ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

ATSC 3.0 Forum
csdesigns
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 10

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by csdesigns »

Since about late Friday, I have been unable to tune into channels 105.11, 150.11, and 134.11 (all are multi-PLP and reside on the same frequency). 105.10, 150.10, and 134.10 (single-PLP) have no issue. I did contact the engineering team at the station on Thursday about the incorrect encoding of 150.11, where it was being encoded at 1280x720p29.97. It looks like they made a change to address this, as 150.10 previously was only 29.97p as well, but now I see it is 59.94p.

Just wondering if anyone else is having this issue, before I open another ticket?

nickk
Silicondust
Posts: 16772
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:39 am
x 90

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by nickk »

csdesigns wrote: Mon Jan 25, 2021 9:12 pm Since about late Friday, I have been unable to tune into channels 105.11, 150.11, and 134.11 (all are multi-PLP and reside on the same frequency). 105.10, 150.10, and 134.10 (single-PLP) have no issue. I did contact the engineering team at the station on Thursday about the incorrect encoding of 150.11, where it was being encoded at 1280x720p29.97. It looks like they made a change to address this, as 150.10 previously was only 29.97p as well, but now I see it is 59.94p.

Just wondering if anyone else is having this issue, before I open another ticket?
If you can get me a capture I can likely check what the problem is. Best to do the capture by virtual channel number so it auto-selects the PLPs.

Nick

csdesigns
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 10

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by csdesigns »

nickk wrote: Mon Jan 25, 2021 9:50 pm If you can get me a capture I can likely check what the problem is. Best to do the capture by virtual channel number so it auto-selects the PLPs.
I doubt I will be able to capture by virtual channel. The tuner is unable to lock onto PLP1 required for these channels. The .10 channels only use one PLP (0), so that is not a problem for those channels. I'll give it another go, but my previous attempts have not been fruitful with the .11 channels.

DigitalBrad
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2020 8:15 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by DigitalBrad »

csdesigns wrote: Tue Jan 26, 2021 6:45 am
nickk wrote: Mon Jan 25, 2021 9:50 pm If you can get me a capture I can likely check what the problem is. Best to do the capture by virtual channel number so it auto-selects the PLPs.
I doubt I will be able to capture by virtual channel. The tuner is unable to lock onto PLP1 required for these channels. The .10 channels only use one PLP (0), so that is not a problem for those channels. I'll give it another go, but my previous attempts have not been fruitful with the .11 channels.
Still unable to view the .11 channels? The power is supposed to be increased by the end of the month (still extremely low power and 1,000 ft up compared to 2,000 ft for WRAL 1.0, so hopefully I'll be able to finally view the .11 channels. I'm hoping SD gets these issues worked out.

csdesigns
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 10

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by csdesigns »

DigitalBrad wrote: Wed Jan 27, 2021 10:22 am Still unable to view the .11 channels?
Nope, still unable to tune into PLP1 for the .11 channels. I also just received an external ATSC 3.0 to HDMI tuner. I am going to test with that soon. I will try adjusting the antenna if necessary as well. But these .11 channels were tunable in my current configuration prior to whatever change was made last Friday.

csdesigns
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 10

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by csdesigns »

csdesigns wrote: Tue Jan 26, 2021 6:45 am
nickk wrote: Mon Jan 25, 2021 9:50 pm If you can get me a capture I can likely check what the problem is. Best to do the capture by virtual channel number so it auto-selects the PLPs.
I doubt I will be able to capture by virtual channel.
As expected, I am unable to capture by virtual channel. PLP1 will just not lock in. I did DM a capture of what I can currently receive, but from the size of the capture, it is clear that PLP1 is not being tuned.

csdesigns
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 10

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by csdesigns »

csdesigns wrote: Fri Jan 29, 2021 7:43 am As expected, I am unable to capture by virtual channel. PLP1 will just not lock in. I did DM a capture of what I can currently receive, but from the size of the capture, it is clear that PLP1 is not being tuned.
I have just sent a PM of the captures from these channels. Looks to have been a signal reception issue, so they may not be necessary. Not sure if the broadcaster just drastically lowered their signal strength or not, but this seems to have coincided after they addressed the frame rate issue on 150.11 (previously was 29.97p, now is correctly 59.94p). I had similar tuning issues with my other non-HDHomerun ATSC 3.0 external HDMI tuner, so this does not appear to be a SiliconDust issue.

After going into the attic and doing a major adjustment of the antenna placement (it is now pointed at roughly 110º, whereas before it was around the 185º mark), I am able to pick up these stations again. It was quite funny to find the channels tunable with the previous alignment if I was touching/holding the antenna; if I had seen that much of a change in signal reception with just a few degrees turn, I wouldn't have thought much of it, but considering where I landed on final placement, that was a large discrepancy and reminded me days long ago.

Of course, now I can no longer tune into WUVC and WUNC, so it looks like I'll have to do some more coaxial routing in my home and add another antenna. Unfortunately, I just told my wife that the new CAT6 runs I made in the walls this past weekend was going to be the last time I had to do something like that for awhile... I think she'll even be surprised how quickly I end up backtracking on that promise. :P

csdesigns
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 10

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by csdesigns »

csdesigns wrote: Fri Jan 29, 2021 1:40 pm
csdesigns wrote: Fri Jan 29, 2021 7:43 am As expected, I am unable to capture by virtual channel. PLP1 will just not lock in. I did DM a capture of what I can currently receive, but from the size of the capture, it is clear that PLP1 is not being tuned.
I have just sent a PM of the captures from these channels. Looks to have been a signal reception issue, so they may not be necessary. Not sure if the broadcaster just drastically lowered their signal strength or not, but this seems to have coincided after they addressed the frame rate issue on 150.11 (previously was 29.97p, now is correctly 59.94p). I had similar tuning issues with my other non-HDHomerun ATSC 3.0 external HDMI tuner, so this does not appear to be a SiliconDust issue.

After going into the attic and doing a major adjustment of the antenna placement (it is now pointed at roughly 110º, whereas before it was around the 185º mark; *this is according to my phone – I am fairly sure the exact º it reports is inaccurate), I am able to pick up these stations again. It was quite funny to find the channels tunable with the previous alignment if I was touching/holding the antenna; if I had seen that much of a change in signal reception with just a few degrees turn, I wouldn't have thought much of it, but considering where I landed on final placement, that was a large discrepancy and reminded me days long ago.

Of course, now I can no longer tune into WUVC and WUNC, so it looks like I'll have to do some more coaxial routing in my home and add another antenna. Unfortunately, I just told my wife that the new CAT6 runs I made in the walls this past weekend was going to be the last time I had to do something like that for awhile... I think she'll even be surprised how quickly I end up backtracking on that promise. :P

Trip
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Alexandria, VA, USA
x 8
Contact:

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by Trip »

Could they have changed the settings on PLP1 such that it now requires a higher threshold to decode?

- Trip

csdesigns
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:21 pm
x 10

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by csdesigns »

Trip wrote: Fri Jan 29, 2021 2:21 pm Could they have changed the settings on PLP1 such that it now requires a higher threshold to decode?

- Trip
That would make some sense. I sent an email to the engineer at the broadcaster on the latest status, but he appears to be OoO until Tuesday of next week, so I'll probably have to wait until then for more answers.

This is what I was seeing with the antenna at the previous alignment:

Tuner idle:
Image

Tuned into a channel only requiring PLP0:
Image

Trying to tune into a channel which requires dual PLP:
Image

rljnc
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 10:03 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by rljnc »

Is anyone getting any of the channels other than 128.1, this is the only one I have been able to get today.

fisherofmen58
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2021 4:26 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by fisherofmen58 »

I just checked, can get 105.1, 117.1 , 122.1, 128.1,134.1,150.1

rljnc
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 10:03 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by rljnc »

Thanks for checking don’t know what’s going on with mine today.

fisherofmen58
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2021 4:26 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by fisherofmen58 »

So I have 117.1 (WNCN) with Signal Strength 100%, Signal Quality 100%, Symbol Quality 100%, Network Rate looks to be around 5Mbps PLP2 qam256

I am new to ATSC 3, on my Sony Bravia (Android TV) it goes fine for a few minutes and then the video freezes (Audio keeps working). I check every day and this issue is there everyday, other channels I have no issue with. NBC, ABC, FOX, CW, MYRDC.

Funny thing is, on my Windows 10 computer, no freezing on 117.1 WNCN, No freezing on my Android phone either. Just seems to be Android TV. (everything is wired ethernet...except my phone)

On a side note, how to I determine resolution and frame rate
Last edited by fisherofmen58 on Mon Feb 08, 2021 12:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.

rljnc
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 10:03 am

Re: ATSC 3.0: Raleigh/Durham - Jan 2021

Post by rljnc »

I seem to have a strange problem, if I tune to a channel on us-bcast 14 such as 111.1 the GUI will show that the tuner is going to us-bcast 24, instead of us-bcast 14,this will show the network target ip for a second and it might flash on and off, then the HD application will blow off of live tv. This will happen on all channels on us-bcast 14 except 128.1 which is the only one I can get to play. Anyone have any ideas on what might be going on?

Well an update this was going on last night, but this morning things are working, I am able to tune to the channels on 14 :?

Post Reply