD discrete graphics in the R7 and R9 family...?
We confirmed the problem confirmed with a R9 380 graphics card. It isn't deinterlacing and the AMD Radeon Settings utility doesn't have the option to enable.

We have not tested the R9 Fury or the R9 Nano.

Nick

Aveamantium
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 9:07 am

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby Aveamantium » Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:58 am

Maybe I'm just not following but it sounds like you're primarily talking about APUs and embedded GPUs correct? What about AMD discrete graphics in the R7 and R9 family...?
We confirmed the problem confirmed with a R9 380 graphics card. It isn't deinterlacing and the AMD Radeon Settings utility doesn't have the option to enable.

We have not tested the R9 Fury or the R9 Nano.

Nick
Wonder if this is a physical limitation or just an option in catalyst...? Potentially, something that can be added to a future release of the catalyst driver/interface?

timstephens24
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 11:44 am

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby timstephens24 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:26 am

Awesome update, can't wait for DRM playback on the Xbox and the rest of the devices.

GGRussell
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:08 pm

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby GGRussell » Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:55 am

We confirmed the problem confirmed with a R9 380 graphics card. It isn't deinterlacing and the AMD Radeon Settings utility doesn't have the option to enable.

We have not tested the R9 Fury or the R9 Nano.

Nick
What about the RX460, 470 and 480? And I understand AMD will be releasing their new Vega GPU later this year.

andy_d
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:36 am

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby andy_d » Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:38 am

Congrats!

Can you define won't be far behind for Android? We were given the impression that DRM channels would be available much sooner than it has been. I understand the difficulties in getting the proper licensing setup etc. In that time, I've decommissioned my Windows 10 HTPC as it seemed like Android would be the way to go, especially considering there was a working app for DRM support already. This fact makes this communication confusing.

If it's just a few weeks away, that's fine but some estimate would be great
Last edited by andy_d on Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:01 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Jsherman
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 1:59 am

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby Jsherman » Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:39 am

"Windows 10 Desktop support will officially enter beta with the next major update of Windows 10 (not far off)."

Just to clarify... is this the Creative update that will launching in late March - April?

So we can expect Android support in April - May?

clarkss12
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:51 am
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby clarkss12 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:53 pm

Fantastic! Xbox one is my main platform so this is awesome.
Is this perhaps the saying that the squeaky wheel gets the grease??? :)

wellthatsnotgood
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:55 pm

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby wellthatsnotgood » Sat Jan 28, 2017 1:11 pm

The approvals and certificates for handling protected content came through. The first platform to support protected channels (Live TV) will be the XBox One. Android TV platforms won't be far behind.
So I guess I'll still be running WMC/Win7 for some time to come...

kevinc25
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 2:10 pm

Re: Quick status update & AMD GPU dilemma - 20160127

Postby kevinc25 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 1:15 pm

So if AMD is a problem, does Silicondust yet know if the Windows 10 app will support DRM MPEG4 with Integrated Intel graphics? When I and others pushed them on the point recently, Intel were very firm that the DRM MPEG4 problem experienced with MCE and Intel is an MCE problem, not an Intel problem, which I hope means that a "modern" DRM/MPEG4 playback platform like Silicondust's DVR should be able to work with integrated Intel graphics...?


Return to “HDHomeRun Software Setup & Troubleshooting (Live & DVR)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JeffRand, NoReDist and 1 guest