ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

ATSC 3.0 Forum
rbcress01
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 10:08 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by rbcress01 »

I have had my HomeRun since the distribution in October of 2020 and I have not been able to get sound from any of the ATSC 3.0 any of the devices I have. I have Windows 10 PC, Mac computer, Apple TV 5th Gen Iphone with latest software.

kyl416
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 12:09 pm
Device ID: 1080DB11
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
x 35
Contact:

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by kyl416 »

Can you be more specific about your configuration, like specific model numbers and years for the Apple hardware, and the manufacturer and model of your Windows 10 machine, along with its graphic card, and how it's connected to your monitor and sound/speakers?

That 5th Gen Apple TV might not have made the cutoff for Dolby/AC4 licensing. I think that came out in 2017, and Apple only licensed it for their 2018 and newer models.

krv
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 12:13 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by krv »

For me, the trick to getting sound to work in Windows 10 was to use the HDHomerun app from the Microsoft store. Ive not had much luck with the one downloaded from SiliconDust.

rbcress01
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 10:08 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by rbcress01 »

My Iphone is an Iphone 10XR Max with 256GB RAM running IOS 14.5. My windows 10 device is an Asus Model E203M. The Two Macintoshs are the 2018 Macintosh Mini with a 3.2Ghz 6 core Intel i7 16GB ram. My TV is a 65" TCL 65S433, My iPad is a 6th Gen iPad, My Firestick 4K Cube is 1st Gen and I have a Firestick 4k 2nd Gen.

All of my systems are running the latest versions of the operating system and are patched up to date.

On the ASUS laptop, I downloaded the latest version off the APP from the Microsoft store and I do get audio on some of the ATSC 3.0 channels. I know that unit has a Celeron processor, so I suspect that it does not have the processing power to handle the steam (Thanks for the suggestion).

rljnc
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 10:03 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by rljnc »

Can anyone pickup 105.10, I live in the southern Durham area, I can pickup 105.11 fine but cannot get 105.10, is there something different?

kyl416
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 12:09 pm
Device ID: 1080DB11
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
x 35
Contact:

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by kyl416 »

WRAL's ATSC 3.0 channels are on WARZ-CD's RF 23 signal. Durham's on the fringes of that signal, so you might not be able to decode all of the PLPs. If you're on Windows, check what the hdhomerun_config_gui application says when you tune it to RF 23 and toggle the various PLP options. You can find it in the Program Files\Silicondust\HDHomeRun folder after you install the latest software for windows.

If you no longer see the .10s listed on RF 23 in the hdhomerun_config_gui, they likely dropped them to free up bandwidth for WUNC.

krv
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 12:13 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by krv »

rljnc wrote: Sun May 23, 2021 6:56 am Can anyone pickup 105.10, I live in the southern Durham area, I can pickup 105.11 fine but cannot get 105.10, is there something different?
currently rf 23 is broadcasting:
105.13 AUDIO 1 (audio only)
105.11 WRAL** (1080p)
150.11 WRAZ** (720p)
134.11 WARZ** (540p)
104.11 PBS NC1 (1080p)

It appears that they have dropped 105.10, 150.10 and 134.10 which were 360p versions of 105.11, 150.11 and 134.11. I suspect this is still not a permanent station configuration, so more changes may be on the way. 105.13 is an oddball, it is an audio only version of 105.11, that too may not stick around.

Hopefully soon one of our stations will start experimenting with 4k (or at least higher then 1k) transmissions.

On the WRAL website under contact information there is a web form you can use to submit questions to there engineering department. I have found them to be very responsive. If you get any answers from them please share them here.

joblo
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2021 2:45 am
x 7

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by joblo »

What is the current plp configuration, and which channels are in which plp?

krv
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 12:13 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by krv »

joblo wrote: Mon May 24, 2021 10:37 am What is the current plp configuration, and which channels are in which plp?
Currently WRAL has 2 pipes that are both QAM64, plp 1 is 134.11 and 104.11, the others are on plp 0.

Post Reply