(OLD) Unofficial Kodi PVR Client for HDHomeRun DVR subscribers

Kodi Community Development

Moderator: TVJunkie198

Locked
NYPlayer
Posts: 3538
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am
Device ID: 104112F4,104162C4,10438DAD,10438DF5,10701381,13147C7B,131A192A
Location: Portland OR, 97217

Re: Unofficial Kodi PVR Client for HDHomeRun DVR subscribers

Post by NYPlayer » Wed Nov 07, 2018 12:15 pm

FireTV 4K ….

I was able to sideload KODI with the unofficial Addon and it plays all channels just fine.

In KODI Settings/Player I disabled Allow hardware acceleration both MediaCodecs.

jhford
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: No recordings

Post by jhford » Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:14 pm

NYPlayer wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:03 pm
jhford wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:01 pm
Ken.F wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:35 am


Maybe the record engine is not running?
How do I check this?
Go to my.hdhomerun.com and look for "HDHomeRun RECORD" on Chrome.
I'm sorry to bother you. my.hdhomerun.com says "no HDHomerun DVR detected," but the WD My Cloud client shows that it's installed. I have an activation code good until next August, and it has run perfectly since then. Also, I noticed that the WD NAS automatically updated its firmware recently, but that shouldn't have anything to do with the DVR service.

I found my email from silicondust re my purchase of the DVR service and activation code and I reactivated it. I'll check it before contacting you again. I'm probably talking to myself. 🤔

jhford
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: No recordings

Post by jhford » Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:20 pm

jhford wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:14 pm
NYPlayer wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:03 pm
jhford wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:01 pm

How do I check this?
Go to my.hdhomerun.com and look for "HDHomeRun RECORD" on Chrome.
I'm sorry to bother you. my.hdhomerun.com says "no HDHomerun DVR detected," but the WD My Cloud client shows that it's installed. I have an activation code good until next August, and it has run perfectly since then. Also, I noticed that the WD NAS automatically updated its firmware recently, but that shouldn't have anything to do with the DVR service.

I found my email from silicondust re my purchase of the DVR service and activation code and I reactivated it. I'll check it before contacting you again. I'm probably talking to myself. 🤔
I'm back. That was fast. My kodi PVR service shows messages at the top right that recordings were completed or are in progress. The problem is that they don't appear in kodi > TV > Categories > Recordings. Maybe it's simply an app setting.

Ken.F
Posts: 2154
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: No recordings

Post by Ken.F » Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:33 pm

jhford wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:14 pm
Also, I noticed that the WD NAS automatically updated its firmware recently, but that shouldn't have anything to do with the DVR service.
The WD firmware update does cause DVR problems.
See: viewtopic.php?f=119&t=70135

jhford
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: No recordings

Post by jhford » Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:33 pm

Ken.F wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:33 pm
jhford wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:14 pm
Also, I noticed that the WD NAS automatically updated its firmware recently, but that shouldn't have anything to do with the DVR service.
The WD firmware update does cause DVR problems.
See: viewtopic.php?f=119&t=70135
I reset the NAS based on the link you provided. But still no recordings in Kodi. However, Windows Explorer > WDMyCloud folder shows numerous recordings. The latest file date is 11/5/2018. So, that's when it stopped saving recordings to the NAS.

Also, the page that appears after clicking the Kodi "Recordings" box is divided in half; the left half contains the blue bar with two dots, which should show the folders containing the recordings, and the right half is just black, but the bottom flashes "1.00 TB of 1.00 TB available." My NAS is 3 TB.

Finally, my.homerun.com shows "no HDHomerun DVR detected," but I just reinstalled my DVR activation code.

Any other ideas?

Thank you.

NYPlayer
Posts: 3538
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:45 am
Device ID: 104112F4,104162C4,10438DAD,10438DF5,10701381,13147C7B,131A192A
Location: Portland OR, 97217

Re: No recordings

Post by NYPlayer » Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:48 pm

jhford wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:33 pm
Ken.F wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:33 pm
jhford wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:14 pm
Also, I noticed that the WD NAS automatically updated its firmware recently, but that shouldn't have anything to do with the DVR service.
The WD firmware update does cause DVR problems.
See: viewtopic.php?f=119&t=70135
I reset the NAS based on the link you provided. But still no recordings in Kodi. However, Windows Explorer > WDMyCloud folder shows numerous recordings. The latest file date is 11/5/2018. So, that's when it stopped saving recordings to the NAS.

Also, the page that appears after clicking the Kodi "Recordings" box is divided in half; the left half contains the blue bar with two dots, which should show the folders containing the recordings, and the right half is just black, but the bottom flashes "1.00 TB of 1.00 TB available." My NAS is 3 TB.

Finally, my.homerun.com shows "no HDHomerun DVR detected," but I just reinstalled my DVR activation code.

Any other ideas?

Thank you.
If you have a problem with your DVR best to post in that forum and include your device ID's.

jhford
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: No recordings

Post by jhford » Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:39 pm

NYPlayer wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:48 pm
jhford wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:33 pm
Ken.F wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:33 pm

The WD firmware update does cause DVR problems.
See: viewtopic.php?f=119&t=70135
I reset the NAS based on the link you provided. But still no recordings in Kodi. However, Windows Explorer > WDMyCloud folder shows numerous recordings. The latest file date is 11/5/2018. So, that's when it stopped saving recordings to the NAS.

Also, the page that appears after clicking the Kodi "Recordings" box is divided in half; the left half contains the blue bar with two dots, which should show the folders containing the recordings, and the right half is just black, but the bottom flashes "1.00 TB of 1.00 TB available." My NAS is 3 TB.

Finally, my.homerun.com shows "no HDHomerun DVR detected," but I just reinstalled my DVR activation code.

Any other ideas?

Thank you.
If you have a problem with your DVR best to post in that forum and include your device ID's.
What forum is that?

Ken.F
Posts: 2154
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:20 am
Device ID: 1041A706, 1043EB32, 104BAD9E, 13168DC5, 1322A7AC
Location: West Rockhill, PA

Re: No recordings

Post by Ken.F » Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:22 am

jhford wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:39 pm
What forum is that?
HDHomeRun Software Setup & Troubleshooting (Live & DVR)
viewforum.php?f=119

ddejager
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 2:26 pm

Can't play audio only channels

Post by ddejager » Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:58 pm

I've observed that audio only (music) channels from charter (via a PRIME Tuner) can be played successfully using the HDHOMERUN app on a firestick, but with Kodi using this DVR, the audio starts for a second or two, then stops, then the spinning circle appears, then this repeats over and over again. Any ideas?

ddejager
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 2:26 pm

How to keep FireStick from closing Kodi

Post by ddejager » Wed Nov 14, 2018 5:04 pm

Starting with an August update for FireStick, it appears that Fire OS closes apps that are idle, even if the sleep timer and screen off timers are set to very large values. This appears to happen after about 2 hours. The side effect of this is that when Kodi is then restarted it scans for update guide data. On systems with hundreds of channels this takes a very long time (30+ minutes). I have discovered that a way to prevent Fire OS from closing Kodi down is to install one of the standard screen savers for Kodi. It appears that any screen saver other than the default (dim) or black will work. Evidently Fire OS thinks Kodi is doing something and will no longer close Kodi. Perhaps this information should be included in the install or setup information for the DVR on Firestick.

johnny_swindle
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 11:38 am

Which version of addon do I download?

Post by johnny_swindle » Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:40 pm

I have confused myself on the version of the addon that I need to download for the following devices:

OSMC Vero 4K+ (running Krypton)

rPi 3+ with LibreELEC (Krypton) 8.2.5 MR


Could someone be so kind as to point out the correct addons? By accident I loaded the wrong addon for my Vero box....will have to re-install OS as it simply won't function correctly now. Dumb move on my part.....

Johnny

usafle
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:51 pm

Re: Which version of addon do I download?

Post by usafle » Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:52 am

johnny_swindle wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:40 pm
OSMC Vero 4K+ (running Krypton)

rPi 3+ with LibreELEC (Krypton) 8.2.5 MR
OSMC Box: zuki.pvr.hdhomerundvr-linux-armhf-krypton

LibreELEC: zuki.pvr.hdhomerundvr-linux-armhf-krypton

So basically the same zip files (sorry I copied and pasted what I had installed on my OSMC & LibreELEC boxes before I noticed they were the same file)

johnny_swindle
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 11:38 am

Re: Which version of addon do I download?

Post by johnny_swindle » Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:59 am

Thank you so much.....now on the holiday break I will re-install OSMC and get to enjoy this fantastic addon......

JS
usafle wrote:
Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:52 am
johnny_swindle wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:40 pm
OSMC Vero 4K+ (running Krypton)

rPi 3+ with LibreELEC (Krypton) 8.2.5 MR
OSMC Box: zuki.pvr.hdhomerundvr-linux-armhf-krypton

LibreELEC: zuki.pvr.hdhomerundvr-linux-armhf-krypton

So basically the same zip files (sorry I copied and pasted what I had installed on my OSMC & LibreELEC boxes before I noticed they were the same file)

djp952
Posts: 961
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:46 pm
Device ID: 131EB7F7;131ED0E0
Location: Elkridge, MD

Re: Unofficial Kodi PVR Client for HDHomeRun DVR subscribers

Post by djp952 » Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:42 pm

Hey guys! It's been a while since a new build for Leia, and it was requested so …

https://github.com/djp952/pvr.hdhomerun ... eia-1.3.5a

This is just a rebuild against the latest nightly that was available for all platforms. Implements PVR API 5.10.3 (which was a pull request from yours truly, you'd think I would have been on the ball there - ha)

I also see that for Android we may not need to go the APK route anymore! This would be fantastic. I'm short of functional Android devices at the moment, but will see if we can now just use the .ZIP files or if I need to set up a Kodi Repository or what the deal is there. The APKs in this Leia build are the same as before, the PVR is pre-installed.

Enjoy!

djp952
Posts: 961
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:46 pm
Device ID: 131EB7F7;131ED0E0
Location: Elkridge, MD

Re: Unofficial Kodi PVR Client for HDHomeRun DVR subscribers

Post by djp952 » Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:52 pm

COOL, you *can* install binary addons from a .zip file now under Android (with the latest Leia). This is fantastic - no more custom .APKs! This makes a great deal of things easier for us, and no custom repository required either. Go Team Kodi!

I have to go see how they did this now, I'll be back - LOL.

Locked