Error while searching for devices

Kodi Community Development

Moderator: TVJunkie198

Post Reply
ZacMan
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:40 pm
Device ID: 10115FF2, 1033A485, 13106388, 13111AC9, 1060B7DD
Location: New Jersey

Error while searching for devices

Post by ZacMan » Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:03 am

I receive this error in Kodi and TVJunkieMod on all of my devices attempting to use the HD HomeRun plugin. (Windows PC, Shield TV, Mi Box, Samsung Galaxy 4 tablet.

Error while searching for devices:
'GuideName'
Click OK to exit.

I don't use Kodi often but it used to work months ago so not really sure at what point it broke.

I am running the DVR service on a Windows 7 machine. Currently running Kodi 16.1 not the beta.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

TVJunkie198
Posts: 176
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 7:57 pm

Re: Error while searching for devices

Post by TVJunkie198 » Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:50 pm

You mentioned receiving the error 'in Kodi and TVJunkieMod'. Do you mean just TVJunkieMOD addon (in Kodi)? Or both the official addon and TVJunkieMOD (in Kodi?)

I haven't modified this portion of the (2015.11.9) official addon. That error occurs when getting/updating the lineup/guide data. That function has built in error handling to specify error types (no compatible devices, no tuners, no guide data, and 'error while searching for devices' (which is the most vague)). If the latest official addon isn't error-ing, I'll take a look to see what's been changed in that section. Otherwise, you'll need to ask SD.

the least you can try is the ol' unplug/plug it back in. and maybe reboot your router (maybe IP conflicts are going on (?))

ZacMan
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:40 pm
Device ID: 10115FF2, 1033A485, 13106388, 13111AC9, 1060B7DD
Location: New Jersey

Re: Error while searching for devices

Post by ZacMan » Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:31 am

It's been happening with the previous and latest official add on for a couple of months. I posted in the main DVR forum and received no useful help from SD. I tried a full reset of all the hardware with no luck.

Thanks for responding with some advice. :D

Post Reply