No Audio on ATSC 3.0 signal

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Post Reply
markcave
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 7:17 am

No Audio on ATSC 3.0 signal

Post by markcave »

Device: HDHomeRun Connect 4K
Device ID: 10814BD2
Location: Tampa Bay area Florida
ATSC 3.0 stations SIPS: 108.1, 110.1, 113.1, 128.1 and 132.1
Host Tower: WMOR real channel 18

I can receive all the ATSC 3.0 channels in the area with a signal strength around 80% both signal and symbol quality is 100% (from HDHomeRun Config GUI). I cannot detect any audio, I have tried the Windows app and a TCL Roku TV running the Roku HDHomeRun app.

Looking for advice on how to set up the audio.

Thanks

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9538
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 30

Re: No Audio on ATSC 3.0 signal

Post by signcarver »

The windows 10 app should work but may need a codec from microsoft... roku won't as their player does not properly support ac-4 (more specifically when in a ts).

Rontbeamer
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2021 7:44 pm
x 1

Re: No Audio on ATSC 3.0 signal

Post by Rontbeamer »

Apple TV and Nvidia Shield both support AC4 audio. Personally for this project I would go with Nvidia Shield. The Apple TV 4 picture is washed out for some reason with this device.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16595
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 131

Re: No Audio on ATSC 3.0 signal

Post by nickk »

Rontbeamer wrote: Tue Feb 23, 2021 3:56 pm Apple TV and Nvidia Shield both support AC4 audio. Personally for this project I would go with Nvidia Shield. The Apple TV 4 picture is washed out for some reason with this device.
Apple TV washed out...

1) Make sure you are using a recent release of the app. We did a thorough verification of color handling and released an important update in December 2020.

2) Try turning HDR off on the Apple TV and see if the colors change - if they do your TV isn't representing colors correctly in HDR mode. One of my TVs defaults to looking washed out because it defaults to a "power save" color profile in HDR mode. Changing the HDR color profile to "standard" on the TV fixed the problem.

Nick

Post Reply