ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

ATSC 3.0 Forum
Post Reply
wriede
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 2:17 pm
Device ID: 1080A4A8
Location: Phoenix

ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

Post by wriede »

With Android HDHomeRun app 20210104 on my Shield Pro sound comes out of the correct set of speakers! I'm thrilled. Now if the broadcasters get their act together and PLEX incorporates the ffmpeg AC4 patches I'll be golden...

By the way, PLEX allows me to swap e.g. 15.1 with 115.1 (but not have both enabled at the same time) but of course no sound yet when I do.

pre5ton
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2021 3:25 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by pre5ton »

Just received my tuner today, but my channel list is only showing a few channels as HEVC (15.1, 33.1, 35.1, and 61.1) and I'm unable to play any of them across my devices (windows 10, android, iOS). I've updated to the latest available firmware (20210105). Is there something else I need to do to get up and running or are all the channels simply having issues?

bobchase
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:25 pm
Device ID: 10810736
x 8

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by bobchase »

When you scanned, you should have seen 108.1, 133.1, 135.1, 135.11 on RF ch35 today. 133.1 isn't presently watchable with SD HR but the rest of them on 35 are.
On RF ch27, there should be 115.1, 161.1, 110.1, 145.1. Of those 115.1 and 116.1 should be watchable the other two are not.

CBme
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 2:15 pm
x 10

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix

Post by CBme »

pre5ton wrote: Fri Jan 15, 2021 3:30 pm Just received my tuner today, but my channel list is only showing a few channels as HEVC (15.1, 33.1, 35.1, and 61.1) and I'm unable to play any of them across my devices (windows 10, android, iOS). I've updated to the latest available firmware (20210105). Is there something else I need to do to get up and running or are all the channels simply having issues?
That isn't correct as you shouldn't see any HEVC channels as being mapped to anything under 100 if you are on the latest firmware. As Bob notes it should be 115.1, 133.1 etc. If you haven't already, I would power cycle your tuner, validate that it still shows the jan 5th firmware and then redo the scan from the web interface.

If you are using the Setup app to initiate the scan, you should use the newest version as well: https://download.silicondust.com/hdhome ... s_beta.exe

And of course each of the devices will need the latest HDHomerun player version so go to the device's Store and ensure all app updates are applied.

wriede
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 2:17 pm
Device ID: 1080A4A8
Location: Phoenix

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

Post by wriede »

Can't say what changed, but today is the first time I get picture and sound on all 4 channels that ride on RF 27 : 110.1, 115.1, 145.1 and 161.1.

That was before I upgraded the Connect 4K to firmware 20210118. I saw no difference after the upgrade.

wriede
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2020 2:17 pm
Device ID: 1080A4A8
Location: Phoenix

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

Post by wriede »

Android app version 20210113 showed up on my Shield Pro today - everything works well as it did before. The audio problem fixed probably was in different markets.

Bluehawk
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

Post by Bluehawk »

Things seem to be good, I'm getting 105.1, 110.1, 112.1, 115.1, 135.1, 135.11, 145.1, 161.1 Using HdHomeRun app on windows 10.

Bluehawk
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:37 pm
Device ID: 1031AB0B 103436F7 1054A790 1054B12E 1072B2F3 1317A118 1323884C 1080C753

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

Post by Bluehawk »

Things seem even better, I'm getting 105.1, 108.1, 108.4, 110.1, 112.1, 115.1, 135.1, 135.11, 145.1, 161.1 Using HdHomeRun app on windows 10.

HappyDude
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2021 12:23 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

Post by HappyDude »

Hello, newbie here who just got my tuner. When I do a channel scan I find 100 channels, but disappointingly nothing from channel 27.

I'm a long time OTA viewer with an attic antenna (no stucco).

When ch27 was atsc1 I got great reception, never had issues with it.

I get good reception on ch35 90/54/100 in tuner stats

On channel 27 the signal strength is 100 and the signal quality bounces between 20 and 40, I've never been able to get a lock, signal quality is always none.

Tweaking things I can get the signal strength down, but it has not helped.

I've tried, antenna direct into tuner, tuner downstream from my distribution amp, added an extra splitter, adjusted the gain on the amp, having the amp unpowered (to greatly reduce signal). No luck.

I live close enough to Shaw Butte to see the towers up there, its my understanding that 27 has second transmitter at that location. I'm wondering if that is a factor, I'm out of ideas on things to try.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9713
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 21

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

Post by signcarver »

That's the way 27 has been for me off and on for a couple of months... I always blame my neighbors as it is only when they are here in phoenix that the problem seems to occur.

For a time I could reduce the strength of everything to not get anything but 27 and it would work but that hasn't been the case lately. Dev unit was often stating strength was -19dBm (most stations are closer to -55dBm without preamp). Now it reports -39 without preamp but still virtually no signal quality. Without the preamp I can't get 35 to get plp lock. For the time being I removed the preamp and am using distribution amp and feeding my 4 bay antenna into the quatros, the 4k, and my extend.

Does anyone know if they are using their Shaw Butte tower as I believe am only about 3 miles from that which might explain such if using both.

Edit: just tried a single bowtie and strength is at -56dBm (88%) and quality is at 20.6dB(56%) both far more than I ever needed for channel 35 but still no plp lock (or symbol quality).

bobchase
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:25 pm
Device ID: 10810736
x 8

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

Post by bobchase »

Yes Shaw Butte is on the air. Has been for over a month. We'll be doing testing next month on it, documenting the signal strength, measuring the null areas, adjusting the delay, etc.

You might try 35 again and let me know. I was playing with the mod/cod earlier trying to see why one brand of TV has a problems sometimes but the others don't.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9713
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 21

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

Post by signcarver »

Seeing all channels today (as far as being detected... from 27, 15 and 61 aren't playing in VLC but there is a stream, 10 and 45 are fine which is the opposite than it used to be for me but at that time SD had issue with those so nothing would even attempt to stream), will wait a while to try in app)... 35 was a little weaker (weather?) so had to make some adjustments to pull it in.

bobchase
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:25 pm
Device ID: 10810736
x 8

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

Post by bobchase »

Strange, 35 should be marginally better today. I had narrowed up the mod/cod by changing the preamble size and the FEC, so it should the required SNR is about 13 dB as opposed to 15.5 dB last week. It will change again tonight or tomorrow as I'm trying to see if I can get one brand of TV to macro-block again. It just might have been a bad scheduler but it would seem that *all" the TV's, IRD's, Dongle players and set top boxes should have had the same problem, if that was true. My HDHR says reception is sameo - sameo.

Channel 27 is problematic for some TV's as well as HDHR. It has to do with how they fill out the tables within the two PLP's.

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16911
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 89

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

Post by nickk »

bobchase wrote: Mon Jan 25, 2021 4:48 pm Channel 27 is problematic for some TV's as well as HDHR. It has to do with how they fill out the tables within the two PLP's.
Channel 27 isn't problematic for the HDHomeRun - the PLP configuration is unusual but supported.

signcarver
Expert
Posts: 9713
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:04 am
Device ID: 10A05954 10802091 131B34B7 13231F92 1070A18E 1073ED6F 15300C36
x 21

Re: ATSC 3.0: Phoenix - Jan 2021

Post by signcarver »

HDHomeRun App (windows/android) worked well on those channels (vlc, unlike when there was issue with 10 and 45, actually was getting a stream but would never display anything but a black box for 15 and 61- I waited 90 seconds as occasionally it may take a little more than 30 seconds sometimes and today the issue was only with VLC on those channels on plp1... I also tried a few times).

Waited to make sure DVR got the channels since they weren't showing up for me the past 2 weeks. I had 10-12 days of good results on 27 just before that, and since the 16th of November it seems like it had always been down primarily on weekends but not for those south of Thunderbird so always figured it was just me.

By the way, I loved the test channels on 35 last week as I actually had subtitles available on some other platforms.

Post Reply